We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,792 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges South Bank Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,766: English reviews
Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2015

We were disappointed with the facility - it seemed drab and in need of a overhaul. The bed sagged and we are not heavy people! Best points - the sauna, spa and gym, valet parking, the quietness of the room and of course location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4286glutenfree
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear 4286glutenfree, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to announce that later this year the hotel will be undergoing a complete renovation of its guest rooms and suites. This will breathe new life into the hotel and showcase what the Rydges brand has to offer. We hope to see you again soon....

North Sydney
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Attended an international congress June 4-7 and stayed at Rydges. Great location, virtually across a courtyard so access was easy. Didn't get to sample the restaurants but the podium level bar was very good and Brisbane turned on some nice weather for the congress, so the evenings were very pleasant. I don't think I would like to stay on a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lawrence Y
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence Y, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad that you found the location of the hotel convenient for your purposes and that you enjoyed the Soleil Pool Bar during your stay. We are all excited to announce that, later this year, the hotel will be undergoing a full...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Despite the early cool hour of the winter morning, as my driver pulled up to Rydges 'Rob' immediately greeted us with an attitude of 'how can I help you today' in every aspect of his presence. He also found a solution to my problem that he could have easily passed to another. Such a stark contrast to the checkout operator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Craig H, Thank you for the wonderful feedback from your stay. I am glad that Robert was able to assist you with your needs during your stay. I will pass on this feedback to him as he works incredibly hard to be to go above and beyond for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Unfortunately we were given a room on level 2 above and to the left of the the hotel bar - and the music was like a disco in our room. I can't understand why they would do this when the room is booked some months in advance. Especially when they likely know you are attending a conference for the weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Wendy D
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Wendy D, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us and that there were issues with the internet service and noise from the Soleil Pool Bar. During nights where the hotel is at full capacity there will be rooms...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We stayed here on Friday night and enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and clean but we had to keep the curtains closed as the convention centre was right outside the window and there were people there. My biggest concern was that they only had valet parking, which was fine, but it took 30mins to leave our car with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca A, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the delay in valet parking your car. Due to the layout of the car park and the scarcity of parking spaces, the hotel has decided that only valet parking be offered. I will pass on this feedback to the Lobby Manager...

Reviewed 3 June 2015

Good hotel for this price category, view was stunning over the river and Brisbane CBD. The room was very large which was great. Loved the kitchenette. Bathroom very basic. Great location. Friendly staff. Strange smell in the main foyer but didn't detract from overall experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alana F
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Alana F, Thank you for your great feedback from your stay. We are all excited to announce that the hotel will be undergoing a full renovation of its guest rooms and suites later this year. This will breathe new life into the hotel and allow us to showcase what the Rydges brand has to offer. We look forward to...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

For a conference at the Brisbane Convention Centre it is extremely convenient. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean - not luxe but fine. Free wifi is a delight - fastest free wifi I have experienced. Would be good if liquid body soap was supplied rather than hard soap. A body butter was supplied. Meals good at CBD...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear John K, Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We are glad to be able to offer our guests free wifi as standard. We are also happy to announce that the hotel will be undergoing a full renovation of its guest rooms and suites later this year. This will breathe new life into the hotel and will allow...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2015

As per usual with a Rydges hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and were told that not only was there a room available, but that we had been upgraded, always a great start. The hotel is centrally located in the South Bank area of Brisbane, only a couple of minutes walk from either the ferry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinTanya
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear ColinTanya, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that we were able to get you into your room early and surprise you with a complimentary upgrade! We do our utmost to allow our guests to check in early, as we understand that travelling can be quite tiring....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Friendly welcome by bell staff and reception check in easily handled and allocated room on 9th floor facing convention centre. Good size room with Queen bed good business desk and to my liking plenty of power points for lap tops and other items. Wi Fi was fast and complimentary due I think to Frequent Guest program. Room has microwave, stocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shiretraveller2229
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Shiretraveller2229, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel. We all work incredibly hard to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and leave us with positive experiences. I am happy to announce that we will be undergoing room renovations later...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Greeting warm and friendly and rooms extremely clean. The only negative I can honestly is that the rooms need re vamping. Im only commenting as we have stayed there many times in the last 12 months and we have stayed in the corner king room on the top floor, to a king suite and the deluxe queen, all with river...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review

Dear Sharon K, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and would like to thank you for your continuing support and patronage to the hotel. We are all excited to be undergoing renovations to the guest rooms and suites...

492 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (440)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (143)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.7 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#48 of 166 in Brisbane
576 reviews
0.5 km away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#134 of 166 in Brisbane
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.9 km away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#15 of 166 in Brisbane
1,549 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#45 of 166 in Brisbane
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bacchus
Bacchus
Cuisines: European, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Price Range: $157 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Surfers Paradise, Australia
over a year ago
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges South Bank Brisbane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You pay extra for river views.”
 of 5 bubbles annbarnes220, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the rive & city”
 of 5 bubbles ozpuddle, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade if you can and also a river side room as the train can be noisy on the lower levels.”
 of 5 bubbles Megzi18, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors looking towards the river views”
 of 5 bubbles JulieK811, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go for city views on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles OneWorld22, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay