We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sands Holiday Apartments

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sands Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Sands Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
BC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The location of the property is perfect. Right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. The unit needed some initial cleaning and the sofas were well beyond their useful life but for the price is was acceptable. The bed was comfortable and the staff helpful. You get what you pay for. Overall it was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wallybug
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I wouldn't stay there again, not even for free. Staff were not very professional, nor friendly. The apartment was very dirty and disgusting! they clearly don't pay much attention towards basic hygine. The furniture was very run down. very old and outdated. Not to mention, dirty. We really couldn't stay there for the whole duration and ended up leaving much...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MorningBeachLover
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Disappointing for the building The Sands to receive this review. At The Sands there are two letting agents and this review could be referring to the private letting agent. At no time does my office not refund for guests who cut short their stay and secondly the guests are always offered to move or for the cleaners to go back...

Pakenham, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Rooms a little dated but clean. Air-conditioning is extra. As rooms face East it gets very hot early in the morning as curtains are not block out type. Pool and gardens are well maintained and add to the environment. Location to eateries is fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlly
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the rooms being very clean as we are regularly changing cleaning companies to try to keep the standard up on the cleanliness of the rooms I am disappointed that you did not realise that the rooms were not air conditioned. The apartments are advertised with ceiling fans but unfortunately last Christmas when the temperature...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We booked a two-bedroom at The Sands and LOVED it! Easy check-in and carpark allocation - The room was SO NICE - AND BIG! - more than what I expected for 3star! Way more! With an AMAZING view. I loved being right in the heart of Surfers. It was so good having a heated pool - we were in there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kath_duell
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Our room was great with stunning views,our apartment was very close to beach with a short walk to Cavel Ave . There was a lovely Market Wednesday Friday and Wednesday night right across the road from the Appartment

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 735lync
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

I must thank the guest for appreciating the hard work to ensure the guests are happy and the apartments are clean with a great location. Very handy to shops with ocean views. This is a difficult task because happy guests do not write reviews and guests expectations in different star ratings vary. We are 3 star and work hard to...

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

Will never stay here again! Service was terrible, the room was very outdated and dirty and our security deposit was kept for damages that we did not cause. The location is great but that is the only positive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greggy1985
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing that someone felt they had to place a review such as this when the apartments for 3 star are kept clean, neat, tidy and up to date for 3 star. There is always a good reason and the reason could be because this person is known to office staff and recently posted bad reviews in spite and then...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Have stayed twice at the Sands and both times have had no complaints. We feel it is good value for money, close to all cafe's bars transport and beach .We have had two different apartments both were o.k. Anything we needed from reception wasn't a problem happy and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paulastu
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to host you whilst you were holidaying again at Surfers Paradise. The location is great and extremely good for easy access to shops, beach with the ideal back entrance to Orchid Avenue. I enjoy talking to you and I do enjoy seeing returnees again. I find this the highlight of working on the reception, the familiar...

Reviewed 8 April 2015

Nice place to stay, with stunning views of Surfers Paradise, even if you are on a budget. Neat and tidy, with everything you need included. Close to shopping and public transport. Overall it was a pleasant stay!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anna H
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Anna. It was a pleasure to meet you and we do strive to keep the accommodation at a budget which enables you to enjoy other experiences when the tariffs are reasonable. I am so pleased you enjoyed Surfers Paradise and I am so pleased you stayed at The Sands and we able to make...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Worst accommodation we've had in years. Everything in and about the apartment looks old and poor and dated. Cracked tiles, grim shower, musty smell in the apartment, couches well past their use by date, horrid bathroom, old worn out bed. And no aircon. Horrified to discover this after we checked in and pre-paid (this is a requirement) and had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuneLeRenard
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Very disappointing that your stay for 2 nights only on budget accommodation did not met your standards. We advertise as budget accommodation for those who do not wish to spend too much and naturally the longer the stay the tariffs reduce. The websites state the facilities and we are stated as ceiling fans. We do not claim to have air...

Reviewed 27 February 2015

This place is an absolute dump. It's dirty, gloomy and very bad value for money. Not worth paying more than $70 a night. Pros: 1. Well, the location is absolutely magnificent with surefers paradise beach being literally a few steps away. 2. Front seat ocean views which compliments the morning coffee nicely. Cons: 1. Filthy place. There were cobwebs, dust...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank s S
TheSandsHoliday, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

It was disappointing that these guests were looking forward to accommodation higher than 3 star, more like 4 star because the apartments could not possibly be covered in cob webs when there are continual guests in the rooms and by the sea with a beautiful sea breeze. Air conditioning leaking - the guests were very lucky to have the opportunity...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,875 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
289 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,141 reviews
0.7 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,411 reviews
0.3 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One and two bedroom fully self contained apartments with washing machine and drier and ironing facilities. Ceiling fans, television and balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean of Surfers Paradise and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: The Sands 40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $91 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Sands Holiday Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sands Holiday Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Sands Holiday Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have water views. I personally prefer the higher floors.”
SOPRANOSydney, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Double check that you have a room”
235darlenes, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“BAD - don't stay here!”
NicoleScrap, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room at the front facing the ocean.”
jono5515, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“don't stay there”
retepm21, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5