We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

928 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 918: English reviews
Start your review of Shantara Resort Port Douglas
 Click to rate
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a little concerned about our stay here as we had been informed that there would not be any reception staff to greet us upon our arrival from our flight from Ayers Rock. We drove past the resort as it is quite small and not very well lit. An envelope was left with instructions on how to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunandsnow123
Shantara, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review sunandsnow. We are pleased that you enjoyed our "little gem",and took our experienced staff's advice regarding the great restaurants in Port Douglas.We look forward to accommodating you in future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed with my partner for a 4 night romantic getaway. I could not recommend this place enough, everything about it was amazing. The room was beautiful - large bedroom, living/dining room, great kitchen, definitely worth paying the little bit extra to get one of 4 shantara apartments we had our own private ourdoor spa it was simply amazing. Reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley H
Shantara, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Kimberley.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in January, very clean accommodation, staff very friendly, very quiet as we went in low season but that meant we pretty much had the pool to ourselves. Close to walk to the Main Street with bars and restaurant and to the beach. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
Shantara, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Jodie,we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived for a week stay at Shantara Resort. We were greeted on arrival by the friendly staff, and Amanda and Sara were so helpful in getting us settled. Nothing was a problem for the staff, they look after tour bookings and being locals, know where to get the best coffee, where the good restaurants are and which tours are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Graeme. I am glad you mentioned the great job our reception staff do in welcoming guests and our hard working housekeepers who make a great effort in keeping the property in first class condition.

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I booked 7 night stay during peak Christmas season. Let me start by saying staff are completely unprofessional and have discussed some private matters I raised with them with another resort in nearby area. I am raising this with them directly, whoever if you want to pay big dollars, maybe Shantara is not the right place to go. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connikussen1
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Connikussen. We do not have a restaurant or bar and therefore no room service.If guests are making excessive noise at any time of day or night they will be approached as you were and asked to modify the noise or behaviour. We are unashameably not party central and we wish you luck in future accessing...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Very pleased with our experiences at Shantara, a friendly, efficient, profoundly well cared for and high quality resort. Our rooms were spacious, clean, well kept and nicely appointed. The pools and surrounds are most pleasant, the staff are warm and accomplished and the overall effect relaxing, charming and contented. The gym is a plus as is the helpful tour desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCW_Penguin
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you MCW for the very positive and informative review.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Port Douglas.

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my fiancé are staying here at the moment for a week from England. The resort is very impressive boasting two unique swimming pools, creative architecture & beautiful rooms resulting in a tropical oasis. It is an adult only resort, we are 23 and have met friendly older couples who have made us feel welcome. There have been a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the comprehensive and positive review Emma.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to accommodate you or your friends in the future.

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Such friendly staff made our stay so very enjoyable- they go above to make it a memorable stay. Amanda is absolutely lovely! She knows the area very well and is able to assist with recommending and the booking of tours and restaurants. The pool is beautiful and we loved our pool deck. The location of Shantara is prime- right near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you Gemma for the great review and for recognising the work of Amanda and our team. We are certainly in a great position to enjoy all that Port Douglas has to offer but be just out of the hustle and bustle of Macrossan St.

florida
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Our travel company booked us into this "resort" and we trusted their recommendation. But this place has nothing going to recommend it. The location is not great - it is not close to the beach so it has no water views, as many other places have. It has absolutely no amenities- their breakfast hamper was a joke, no coffee even....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FLStarfish
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the review FLStarfish. We are disappointed that we at Shantara did not meet your expectations. We are a 10 minute level walk to the beach but you are right to say that we do not have beach views. We are a self catering apartment resort so again you are quite right to say that we do not...

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Shantara resort ticks every box for a quiet, romantic getaway. We loved the location as we were able to walk to restaurants, the beach, the Marina and shops. There is something relaxing about not needing to jump in the car for six days! The resort itself is lovely, the pools are delightful and as there are only adults at this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
Livenow13, Owner at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review Susan.We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (286)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (43)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Second Pool (8)
Viewed
Shantara Apartment (37)
Viewed
Studio with Pool View (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.0 km away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.2 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
650 reviews
0.2 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
874 reviews
0.1 km away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
4.3 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Price Range: $152 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shantara Resort Port Douglas staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Shantara Resort Port Douglas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shanatar Apartment with pool access”
 of 5 bubbles Davezu, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony are great”
 of 5 bubbles amandamaree21, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pool deck rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MarlaQu, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have direct access to the pools is you use them a lot this would be ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles jaav, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a corner suite, the view overlooking the pool was great”
 of 5 bubbles robertsY5614KU, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5