We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,941 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges South Bank Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,914: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2016

I was warned prior there was a reno on but wasn't banking on the level of noise!! Needed the room to work in for 2 days and there wasn't a quiet spot in the hotel. I was on level 4 and it sounded as though there were three jack-hammers going all day long in the next room. When using the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Ian H, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by our renovating team. As part of this project it is necessary to conduct impact works that may cause disruption to our guests. The team at the hotel will endeavour to minimise the impact or...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I only rate this as "average" because it's not "poor". First the good...the Doorman was a good first impression and its location is good. A lot of the interior was fine - but not great. Now for the bad - and there is a list. I agree with other posters that renovations were constant and REALLY disturbing - and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhysw552016
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear rhysw55, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that several issues combined to create frustration and an inability to enjoy the hotel as expected. I would kindly ask that if you are able to contact the hotel, I would...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in March and were put on the 4th floor - the floor where they were doing renovations. The first morning we were very rudely awoken by drilling and hammering. My boyfriend ran downstairs to speak with the manager - any hotel should shut down when doing renovations, but especially a hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TazzaG7
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear TazzaG7, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We are currently undergoing a renovation project for our rooms and suites, due to be completed in May 2016. During this time there will be impact works that can cause an inconvenience to our guests and we...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I was booked into this hotel by my employer, I decided to stay another night and initially I was told that I couldn't have the same room for the 2 nights due to renovations, but shortly before I was due to arrive I was advised that they had made some changes and would have the same room for both nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wifeofanaussie
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear wifeofanaussie, Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and am happy to say that we are currently undergoing renovations to our guest rooms and suites, due to be completed in May 2016. This update will bring the style and the design of our rooms...

Bexhill, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2016

This was the first time at Ryges Southbank. The position is great, the hotel have some very good facilities, clean, comfortable! We didn't eat at Bacchus but the little CBD Bar/Cafe' downstair is great. Also the kids menu is very good. We will definitely be back! However the hotel is undertaking some serious renovation and jack hammering was a nuisance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear ab0n10, Thank you for your feedback from your stay. The Rydges South Bank is located in an enviable location in the Brisbane CBD area, close to many iconic eateries, entertainment providers and boutique shopping outlets mere moments from our front doors. At this time and until May 2016 the hotel will be undergoing a renovation project to update its...

Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is undergoing major room renovations. Supposedly between the hours of 9 to 5. Not true! Workers walking through corridors starting at 6:30am, loudly talking on walkie talkies, banging tools and vacuuming floors while you are trying to sleep. Checkin staff also unwilling at checkin to allocate a room on a NON renovated floor, told my booking floor was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrew H
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H, Thank you for providing us with a review of your stay. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I am glad that I have been able to discuss these issues with you and that we were able to reach a mutually agreeable resolution. I hope that we will be able to rebuild...

Reviewed 6 March 2016

I stayed during the last weekend in the hotel. I stayed in a renovated lovely room in the 3rd floor. The hotel location is perfect: connected to the exhibition center and a very short walk from Brisbane's beautiful river. The renovated rooms are spacious, prestigious and well equipped. However, most importantly, the hotel staff is above all expectations! Due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Didi_Isr
Sarah M, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Didi_Isr, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Rydges South Bank. The hotel is ideally located within the South Bank precinct and is particularly convenient when attending the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Center. We are glad you enjoyed our new refurbished rooms and that our staff exceeded your expectations. Our staff...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here on Saturday. It was very nice and the room was immaculate. The staff were very helpful, the valet was on his own when we arrived though, so there was a short wait before he was able to take our car. At check-in it was relatively quick and painless, we got our room info pretty quickly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrudiHart
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear TrudiHart, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to take advantage of our free Priority Guest Rewards Program. The team at the hotel work incredibly hard to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

Had a nice experience here last week. Very friendly and helpful staff everywhere from concierge, housekeeping to the deputy manager. Great modern and clean decor. Very supportive of families. We had our 7 month old with us. They were always ready to help with anything asked. Good food. The only critic I can do is about the razor provided. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sumanta G
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Sumanta G, Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your time with us comfortable and enjoyable for you and your family. The team at the hotel works incredibly hard to ensure that we provide the best service for our...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Stayed few months ago and got great service from the porters team and check in was by name which was great entry to the hotel. The room was good and bed was comfortable but found hair in the bath towel and on bathroom wall. It took so long to get it action before I could take a shower. Reception Manager...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holmesrobin1981
RuiLOzorio, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Holmesrobin1981, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We all work incredibly hard to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere at the hotel and to see that we have failed to provide the same level of service consistently throughout your stay...

557 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (507)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (150)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
1.0 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
332 reviews
0.5 km away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#107 of 157 in Brisbane
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
646 reviews
1.2 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,342 reviews
0.8 km away
Riverside Hotel South Bank
Riverside Hotel South Bank
#14 of 127 in Brisbane
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bacchus
Bacchus
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $143 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors with a balcony and river view”
lindasN5309GR, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Views of the river are best. Worth the extra for a balcony.”
ausgiraffe, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pre book parking, or they charge more than quoted rate.”
Peabeu, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a spectacular view across the river.”
AK_Berkhamsted, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a quiet room away from the lifts and facing the river”
818bruceg, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5