We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Plaza Cairns

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Plaza Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 434: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Plaza Cairns
 Click to rate
Nelson Bay, Australia
Reviewed today NEW

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a good size and comfortable. The Bathroom was clean but in need of renovation. Restaurant was pleasant with lots of options. We enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikefisheroz
Yeppoon, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Easy arrival and very efficient check-in - i did note that the foyer has been done up and looks fresh again. My room, for 1 person, was a family sized room with 2 double beds - now they are obviously new as it was one of the best beds that i have slept in - very comfortable indeed. Unfortunately the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rydges Plaza is old and a bit tired yet it has very comfortable beds, good water pressure in the shower over bath, excellent service and it's in a great location. Note that the restaurant is not open Monday or Tuesday which also means no room service on these days. You should spell this out more clearly to people when they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. While mixed it was good to read that it was mostly positive. In regards to the restaurant being closed monday and tuesday, dinner service is not available however room service is still available. I am glad you were still able to find a restaurant however to meet your needs....

Surfers Paradise, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located right in the heart of Cairns. Good room and excellent bar/restaurant. Didn't use the pool but it looked pretty nice from a distance. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Stayed for two nights and would do so again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh J
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Hugh Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Joel Day General Manager

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

March 2017 I booked this hotel to stay for 1night with my 2 children as I had stayed here previously on my own a couple of years earlier & the hotel back then was fine. We booked in & asked if they could place 2bags of frozen fish in their deep freeze but was refused due to health regulations. Fair...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank moonman2017
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear moonman2017 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Booked through a reputable travel agent; I paid Aus$149 for a room. Turned out it wasn't the Rydges I've stayed at before _ that was being renovated. This thing ("the Plaza") has few redeeming features, but they include a workable free wifi; and nice (and very apologetic) person at the front desk. The initial room I was allocated stank of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Max A
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Max, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Reviewed 22 March 2017

Room 803 is quite run down. The building as a whole from inside and corridors are run down too. Carpets appear very old. Beds appear fine. In this room, the air conditioner fan makes noise (mentioned to the reception-- did not show much concern but she will send someone from maintenance tomorrow. Thank god the is bothersome on medium and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amit S
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Amit, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The staff were very accommodating and friendly, it was a very enjoyable stay, the only negative was the fire alarm was set off at 2:30am by drunk guests. But the staff did apologise the next morning on check out

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Jay Thanks for the review on your stay and the kind words regarding the staff. I also apologise for the fire alarm as it was a rather annoying disturbance for both guests and staff. We hope to see you again soon. Joel Day General Manager

London, England
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Arrived this evening for a one night stay. Booked this through Booking.com where it was advertised as a four star hotel. It is NOT a four star hotel. At best two stars. It appears to be centrally located but that is about it. Our room is just awful. Mould on the ceiling everywhere, it stinks of damp, the carpet is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarcaFan
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear BarcaFan, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Malua Bay, Australia
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I had only a quick overnight stop here - in at 7pm, out at 4 am - so this review ought to be seen in that light but this hotel did little to make me want to stay longer on a subsequent visit. Reception was bright, breezy, and pleasant and I was alerted to the occasion of a function in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kundiawaking
Joel D, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review

Dear Kundiawaking, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologise it was not as comfortable of a stay as we hope for all our guests. We are a multi function property which does involving conferencing and events however I apologise you found this intrusive, I do hope you give us an opportunity to impress you in...

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#13 of 64 in Cairns
525 reviews
0.4 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
440 reviews
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
0.1 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
333 reviews
0.3 km away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#43 of 64 in Cairns
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $136 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Plaza Cairns staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Plaza Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was looking south and room view was good and entertaining.”
246PeterV, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away till they do a serious refurbishment”
MaxA84, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check the room before you unpack”
  • Black stuff on the ceiling - more prominent around the A/C vent
amits727, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Level 10 had a nice view.”
12stefaniem, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views.”
wildbrumby58, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5