We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BreakFree Imperial Surf

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BreakFree Imperial Surf
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BreakFree Imperial Surf
See the most recent reviews
Showing 453: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location & fabulous staff who couldn't do enough for you. Ocean views fantastic & quiet yet still in the middle of Surfers. Rooms very dated, in need of TLC....however it was clean & comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinesV7419RN
Alice Town, Bimini
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed here with my husband and 3 kids. Location is great across the road from the beach. Only ac in the lounge room none in the bedrooms which were boiling hot even with fans making it hard to sleep in the heat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 673shaunan
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear 673shaunan, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the proximity to the beach. We have taken onboard your comments regarding air condition in the bedrooms. However, due to the layout of the apartments there are certain constraints regarding this and we are in the process...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great property in a convenient location. Far enough away from Cavill mall to be quiet but close enough to lots of great cafes and eateries. Easy access to the beach across the road and friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tank78
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear tank78, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed and had a relaxing stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We had a family weekend away with my elderly parents and they loved the location. Clean, staff friendly helpful, great location amazing views. Not all apartments are the same. We stayed in 12B and it was refurbished.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dimi_011
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear Dimi_011, Thank you for sharing your brilliant experience with us! Nothing delights us more than knowing that you enjoyed our prime, centralized location in the heart of Surfers Paradise and the amazing views. We truly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to our next opportunity to host you. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Great spot, right on the beach. Rooms are getting a bit dated and tired. No air conditioning was a bit of a shock but ceiling fans were adequate. If you get strong winds from the "wrong" direction, the handrails vibrate and make sleep nearly impossible (thankfully this was only for one night) Some windows will not lock and aluminium frames...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TassieDevils_1956
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear TassieDevils_1956, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the great location but sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We have taken on board your comments regarding air condition and renovation. We will be addressing this with our owners. We appreciate your...

Dubbo, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We enjoyed our stay it was close to the beach and shops. The receptionist, Misty was outstanding, very helpful and friendly. The rooms could do with an update the fittings were old, dusty curtains, mouldy showers etc. The ocean view was lovely if you were in the right room, the ones around the back should be much cheaper.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T2347GTmariec
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear T2347GTmariec, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found Misty helpful and friendly. I will certainly pass on the compliments to Misty. We have also taken on board your comments regarding the maintenance issues and the fitting in the apartment. We are in...

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Where to start? Our GC holiday was pre booked and paid for in JUNE 2016. We have been holidaying in Surfers Paradise regularly over the last 20 plus years and have always chosen the high rise apartments right on the waterfront with ocean views. On many occasions we have gone with the breakfree affiliated group and this is the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth G, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with the apartments that were allocated to you. We have taken on board all your comments regarding the appliance and the renovation in the apartments. We are in the process of renovating some of the Units in our...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Great location, great layout of rooms, however a little disappointed with the cleanliness or the rooms - also there were several broken items in our room. Ocean views are fantastic, comfortable bedding & lounge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T4604ZPkatieh
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear T4604ZPkatieh, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We have taken on board your comments regarding the cleanliness of the Unit and will address this with our Housekeeping team. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, views and...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Walking into the room 30B with the expectation i had from the website we were horrified, disappointed, gutted. The room was nothing like the website. I have nothing else to say but UTTER FILTH. The images speak for themselves. After speaking to the front desk we were moved into another room.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kristy h
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear Kristy H, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We apologize for the state of the Unit and we have taken necessary steps to ensure that this does not happen in the future. Thanks for bringing this to our attention so that we could move you to another Unit. This is not our...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Friendly, helpful staff,clean and spacious,comfortable. Outdoor pool was so clean and refreshing.Tennis, spa and indoor pool. Security good.Would stay again.Great value.Across from the beach.Misty organized our theme park travels with a smile.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 329bernadettet
mgrbreakfree, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review

Dear 329bernadettet, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Misty who served you with a smile. Best regards Rajesh Shetty

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,522 reviews
0.5 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,368 reviews
0.7 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
159 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $136 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree Imperial Surf staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree Imperial Surf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles TassieDevils_1956, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles nickanmaria, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front SE corner 14th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Aaliaust, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“two front rooms on each floor have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles wilkdig, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay timeshare, & ask for a unit higher up the tower.”
 of 5 bubbles Tacaga, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5