We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Booking.comUS$27*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

966 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 868: English reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

If you want to party... Stay here. If you have a choice, I'd recommend staying over a weekend as Friday and Saturday nights were the best nights in gilligans. We beat some great people here and had some of the best nights out. Everyone's super friendly, even some of the staff stop and have a chat with you. The travel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leah G
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

What a great review for fellow travellers to read, we appreciate the honest and lengthy description about your recent stay with us at Gilligan’s. Our facilities, central location, entertainment areas, massive lagoon style pool and super friendly staff make us the place to stay, play and party in style! Please Like us on our page on Facebook and be sure...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Nothing like a hostel apart from the dorm bedrooms! Rooms as spacious with comfy big beds (still bunks) all with en suites and balconies. Each floor has its own kitchen which are spotless! 2 lifts so no carrying your heavy bags. 24hr reception!! Cheap nightly rate! Nightclub and bar on site with reduced drink and food prices! Swimming pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McGintz10
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

You are an experienced traveller with a lot of trip advisor reviews, so we are so happy to hear that Gilligan’s has met your expectations. I’m sure fellow travellers will appreciate your positive comments about our hostel. Our housekeeping staff go to great lengths to make sure that all areas are sparkling clean while staying with us at Gilligan’s, we...

Danmark
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Hostels can be nasty, especially when you are a poor backpacker, but Gilligans was a big exception. The rooms are big, nice and clean. The hostel is close to almost everything worth seeing in the city center of Cairns. I would recommend this to any backpacker who likes to party, but still appreciates a clean bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnonymDanmark
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

We love to read and receive this types of reviews about Gilligan’s! We offer modern and luxurious accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun in Cairns! You are right, Gilligan’s is like no other. Have a great time in Australia!

Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

You can't please everyone and obviously things go wrong and some unlucky backpackers experience staying somewhere is effected. However if you are not completely blown away by the fact that this is a hostel then you need to stop staying in hostels. It's like a poor mans paradise. It has it all! Bar, night club, good cheap food and drinks,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah t
Vanessa S, Director of Sales at Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Our reputation speaks for itself, we have plenty of five star reviews stating we are the place to be in Cairns! Our Entertainment venues are located next door saving you money on taxi’s and time. We have nightly promotions, games and live entertainment from Cairns finest live entertainers 7 nights a week. Gilligan’s is the place to Stay, Play and...

Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Its a happening hostel. The bar and food are cheap. We had booked a double bed room with private bathroom, which was clean and spacious, and came with toiletries, coffee & tea, fridge and tv. The staff was helpful and provided us all the touristy information. Accessible location and provides free pickup from airport. Advisable to book your free seat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samiksha S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Gilligans for 4 nights. The rooms were clean, modern and spacious and there are big communal kitchens on every floor. The hostel is in a really central location and being attached to the main club in Cairns is definitely a bonus. The bar does good drinks deals and there is a great $5 evening meal and drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ae2709
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Second time I stay here and still love it! in the middle of Cairns centre, got a nightclub, bar, coolest pool and awesome staff. Definitely coming back!! Very cheap dorms and the drink and meal deals you get makes it even cheaper. If you want to have one or two nights in more luxury style after always living in dorms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linnea0509
Reviewed 8 August 2015

The total stay in Gilligan's was pretty good, the only point, except the unfriendly girl from the reception who checked us in, was that we were sleeping above the nightclub so the music was really loud in our room. Our last night, the music was playing till 4.30 am. The rest of the hostel is really good, the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin d
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I stayed here at the beginning of my trip and Gilligan's really lived up to its reputation! I stayed in a 4-bed mixed dorm with an ensuite for 5 nights and it was very impressive. It was huge inside, with one bunk, two single bed, a TV and a really big balcony - 100% worth the extra money. It overlooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jphil93
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Cleaners barge into the dorms every day to check if we had any alcohol in the rooms, felt like we were treated like teenagers.. Bar and nightclub were fun but the bouncers were ridiculously heavy handed, seen them choke one guy out and he was only giving them a bit of lip. Rooms shaking with the bass from the night...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank derekayy

298 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Deluxe Quad Room (21)
Viewed
Double Private Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Dorm Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,071 reviews
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
568 reviews
1.5 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.7 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $23 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are quiet”
MarkA491, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room that doesn't face the club”
asher14, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request for rooms on the higher floors if you think music from the bar would bother you.”
240jeremiahd, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask the reception staff about special offers for the different roomtypes.”
879estelled, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a 4 bed dorm on the higher floors if you don't want to hear the club music till 3am.”
Cristie2202, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$27* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$170
Hotels.comUS$89
Hotwire.comUS$89
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates