We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dorchester on the Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dorchester on the Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of Dorchester on the Beach
 Click to rate
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

- No challenge on more than 270ᵒc view around the resort. - 3 bedrooms (1 twin & 2 king) with 3 toilets+shower cubicle, toilet never full house after swiming in warmed swimming pool. - One set of amenities for each perosn included bathing gel, towels. - 2 sets of both powder for dish washing machine and dish cleaning detergent. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 大飛哥
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This apartment complex is due for a refurbish.. or it seems its had a refurbish that was never completed. The absence of attention to detail is reflected in the dirty dishes in the cupboards, cupboard door handles that fall off, bedroom doors that don't latch shut, cupboards filled with buckets of paints and features that are promised on their website...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fehraz
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting review Frehraz. It is unfortunate that you were unable to find anything that you enjoyed about your holiday with us. We do acknowledge that the apartment you were in is due for an upgrade. However, you know as well as we do that the apartment was very clean, all of our apartments have a tin...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We stayed 2 nights at the Dorchester on the beach and next time we visit Australia and the Gold Coast, we will return for sure and stay for longer. View is awesome, directly on the beach and massive glass windows all along to see out to the sea and beach. We went for the standard apartment only being here for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clifford B
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Clifford B Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross

Salisbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 November 2016

This was by far our favorite place in Australia. The location was ideal and the apartment hotel was top notch. Luxury living at reasonable rates. The three bedroom apartment we had was the perfect get-away for our family and the ocean views were breathtaking. Parking was on-site in the garage and very convenient. Michael and Karen are the manager condo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeffrey S
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Jeffrey S, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your holiday in Australia and especially here on the Gold Coast at Dorchester on the Beach. We love serving our guests and look forward to welcoming you back another time. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and this was our first time to the Gold Coast . We fell in love with the place as soon as we walked in . Karen and Michael the hosts were amazing and made is feel so welcome . The room was amazing with beautiful million dollar views . We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael B
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Once again Happy Anniversary. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your getaway! Thank you for your lovely review, we are truly humbled. Please come back and stay again! Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

A TripAdvisor Member
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Superb location, excellent hosts, fantastic appartment, highly recommend. Nothing was to much trouble for hosts Michael and Karen from first contact to saying goodbye... Will definitely be returning for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi ladies Thank you for your super review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed five nights with my family in this great apartment right on the beach. Apartment 6 is one of only two on the floor and is light and bright 3 bedroom apartment that can sleep 8. It has everything you need including beach toys for the children. It has a nice swimming pool and is right on the beach. From...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny g
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hello Penny G and family, we really enjoyed having you come and stay with us. What an awesome family. Thank you for the amazing review. Dorchester on the Beach is all about serving families like yours. Once again, thank you very much. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The Dorchester is right on the beach and only 2 apartments per floor. The rooms are large and the kitchen has all you need. The couple that manage it are nice and helpful. Close to a lot of places to see and eating also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi John W, Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we always enjoy welcoming you and your family back to Dorchester on the Beach. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Manager

Reviewed 28 September 2016

There are thousands of apartments on the coast with views as stunning as here but i dont know any other apartments where the hosts treat you as though you are the only people in the building.Karen and Michael go out of there way to serve you and tend your every need.We have just spent a week as a family celebration...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Chris M and family, It was wonderful to welcome you and your family to Dorchester on the Beach. Thank you for your fantastic review Chris. We are thrilled that your whole family were able to gather at the Dorchester to enjoy all the special family festivities. We are truly humbled by you super review and look forward to welcoming...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

A solid 4.5 out of 5 Pros Michael and Karen are a great team and certainly add the personal touch that is appreciated The view is stunning and location cannot get better if you like the beach and do not need the noise of surfers Size of the apartment is great and with only 2 apartments per floor there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 77rahulb
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi 77rahulb, It was great to welcome you to Dorchester on the Beach. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing your family up to share this wonderful location with them. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross,s Managers

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.4 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,850 reviews
0.4 km away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#6 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
276 reviews
1.2 km away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#14 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
88 reviews
0.6 km away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,319 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#3 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dorchester on the Beach is a perfect location for a 4 1/2 star family holiday. Absolute beach front Surfers Paradise, no roads to cross, spacious three bedroom deluxe or standard apartments and only two apartments per floor. Enjoy stunning beach and Gold Coast views, heated swimming pool, free Foxtel, free WiFi, lift, tour desk and secure undercover parking for one car. Apartments are self catered and close to all amenities. The Dorchester is a family hi-rise and does not cater for groups of singles. No Parties Policy! Open your own private secure beach front gate and feel the sand between your toes on Surfers Paradise beach. No roads to cross! 100 metres north is Northcliffe Surf Club and their patrolled swim/surf area. A leisurely 10 minute walk north brings you to Cavil Avenue, the heart of Surfers Paradise. Walk 15 minutes south and you are in trendy Broadbeach with a great selection of restaurants, Jupiters Casino, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre and the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre. Dorchester on the Beach is close to all transportation with direct pick up and drop off for Gold Coast and Brisbane Airport transfers, taxis, tours and other activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorchester on the Beach

Address: Dorchester 3-7 Garfield Tce, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $180 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorchester on the Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dorchester on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester On The Beach Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorchester on the Beach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dorchester on the Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Aware the headroom of carpark. Hyundai Imax is unwelcome coz its too high.”
大飛哥, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Call Karen or Mike directly if you have any questions. Apartments range from high end to some less updated. Call for details”
jeffreysP1061BS, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the apartments that have been done up if you can”
D5626ETjohnw, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better”
Tom_Masters, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 16 on 8th floor - great beach/sea views looking up to Surfers Paradise...”
C7627NEjuliem, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5