We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cairns Waterfront Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$33*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$41*
US$33*
Great Deal
US$36*
US$37*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just copy the email sent to the management. "Hello, I stayed in your hostel from friday to sunday. The check in time was till 11.30pm but when i arrived with my boyfriend the reception was closed. I called the number but no one answered me.. after few minutes a drunk guy, i think an hostel guest, opened me the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After staying in cairns several times, I honestly can't think of a better place to stay than cairns waterfront backpackers. Super clean, friendly Staff and great atmosphere! Located just opposite the lagoon and and really close to all bars and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good hostel with friendly staff and good facilities. All rooms and bathrooms very clean as well. Stayed here for almost 4 months and plan to stay even longer :) Defo would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Cairns.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

I have been traveling for several months now, but I have never experienced such a terrible hostel before. The daily manager/owner got quite tipsy and started to get very rude and offensive. The hostel itself is dirty and have a bad smell to it. In room 5 there was several cockroaches and we had to buy our own bug spray....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathias Y
Leigh D, Front Office Manager at Cairns Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi guys your review is very interesting as we Don't actually have a room 5 at our hostel. We are wondering if you might have got the hostel mixed up with another hostel.?

Tiptree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Firstly I'd like to say that the staff are so so friendly. Very welcoming when we arrived, throughout our stay and were lovely when we checked out too. It is also in a fantastic location, right on the esplanade. However this does mean it's very noisy at night (we expected that anyway). The wifi was very good. I hate to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosiethomas2707
Odense, Denmark
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We were staying at the waterfront hostel, where we were told that ALL the rooms was air conditionated - including ours! When we first get up to the room, there was like 40 degrees inside - so we tried to turn the air conditioner on, but it was already on and there was this little breeze of hot air comming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maggerhei
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at waterfront backpackers for 2 nights and felt very comfortable and welcome! The staff were all very friendly and accommodating! A staff member had asked me why I was up so early and I made a comment saying it was too hot in my room, later on that day, they had brought two fans into the room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat L
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and the location was great, but that was pretty much it. Extremely dirty kitchen and bathrooms. The bedsheets were stained and the rooms were super small. The staff doesn't seem to care about anything. This was by far the worst hostels we stayed at in Australia.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

This is the most chilled hostel we have stayed in, there is no strict rules and the staff are all so chilled and friendly! We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, we literally turned up at the hostel and they were very helpful and accommodating which is why we chose to stay here! Our room had aircon, it's only on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZoeSmith2131
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Go to this venue with caution. We were in a private room and after a couple of days noticed water coming up through the floor between the tiles. After close inspection and a good sniff, we noticed that was in fact sewerage. We told reception who were extremely helpful in moving us to a different hostel, as they were full....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin E
Leigh D, Manager at Cairns Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Benjamin The water was not Sewerage at all it was caused from a crack in a pipe in our neighbors cold room refrigeration water drain. The water had soaked into the concrete causing it to pop up the tile. The issue was fixed quite quickly from a plumber the day after we moved you to a different hotel. It...

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 km away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#50 of 85 in Cairns
45 reviews
0.0 km away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.3 km away
Global Backpackers Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.4 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
107 reviews
0.1 km away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Cairns Waterfront Backpackers

Address: 83 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $20 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Waterfront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairns Waterfront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cairns Waterfront Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cairns Waterfront Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 43 ;)”
B5649QGhannahb, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 43 is great”
marcmU2339FC, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 61 supposedly is the best 4 bed room and 52\53\54 have the best views”
benjeffcairns, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We were in a room at the end opposite the Pool area, and slept soundly with no disturbances.”
DancesWithGoats, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from the stairwell and you could possibly have a good night rest.”
Leeuw605, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$36
PricelineUS$37
HOTEL.INFOUS$41
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates