We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Abbey On Roma

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Abbey On Roma
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 289: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pros: close to Transit Station They moved me to another room after I hardly slept due to a loud extractor fan that couldn't be turned on. Decor is nice Spacious Cons: even the hotel lobby smells damp First room (1503) had a noisy extractor fan that couldn't be turned off and seemed in need of repair anyway because the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CurlyandCherie
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Thank you for an honest review CurlyandCherie, I again apologise for an inconvenient stay you experienced with us. It is good to see we could accommodate you for the remainder of your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Abbey on Roma in the future.

Darwin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had booked my elderly mother into this hotel as it was close to the train station and she had an early morning transit. I was not aware of reception closing at 730pm. I had rung the hotel in the morning of my mother's arrival and advised that she would be arriving at 730pm. Not a word was said about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DarwinMarg
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Thank you for your review DarwinMarg, Customer service is a big part at Abbey on Roma so i do apologise for any inconvenience you experienced. We will use this feedback to improve this in future. Its great to see that the stay was enjoyed and we hope to see you again.

Dubbo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booking was easy peasy...received email updates regularly along with other info on Brisbane. Arrival was a bit stupid...I wanted to pay a I'm leaving at 4.30am on the train....a bit difficult for the bloke to comprehend...finally got there...10th floor....great views...wow apartment....nothing to complain about...would definitely come here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berrill L
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Berrill L, I apologise for the inconvenience of your check-in process, we like to make this stress free as possible. We hope to see you again at Abbey on Roma.

Nowra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had five nights here. location is great. opposite rail. short walk to botanical gardens and restaurants. really nice pool- in that every day. the room was clean spacious and had everything we needed and loved the balcony as weil,. most staff were great,. one was rude but didn't spoil our time here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave w
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Hi dave w, Thank you for taking the time to review Abbey on Roma. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay and our location. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don't bother! I was so horrified upon entering my room, by the time 2 hours had passed, my partner & I fled the dirty building & sought shelter at a welcoming hotel across the road. I was so overwhelmed by the appalling conditions of the room, the unshakable mould stench throughout the hotel, the decades of grime caked from floor...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tlouise d
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologise for any inconvenience you may have come across during your stay with us. We would love for you to be in contact with us so we can get more feedback and redeem this situation as this is not the standard we run by.

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for the night while travelling on business. I chose the Abbey because it was close to the station and well priced. It was very good value for money. The apartment was large with a separate bedroom, well appointed kitchen and bathroom with washing machine. The only downside was the price of Internet but as I was only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Hi Anne E, Thank you for taking the time to review Abbey on Roma. Its great to see you enjoyed your stay and the location we are in. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kilcoy
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Location was across the road from Roma St Train Station, so handy to access. Able to walk comfortably to QPAC, or river walk 6 km round circuit. Staff very friendly - only negative not 24/7 front desk, could be a problem for late check in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank regit1950
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Hi regit1950, Thank you for your fantastic review. You would be happy to know we have a great after hours check-in process. Be in contact with us to find out more. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay with us.

Albany, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

It was an OK location, staff were the unfriendliest and most unhelpful. As we had a van, which wouldn't fit in their underground parking, so we had to sort parking out ourselves. You have to bring all your rubbish to their bins upon checkout otherwise they would charge $60 for leaving them in the room. Ridiculous. Old and ran down....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank xmisskatx
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Thank you for your review xmisskatx, Unfortunately with parking we have a 1.9 meter clearance. There are plenty other secure parking areas in the vicinity, however there is not much we can do in this situation being in the CBD centre. We do have a extra cleaning fee for excess rubbish which we ask the guest to bring down only...

Mendoza, Argentina
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The establishment was normal. Rooms were clean and spacious with a nice balcony. We didn't have connection but on the lobby which isn't too big. There was no parking available since there are limited and apparently they don't reserve it for tho ones who are staying at the hotel, so we had to find our own on the street. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Hi David B, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately as we only have limited parking spaces they do need to be pre-booked, as per booking websites and direct bookings. We are glad to see you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again.,

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Very central but unfortunately a bit noisy. Our room faced the street and was on the 3rd floor. Service great and rooms spacious and has everything you need. Good size rooms but extra bed was very uncomfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yike
AbbeyOnRoma, Front Office Manager at Abbey On Roma, responded to this review

Hi Yike, Thank you for taking the time to review Abbey on Roma. Can i recommenced on your next stay with us to request a higher floor, this seems to minimise the noise as you are further away from street noise. We look forward to seeing you again.

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 km away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
#42 of 166 in Brisbane
890 reviews
0.4 km away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 166 in Brisbane
401 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Jen Brisbane
Hotel Jen Brisbane
#32 of 166 in Brisbane
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#55 of 166 in Brisbane
1,421 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
2.3 km away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Abbey Apartments are located in the hub of the Brisbane CBD directly opposite the Brisbane Transit Centre. Only a short walk to the Brisbane Convention Centre, Suncorp Stadium, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parklands. The Apartments are fully furnished and self contained with an open plan design with a separate bedroom. Enjoy the convenience of apartment style accommodation with a range of recreational facilities such as the swimming pool, spa and sauna. The Abbey Apartments are the ideal location from which to base yourself while on business or pleasure in Brisbane. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey On Roma

Address: 160 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Abbey Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $96 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey On Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Abbey On Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Apartments Brisbane
Abbey Apartments Hotel Brisbane
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbey On Roma staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
15 days ago
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Abbey On Roma staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Apartments - so good with kitchen and washing machines”
 of 5 bubbles regit1950, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“go elsewhere..”
 of 5 bubbles jl_skp, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“some apartments are bigger than others”
 of 5 bubbles LeisaW273, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try and get one of the renovated rooms.”
  • Patch up job in bathroom
  • Bathroom light - turned on when it wanted to
  • Wall in bedroom
  • View from balcony
  • View from back of apartment room
 of 5 bubbles DeniseInMorwell, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Go for the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles wakaranaihito, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay