We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Global Backpackers Waterfront

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Global Backpackers Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Global Backpackers Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We stayed here almost a week. It was fine, we got a good sleep most nights. The mattress was broke in our room the springs were popping through but after telling reception a brand new mattress was put on the bed

1Thank Lauren J
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

They get 3* because of the location  (middle of city, close to laguna which is a public pool) and friendly staff. I like one guy that sings in particular. Also I like the system  that you give your key as a deposit to receive a box with plate knife and fork. On the down side the beds aren't comfortable and...

Thank Louise W
Ayr, Australia
Reviewed 25 December 2015

This hotel only describe in Dirty. Limited AC, low water pressure. Staffs are don't care about customers, only if you need to pay the rent!! In the Kitchen, there is no too much cooker to use, and refrigerator is too weak as well, it doesn't keep in cold...This hotel not recommend at all.

Thank deanlin2015
Parijs, Frankrijk
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

This hostel was so dirty! It was a good place but the price is too overrated for what you get. The showers but especially the rooms are so dirty.. A lot of old food and stuff from other people. Nobody cleans it.. Not good! Would not recommend this place

Thank Lucca F
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

I stayed in this hostel for 1 week the first time and then came back for a few weeks after a trip to Cape Tribulation. I first checked in here after staying at the other hostel (same company) Global Central. Again, the hostel has the 4 stay special (staying 4 nights for the price of 3) and I extended my...

Thank sckirkham
Reviewed 6 December 2015

A hellhole. Double room without window and insufficient aircon. Staff is disinterested and seems to be there to bide their time. Drab atmosphere. No Wifi. Avoid the place like the plague. The location directly at the lagoon is excellent, though.

Thank Kai R
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Kai, Thanks for providing feedback on your stay with us, we are always happy to receive notes from our guests. We are disappointed that you did not feel that the staff were welcoming or interested during your stay, we encourage our staff to be as friendly as possible to our customers. I must clarify however, we do have wi-fi...

Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

The hostel is pretty close to the Greyhound stop, which is the only reason I stayed here for 1 night. I would never come back. It made me think of a prison. The room was small and dirty, with nowhere to put your stuff except on the floor or your bed. The sink made me nauseous to look at, so...

Thank MarijevdJ
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Marije, We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Global Waterfront. Our rooms are cleaned each day and deep cleaned on varying days each week. Most of the rooms have shelving in them or clothing rails for storage so that items do not need to be kept on the floor. Each floor has...

hemel, england
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

I've been travelling for over 2 months now and have stayed at lots of hostels. This is by far the worst one so far. When we checked in we were met by an unhelpful, rude woman at reception who told us that she didn't have our booking and that there were no rooms left at the rate we had been...

Thank Shmead13
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for providing feedback on your stay in our hostel, we apologies that it was not an enjoyable stay for you. We work hard to make our guests feel welcome and are sorry that this was not the case upon your arrival in the hostel. Unfortunately in this instance, we were short on staff for our usual...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I booked a private room to get a good sleep before a big day. It took me 3 attempts over 5 hours to check in. The room had slight prison charm but was clean/ok. The bed was too short for me (177) but the real issues started at night when the noise didnt reduce. Thing is, all of their rooms...

Thank Wenx
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

My first time ever writing a review but had to recommend this place. The staff are so friendly the sheets are clean and bathroom facilities are spotless😊 it's right in d middle of some some great bars and restaurants with gr8 atmosphere!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (12)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
333 reviews
0.2 km away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#53 of 85 in Cairns
45 reviews
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.1 km away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.1 km away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Waterfront

Address: 67 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Global Backpackers Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Global Backpackers Waterfront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Global Backpackers Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just tell them if you want anything change”
cryssoue, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if travelling in a pair, private room with the '4nights pay for 3' deal will give you dorm bed prices for a private room.”
, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“choose another hotel.”
deanlin2015, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Be aware that none of the Single Rooms have any Windows.”
AlexP-WoyWoy, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“3rd floor - it is a lot of stairs. Stay on the second if possible :)”
25caityh, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates