We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropical Heritage Cairns

PricelineUS$61*
View Deal
#14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$61*
Great Deal
US$65*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropical Heritage Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Heritage Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Showing 441: English reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Clean hotel and on the cheaper side but the service was deplorable. Was charged $15 for a toll free phone call and another $15 for a 'continental' breakfast that consisted of toast and make it yourself coffee. Unripe fruit, no yogurt (was advertised as having), very poor. Not worth the money IMO.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patopico
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

I am sorry that the service didn’t live up to your expectations. The staff member you dealt with has been spoken too about their service. Yes our breakfast is very simple but it is also very affordable at $7.50 per person. It is available for everyone looking but there are many other options available in the city a short walk...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed for one night at THC before flying out early the next morning. It's about a $20 cab ride from CNS Airport. The hotel is a stones throw from the central area of the city. It is only two blocks away from the Esplanade. Lake St will take you straight to the heart of Cairns. Check in was smooth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you James Munro General Manager

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located in Cairns. Few minutes walk from city center, 10/15 minutes from the airport. The room was a bit out of date, old style I would say. The fridge completely empty, not even a bottle of water. The jug was empty too. In the middle of the night I had to go down to the hall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LauraPhilly2010
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

I am sorry that the service didn’t live up to your expectations. I will ensure that this doesn’t happen again. I can guarantee that closing early was due to that particular staff member having broken his rib earlier that day and working without realising how badly he was injured. We are consistently working to improve our rooms and services and...

Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Small hotel with spacious rooms and king size beds. Bathroom is also big, with shower and well appointed. Very clean. Though it is not centrally located, it is within walking distance to all major attractions and restaurants (about 15m., cruise harbour 25m). Staff is very friendly and helpful and they help out with day trips bookings. As breakfast was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amore64
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Reasonably priced 'hotel' in a backpacker-paradise.. Rooms are clean and well equipped.. Hotel personnel always helped us with vital information about the city and things to do in there.. Breakfast spread was very basic but almost all the wonderful restaurants in cairns are at a walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajay A
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Well situated in Cairns city. Big rooms comfortable beds. Lovely people, everyone is very friendly. We only stayed one night but Wil happy book again next time in town. Easy walk to all the resturants and the boardwalk. Did i mention the shower was great too. Place is a little retro in style but clean very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

It is always appreciated to have guests share their experience with others especially when they have such great things to say. Thank you very much for taking the time to speak and I hope to see you again if you ever return to Cairns. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my girl decided to go on a trip and found this hotel. When we first arrived we didn't know what to expect. It was our first time in Australia and never knew what hotels were like. When we first entered a room we were so surprised to see how big it was!! There were 4 beds and 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

It is always appreciated to have guests share their experience with others especially when they have such great things to say. Thank you very much for taking the time to speak and I hope to see you again if you ever return to Cairns. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This hotel has everything you could want at a reasonable price. It is clean and comfortable and surprisingly spacious - we had a two bedroom suite with lounge room and kitchenette. It is about a 15 minute walk along the beautiful esplanade into the shops and restaurants - a pleasant stroll in lovely weather. We had a dodgy toilet flush...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silverton31
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying at the Tropical Heritage Cairns. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Las Vegas
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We booked one night online for our first night/ arrival into Cairns. The room was spacious, very clean, and quite comfortable. It's not in the busy section of the Esplanade, but is a pleasant walk to the main Esplanade area and pier. There's a pool and spa. Most of the rooms have balconies. I travel a bit for business and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happer
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. It is always appreciated to have guests share their experience with others especially when they have such great things to say. Thank you very much for taking the time to speak and I hope to see you again if you ever return to Cairns. Thank you James Munro General Manager

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Centrally located in a calm and quiet environment. Extremely friendly and courteous staff specially the ladies at the reception only with whom we were able communicate during our 3 day stay. We looked forward to get a peaceful night's sleep in our clean and spacious apartment with necessary amenities and spotless linen after our tiring and hectic days we spent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank azrashiraz
sheridan295, General Manager at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. It is always appreciated to have guests share their experience with others especially when they have such great things to say. Thank you very much for taking the time to speak and I hope to see you again if you ever return to Cairns. Thank you James Munro General Manager

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
568 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,071 reviews
0.2 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
744 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $92 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Heritage Cairns staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Heritage Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Has an elevator so all rooms are accessible.”
Canada-Oz, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Quiet hotel clse to all resturants and the boardwalk”
TracyR687, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any issues at all, just talk to the reception staff. They are friendly, and professional”
tasmedic, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room, (1 bedroom suites ).They don't have as good a view, but it's quieter & warmer on the north side of the building.”
christinefC2217CH, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are almost similar.”
rishilobo, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$61* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$65
Orbitz.comUS$65
HotelQuicklyUS$90
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates