We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

PricelineUS$132*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$166*
US$132*
Great Deal
US$166*
US$166*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
Panoramas (74)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

635 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Showing 623: English reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Customer service was brilliant, staff were very knowledgeable and helped us out greatly on what to do on a rainy day. The accommodation was great, clean and equipt with near enough everything you need. The pool was good and overall well located with a frequent shuttle into town.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank steph71992
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Steph71992, Thanks for your review of our property; its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. Kindest Regards, The Team at Rendezvous!

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We stayed here in February 2015 for five nights. The house we stayed in was clean and had all the facilities that we required. The staff were welcoming and very helpful during our stay. The location is not ideal if you do not have a car. Once we hired a car from the fantastic local Paradise Car hire (the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Margaret Q
RendezvousResort, General Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Good Morning Margaret Q, Thanks for your review. Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Port Douglas. We have in the last couple of weeks arranged for our guests to be able to Hire cars direct. We have one on sight at all times We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon! Kindest regards, The...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

The location is on the left side of the main road leading into town, which generally makes it the wrong side as the beach is on the other side. Not ideal as one can't just walk out and go for a stroll on the beach. Location aside...the premises are looked after grounds whise. The pool is nice and large and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zullli
RendezvousResort, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Zullli, Thank you for your feedback. We have taken on board your comment on our Restaurant, we are looking at ways to make it more inviting. Yes I agree our pool areas and ground are a lovely place to relax around. Thanks again for taking the time to review. Warmest Regards Chris Serjeant , Manager

Melbourne
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Got a good deal on 4 nights here which included breakfast in the rate. The villa was nice, but not young child friendly. If I had of known the floor plan I probably would have booked elsewhere as we had to carry our 14 month old up and down the stairs, and use furniture as a safety gate so he...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hlpblonde1
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi HIpblonde, Thanks for providing your feedback. It is interesting to hear you did not find the villas suitable for young children; we host a large number of families with young children, and as a result, we have cots, highchairs, strollers and stair gates available for hire. I will look into why these may not have been offered to you...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

I travelled to Port Douglas for NYE with some friends and was bitten all over my back by bed bugs. I called the hotel directly to give them the opportunity to apologize and rectify the problem. I was told that the manager wasn't available but would call me back... Still waiting! Extremely disappointed as I frequent Port Douglas often and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Fiona M
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Fiona M, Apologies for the lack of communication on our part, I have contacted directly today in regards to your stay at your resort. Warmest Regards The Team at Rendezvous

Reviewed 13 February 2015

Air Con was faulty and fell on deaf ears when reported, room was invested with small ants. Staff were really unhelpful. Wouldn't recommend it. We cheeked out early and traveled on to your next hotel in Sydney cost a bit of money but I couldn't stay another night

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rickyyea
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Rickyyea, Thanks for your review; it is disappointing to hear your stay was not up to your expectations. If your faulty A/C was reported it is certainly not usual for our team not to follow up - I will investigate with our Maintenance department why this was missed. Small ants are a very common occurrence in this area at...

Mission Beach, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2015

we had only a few days here and boy did it rain. the staff were very helpful and what could have been a rainy day indoors became a lovely day in the daintree rainforest. we walked into the town centre along the beach. that was very nice too.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank slainte s
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Slainte S, Thanks for your great feedback! Our team are more than happy to offer advice on activities for all weather conditions; the region is glorious when it rains and the Daintree Rainforest is at it's best at this time! We thrilled to hear you got the most from your trip to Port Douglas and we hope to welcome...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Great and helpful youg staff trying to do there best. Villa we stayed in was in need of good cleaning and painting. Cannot recommend eating in restaurant food was of poor quality and badly prepared Two young waitresses spent time apologising to all the six tables occupied with the standard "We will let chief know sorry" WIFI only works in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry H
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Terry H, Thank you for your review; it's disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your overall experience at our resort, in particular your dining experience. Our chefs are always willing to accept feedback from customers and will if possible try to rectify any issues brought to their attention. I appreciate your kind words regarding our hardworking floor staff;...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2015

we had a most enjoyable stay here at rendezvous. it was a pleasure to find that breakfast was included. the setting was lovely and the breakfast chef was most helpful with our gluten free needs.the pools were very child freindly, thanks to all, we will be back

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank geremy s
RendezvousResort, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Geremy S Thanks for your review. Its wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon! Kindest regards, The Team at Rendezvous!

Reviewed 28 January 2015

First of all the main pool is nice, so that was fine. We had bed bug bites all over us from unit 68 and the itching was unbearable. We had to get heavy duty bags to bag all our belongings up and the tedious process of washing EVERYHING in hot water when we got home so we wouldn't infect our...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Isabella R
Roisin M, Manager at Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Isabella R We appreciate your review although we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We have followed our protocols after receiving this review regarding possible bedbugs in the villa you stayed in. We will contact you directly in regards to this matter. Kindest Regards The Team at Rendezvous.

566 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Lagoon Pool & Spa (9)
Viewed
Lap Pool @ Gym (21)
Viewed
Leisure Pool (20)
Viewed
Main Lagoon Pool & Spa (19)
Viewed
One Bedroom Coral Villa (45)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Orchid Villa (62)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Coral Villa (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
758 reviews
2.5 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
710 reviews
1.2 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#28 of 43 in Port Douglas
283 reviews
1.8 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.6 km away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 43 in Port Douglas
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges offers two storey 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas each with a kitchen, laundry, separate lounge and dining areas, TV/DVD player and balcony or patio in over 110 square metres of living. Set on 15 acres of lush tropical gardens offering plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the facilities which include 2 large lagoon-style pools, 1 leisure pool, a children's pool, children's playground, gymnasium, 25m lap pool, tennis courts and a family BBQ area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges

Address: 121 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $152 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Reef Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Port Douglas
Rendezvous Reef Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Blue Mountains, Australia
9 months ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Resort Port Douglas by Rydges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A little disappointed, not a clean and well maintained for the price. Needs improvement.”
  • Not sure what was in the corner???
  • Mould on curtains and walls.
Geniee6, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“upgraded rooms are good”
E2907MXjohnp, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay away - very shabby”
D4166CTjenniferk, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Dont book at this hotel - find other accommodation”
  • Back yard looking into the workshed
  • Lounge suite
  • Next door neighbours yard
  • TV with antenna blue-tacked to the wall
  • Electrical box at back door of unit.
  • Dining suite
NatalieM702, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I believe this could be and maybe is a great resort for families, I suggest they separate the residents from the holiday guests...”
allan_don, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$132* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$166
Orbitz.comUS$166
Hotels.comUS$166
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates