We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-12-03 2017-12-04
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Banana Bender Backpackers

    118 Petrie Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-12-03 2017-12-04
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (16)
    Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
    5,907 reviews
    #1 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.7 km
     
    Gambaro Hotel Brisbane
    599 reviews
    #19 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.2 km
     
    Watermark Hotel Brisbane
    461 reviews
    #33 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.6 km
     
    Hilton Brisbane
    2,464 reviews
    #22 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    1.4 km
     
    Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
    1,829 reviews
    #24 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.8 km
     
    ibis Brisbane
    1,602 reviews
    #61 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.9 km
     
    Park Regis North Quay Hotel
    1,138 reviews
    #50 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.4 km
     
    Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
    1,121 reviews
    #37 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.7 km
     
    Punthill Brisbane
    638 reviews
    #14 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    1.1 km
     
    Royal Albert Hotel
    633 reviews
    #10 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    1.4 km
     
    Hotel Urban Brisbane
    800 reviews
    #53 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.7 km
     
    Abbey On Roma
    337 reviews
    #127 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.6 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent30%
    • Very good42%
    • Average17%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “banana benders” (20 reviews)
    “tv room” (7 reviews)
    “quiet hostel” (5 reviews)
    Wifi
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Kitchenette
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (112)
    There are newer reviews for Banana Bender Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 89 reviews

    Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

    I was there for just 2 nights. The rooms are OK, not the best I've seen, but definitely not the worst. No idea about the kitchen since I haven't used it. Just the showers are awful. Hardly any water coming out at all. All in...More

    Thank Veringtentje
    Management response:Responded 21 December 2015

    Hey, Thank you for letting us know about the shower heads. We are replacing them today. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

    Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

    Wonderful hostel, my new fave in town. Liked the atmosphere. Nice, clean rooms, better than the average hostel rooms. Cool common area. Alcohol to fair prices. Friendly staff and guests. The shower could need a new head. Never saw more ac outlets on a hostel...More

    Thank Dave D
    Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

    I can't express the rudeness of the owner! The owner went so far as to call the police because we wanted to leave early. Three young girls staying in a private room we don't expect our belongings to be snooped through or 3 miserable bottles...More

    10  Thank CharlieMC33
    Management response:Responded 16 September 2015

    Knowing people have had a bad experience at my hostel always saddens me, however, I don't believe anything could have made you three happy. You were abusive to staff, did't follow the hostel rules and clearly didn't fit the 'hostel vibe'. I hope you enjoy...More

    Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

    We spent two months living in apartment 3 located on Cricket Street (2 minutes away from the hostel main building). The apartments were basic but had all essentials you could ask for. The apartment had an ensuite bathroom, seperate bedroom and kitchen/livingroom. One of the...More

    1  Thank Steph S
    Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

    I stayed in Banana Benders for over 3 Months. The reason is that i felt pretty good comin home after work. Ben is an amazing person and helps where and when he can. It sure depends which kind of person you are but i had...More

    Thank Sven S
    Management response:Responded 16 September 2015

    I am very glad you enjoyed your stay!

    Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
    5,907 reviews
    #1 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.7 km
     
    Gambaro Hotel Brisbane
    599 reviews
    #19 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.2 km
     
    Watermark Hotel Brisbane
    461 reviews
    #33 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.6 km
     
    Hilton Brisbane
    2,464 reviews
    #22 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    1.4 km
     
    Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
    1,829 reviews
    #24 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.8 km
     
    ibis Brisbane
    1,602 reviews
    #61 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.9 km
     
    Park Regis North Quay Hotel
    1,138 reviews
    #50 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.4 km
     
    Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
    1,121 reviews
    #37 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.7 km
     
    Punthill Brisbane
    638 reviews
    #14 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    1.1 km
     
    Royal Albert Hotel
    633 reviews
    #10 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    1.4 km
     
    Hotel Urban Brisbane
    800 reviews
    #53 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.7 km
     
    Abbey On Roma
    337 reviews
    #127 of 169 hotels in Brisbane
    0.6 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$18 - US$54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Bender Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Queensland >
    • Brisbane Region >
    • Brisbane
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (16)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Gambaro Hotel Brisbane
    599 reviews
    .17 km away
     
    Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
    5,907 reviews
    .68 km away
     
    Watermark Hotel Brisbane
    461 reviews
    .58 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Black Hide Steakhouse
    550 reviews
    .19 km away
    Gambaro
    459 reviews
    .18 km away
    Scout Cafe
    84 reviews
    .20 km away
    Brewski Bar
    62 reviews
    .18 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Roma Street Parkland
    2,383 reviews
    .46 km away
    Gallery of Modern Art
    1,864 reviews
    .80 km away
    Suncorp Stadium
    1,375 reviews
    .48 km away
    XXXX Brewery Tour
    341 reviews
    .86 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Potty1975
    12 July 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Jack P | Reviewed this property |
    Overnight parking is fine, sorry for the late reply. You can park down the street there just make sure you're facing the correct way up the one way streets when you do park because we revieved a fine for facing against the... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "I was in room 19, near reception - comfy but road noise might bother some."
    Read review
    "Rooms 10, 11 and 12 have tiled floors instead of carpets - good for summer months to keep rooms cooler."
    Read review
    "The "mens" shower on the right when you enter the hostel is by far the best one in the hostel."
    Read review
    "a 4 bed dorm , because thats where i stayed in!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing