We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Island Gold Coast

Save
Share
3128 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (209)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (182)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 37 hotels in Surfers Paradise
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set in the heart of Surfers Paradise and on the doorstep of the famous Surfers Paradise Beach, The Island Gold Coast is the perfect gathering place for guests of all ages to stay, play and relax. Meticulously designed and restored from head-to-toe, the Island’s renewed breath of life pays homage to the natural splendour of a Queensland seaside village with abundant hardwood timbers, native plant life and open facades – bringing the outside, in! Immerse yourself in the Island experience and stay in one of the 98 luxurious, freshly renovated boutique rooms and suites, each with stunning views across either the Surfers Paradise CBD or the Gold Coast Hinterland. Enjoy a meal indoors or alfresco at the relaxing Island Pool Deck and the all new Goldie’s or savour a classically crafted cocktail at the Island Rooftop. If you are looking for a boutique hotel stay the Island Gold Coast will truly set the tone for an unforgettable experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Water park
Billiards
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Evening entertainment
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
249Reviews8Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 68
  • 18
  • 6
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Aimèe H wrote a review Jun. 2021
1 contribution
The island hotel was not my first choice in all honesty I originally wanted to stay at a chain hotel but decided to give this place a try! This may have been the best spontaneous decision I have made in a while! From the get go the customer service was absolutely fantastic and the staff are so friendly! I didn't feel like another number I felt my stay was much more personal! I was upgraded upon arrival due to my earlier check-in to the 11th floor this really made my quick mini break away even better! The room was very big, comfortable, clean and well designed with fantastic amenities. I had a fantastic view of the hinterlands and a bit of the ocean too. While the hotel isn't beachfront it is still in a great location with easy access to the main strip and mall. Room service was very quick and easy too. Check out was easy with the express checkout box. The only con for me was the uncomfortable outdoor seating but I feel this would be a easy fix with a chair pillow 🤷🏻‍♀️. In conclusion just book it, you will not regret it!!! Thank you to the staff for making my stay amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Dalton, Marketing at The Island Gold Coast
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi AimeeHT1, Thank you for your amazing feedback. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at The Island Gold Coast and look forward to your next visit. The Island Gold Coast Team.
Read more
April M wrote a review Jun. 2021
Anna Bay, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
Holiday’d here for a good friends birthday The hotel it’s self is nice, comfy beds, nice bathrooms. But went for drinks at the roof top bar. Dj refused to play innerbloom, by Rufus. Absolute banger of 2016 & forever. Yet wouldn’t play it. Wouldn’t come back. Dj is uncultured & has no taste
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Dalton, Marketing at The Island Gold Coast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi April, We appreciate your review and have passed it along to management.
Read more
JAN C wrote a review Apr. 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Stayed there from 19th - 22nd March - a getaway with my family who had all worked through Melbourne's lockdown and just wanted to sit at the pool or bar and relax. We originally booked for 19th Feb, but Melbourne went into 5 day lockdown and then Qld closed the border to Victoria. So we eventually got there. The room was wonderful - all we could ask for. Position of the Island to the shops was great. Downfall was the availability to use the hotel resources. We couldn't go to the Island Rooftop area for a drink or just to sit and relax as there were constantly functions there - 21st, bridal showers, etc. Every day and night we were there. It poured the 3rd day we were there so we thought we would sit at the Island Pool Deck and have a drink there, but, oh no. We were told to leave as there was a function there as well. This area was completely empty as the rain was coming into the area a bit. The function that was meant to be there was moved to the next room, but we still couldn't sit there as the man who had booked this area complained to the manager that the 3 of us were sitting in an area that he had paid for (even though they had moved). I argued this with the function manager, and said that we really could not sit and relax anywhere in the premises and have a drink. He said they had a lot of functions booked and people had booked in advance. I stated that we had also booked 4 months earlier and expected to be able to use the areas that are listed for public use in the property. Also we were very disappointed in the buffet breakfast. We have stayed all over the work and other places in Australia and had a full buffet breakfast available. Maybe this miserable breakfast was due to COVID, but you had to ask for everything you wanted, from 1 piece of toast, cereal, etc - where the man gave me some cereal and put a dash of milk in and then another dash and kept asking if I wanted more. Very miserably run and you felt guilty to ask for more of anything. So stay here by all means on a Tuesday to Thursday maybe and you can access all areas. But the weekend, give it a miss. I would never go back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Good view from pool side, but extremely noisy as that is where all the functions are.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Dalton, Marketing at The Island Gold Coast
Responded May 4, 2021
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time is has taken to provide us with this valuable feedback and have passed it along to management. We hope to have you again at The Island Gold Coast.
Read more
Jodie S wrote a review Apr. 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
After searching online that rooms were available along with a restaurant on sight we stopped in to grab a beverage after a long trip before going in to book a room to met with appalling treatment. A beer was opened for us at the bar to then be rudely taken back when we went to pay for it as my partner has a hand tattoo that says ‘fight to live’ in cursive writing that he had tattooed on his hand after suffering a stroke several years ago and it was a daily reminder to never give up when he couldn’t talk for many years. The communication and the manner in how he was treated at your venue was extremely disrespectful and embarrassing. Spoken to & judged like a criminal by a young male staff member behind the bar regarding body art is not ok. In fact it’s discriminatory. You need to CLEARY state on the entrance to your venue that people with hand tattoos will not be served. Why just hand tattoos? Why? When some of your staff are covered in tattoos? NO ONE deserves to be treated like we were treated and your lack of personalisation in your management responses to people with similar experiences truly shows that you have no interest in considering that you are hurting and embarrassing people. On a positive note we took our money to another establishment and had a lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Dalton, Marketing at The Island Gold Coast
Responded Apr. 27, 2021
Hi LiveLoveTravel89, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We appreciate your feedback and have passed it along to management. The Island Gold Coast Team.
Read more
Verified reviewer wrote a review Apr. 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Worse accomodation on the Gold Coast BEWARE! Noisy and rude staff. Management don’t respond, automatic generic response to everyone. Shameful to not take pride in your business. Will not return and do not recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jessica Dalton, Marketing at The Island Gold Coast
Responded Apr. 22, 2021
Hi Greensuspenderss, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We appreciate all feedback and have passed your review along to management. The Island Gold Coast Team.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
islander hotel surfers paradise, islander surfers paradise
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Islander Resort Hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastSurfers Paradise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Island Gold Coast
Which popular attractions are close to The Island Gold Coast?
Nearby attractions include Padlockd Escape Rooms North (0.4 km), Surfers Paradise Beer Garden (0.1 km), and SkyPoint Climb (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Island Gold Coast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Island Gold Coast?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Island Gold Coast?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Island Gold Coast?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Island Gold Coast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brazilian Flame Bar and Grill, Shiraz Authentic Persian Restaurant, and Stairwell Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Island Gold Coast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Island Gold Coast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Surfers Paradise.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Island Gold Coast?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Island Gold Coast offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does The Island Gold Coast have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.