We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-29 2017-10-30
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Emerald

    Emerald 7 Mallana St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
    Lowest prices for your stay
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (69)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (1)
    • Excellent19%
    • Very good23%
    • Average9%
    • Poor16%
    • Terrible33%
    Travellers talk about
    “short walk” (6 reviews)
    “views” (17 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Wheelchair Access
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Breakfast included
    3.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Oct 29Oct 30
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    We're sorry, there are no rooms available on TripAdvisor. Please change your dates, or view all Surfers Paradise hotels with availability
    Write a Review
    Reviews (72)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 70 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    The emerald is in a great location with lovely views of Surfers Paradise and the river. It is an older property and therefore has some issues like peeling paint in some areas but it is also priced accordingly. You can't expect 5 star for a...More

    1  Thank anausman
    Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

    Booked a night here. The Manager needs a holiday or needs to pursue a new career. Wayne was condescending and tired and on more than one occasion stated the bleeding obvious rudely. You don't treat 60 year old Travellers in a rude and incorrect manner...More

    3  Thank shanotravelo95
    Response from Lloyd M, Front Office Manager at The EmeraldResponded 8 September 2017

    Wayne is always nice to all guests at the Emerald and is never rude as you stated. Maybe you were just having a bad day

    Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

    I booked at the emerald due to it's cheap price and spa bath. On arrival we were charged a $10 early book in fee for arriving 40 minutes early. A $100 bond was also taken on arrival and would not be placed back in the...More

    3  Thank lil1999
    Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

    So yeah our rooms were really dirty especially the floors and kind of falling apart, however they are quite modern rooms including the kitchen which was quite clean and had microwave, big fridge, toaster, kettle, stove top and even a washing machine which we found...More

    1  Thank Riverhoods
    Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

    Stayed one night at The Emerald whilst passing through. The facilities were good and the room had beautiful views of the Gold Coast city. The room could definitely use a make over as it seems rundown and outdated but other than that, comfortable stay!

    1  Thank Grace F
    Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
    3,326 reviews
    #13 of 31 hotels in Surfers Paradise
    Peppers Soul
    2,316 reviews
    #1 of 31 hotels in Surfers Paradise
    Meriton Suites Broadbeach
    8,154 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Broadbeach
    Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
    1,677 reviews
    #8 of 31 hotels in Surfers Paradise
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Spa
    • Price range
    • US$96 - US$292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #10 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
    • #14 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 13
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Queensland >
    • Gold Coast >
    • Surfers Paradise
    • Also Known As
    • Emerald Surfers Paradise ,
    • The Emerald Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (69)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (55)
    Bathroom (3)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Sponsored by:
    Peppers Soul
    2,316 reviews
    .85 km away
    Meriton Suites Broadbeach
    8,154 reviews
    2.95 km away
    Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
    3,326 reviews
    .78 km away
    Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
    1,677 reviews
    .54 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Salt Meats Cheese
    413 reviews
    .51 km away
    Curry Express Indian Restaurant
    318 reviews
    .51 km away
    Paradox Coffee Roasters
    250 reviews
    .48 km away
    Clifford’s Grill & Lounge
    185 reviews
    .50 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    SkyPoint Climb
    1,106 reviews
    .57 km away
    SkyPoint Observation Deck
    2,656 reviews
    .56 km away
    St Vincent's Catholic Church
    26 reviews
    .38 km away
    John Fraser Memorial Park
    7 reviews
    .40 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    31 October 2016|
    Response from Joanne H | Reviewed this property |
    I can't help you with the pricing as I know it'll change in the different seasons. No its 1 room with a large queen size bed and 1 room with 2 singles. The Queen room comes with it's own en suite bathroom attached, and... More
    Room Tips
    "Do not stay here it is absolute filth"
    Read review
    "best views, quiet environment, nice pool, riverfront, giant bath"
    Read review
    "Go to the Sunshine Coast"
    Read review
    "Ask for a condition report first of the room they want to put you in."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing