We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grosvenor in Cairns

Agoda.comUS$81*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$120*
US$81*
US$99*
US$120*
US$81*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Grosvenor in Cairns
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor in Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Jerilderie NSW
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My friend and I had five lovely warm, sunny days in Cairns. Brian gave us great advice about some trips, and we enjoyed a swim in the not-too-heated pool most days. Location was central for accessing the Esplanade, Restaurants, shopping, etc. Great meals at the Cock and Bull and Tandoori Nights just down the street. Rooms were clean and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy E
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Anne and I appreciate your positive comments (as do our housekeeping staff who we pass these commets onto). The pool is solar heated and in summer we have to turn the solar heating off as the pool will heat up to over 30 degrees. In winter it loses heat at...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2013

There were five of us adults and we shared a double apartment which was great. Plenty of room with kitchen facilites and laundry and 2 bathrooms. Very clean and tidy. Close to everything including mini mart and liquor store. Also Cock and Bull just down the road where we had the best crocodile burgers ever!!- easy walking to most places....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaye M
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our 2 bedroom apartments are terrific value for large families; they are large enough to be able to add an extra bed or two if required with there still being plenty or room relax in (and the 2nd bathroom is appreciated by all guests). The nearby restaurants, bottle shop and...

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed for one night at the Grosvenor. Had an family apartment room, which was two adjoining rooms with adjoining door open. It was great, lots of space. Nice and clean. Service at hotel was good. Walking distance to Muddies which is great for kids. Central location overall. Only complaint was the pool was pretty cold. I had booked at Grosvenor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsScroggie
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and although you only stayed one night we do appreciate you taking the time to make comment. Muddies playground is a terrific playground area if you have small, children and is only a short walk away down to the northern end of the Esplanade. The pool is 'solar heated' but is not a heated (by...

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a five day stay at the Grosvenor in Cairns we went up as a group of 19 for my nieces 18th birthday. We couldn't have asked for better accommodation and more helpful staff, we came up from Ballarat in Victoria so the airconditioned rooms and pool were great . Brian even looked after our luggage on the last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cindy o
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to leave a review. Reviews are important as they serve to reinforce what we are "doing right" but also occasionally they help us recognise things we could be doing better. Large groups are always a challenge but we always do our best to locate all their rooms close together...

Waverley, NS, Canada
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I had a few days to vacation in Cairns after meetings in Sydney. We chose the Grosvenor based on TripAdvisor feedback. A five-star it isn't but what it lacks in luxury amenities is made up by very good value for the money. Yeah, Brian Sweetman may have a gruff side but we found him to be an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review ....... describing me as having a "gruff side" is unusual .... I'm just big and ugly; and yes, the Grosvenor is not a 5 Star Resort and we are very careful not to give people that impression. What the Grosvenor is however, is a very good 4 Star standard holiday apartment...

Maine
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Went with family in February. It was just outside of town in a poor section which didnt feel safe at night. The next morning after talking with my mom we decided we couldn't stay another night due to safety and lack of air conditioning. Brian Sweetman turned mean and nasty to us. It was the worst part of our 2...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gigibh
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review

Well ..... what can I say! My parents always taught me to not say anything if I could not say something nice and I do try to stick to that, however, sometimes ........ These guests booked a Stay 7 Pay 5 deal in 'peak season' and we exchanged many, many emails prior to their arrival giving them information on what...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Nice clean and quiet accomodation. Close to town, walking distance and pick up for all tours. Nice pool area and good parking. Close to bus stops. Close to Cock and Bull club, which has excellent meals.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter M
Swan Hill, Australia
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had a very good relaxing time, thought we had self contained room but it was a studio but that was okay we used bbq area and that could need a bit of an upgrade but all good. We found property to be very central not very far from broadwalk and nice brisk walk to city centre also not far...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod P
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great experience with the friendly proprietors the rooms were clean and well set out. They gave us a useful map of the facilities within walking distance. They clarified the accommodation as soon as they were advised of mobility issues.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank s4oco
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From arrival, the owners were welcoming, hospitable and informative. The rooms were clean and presentable & the accommodation was local to convenience stores and local restaurants. I enjoyed my time there and would happily recommend others to stay as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SC198

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#36 of 64 in Cairns
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
1.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
0.8 km away
City Terraces Cairns
City Terraces Cairns
#48 of 85 in Cairns
2 reviews
0.6 km away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#17 of 85 in Cairns
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grosvenor in Cairns is the perfect venue for your holiday or business trip to Cairns in Tropical North Queensland. Affordable, spacious, clean, comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom, fully self contained holiday apartments set in a tropical garden setting complete with solar heated pool/spa. Studios (no cooking facilities - but Studios do contain a microwave oven)are also available. The resident on-site managers will provide every assistance from booking tours to finding a good restaurant. NEW- WiFi internet access is now totally FREE in all apartments and outside areas. The 24 hour a day - 7 days a week gym / fitness center located only 200 meters away is also now totally FREE for all of our guests to use during their stay. Resdtaurants, Hotel, Supermarket, Bottle Shop, Take Away (Pizza, Fish & Chips, Chinese, Thai, Kebabs) all within 250 metres. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grosvenor in Cairns

Address: 186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Price Range: $107 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor in Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor in Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grosvenor in Cairns staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grosvenor in Cairns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I wake up every morning to bird song and the trickling of water in the pool. Upper floor should be quieter for the late risers.”
linungk, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms up top would be quieter as it is fully tiled.”
robandmirry, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The apartments are worth the little extra price from the studio!”
fitce0213, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to specify a ground floor apartment if you have walking difficulties”
allanng2004, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on 2nd floor & was pretty good noise wise. Room with a full kitchen is best if staying a number of nights.”
461brendaw, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$99
TripAdvisorUS$81
CancelonUS$120
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates