We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Backpackers In Paradise

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Backpackers In Paradise
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 379: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

First time in Surfers. Good location walking distance to shops, bars, clubs and beach. Full of fellow travellers so it's lots of fun to stay on site, ping pong, pool tables and swimming pool, plus the weather is perfect blue skies!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian F
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just stayed here. Friendly staff, great facilities. Perfect place to meet new, friendly, likeminded people. The staff were very helpful and more than accommodating. The stay was only bettered by the copious amounts of beautiful people swarming the place. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toranraphael
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great atmosphere in this place, loads of friendly people to meet and cheap food! Pool tables, table tennis, good tunes playing, staff are all legends, Can't complain, little bit of a party atmosphere but not kicking off all the time so ideal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked in for a week here! Perfect location, walking distance to the beach and bars! They have different nights on each night including bar crawls. The pool and communal spaces make it very sociable . We've met some great people! Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige J
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I probably wouldn't advise you stay here. The rooms are like saunas. We were in a 8 bed room, and there were two tiny fans to cool the room. It did nothing. The rooms did not cool down no matter the time of the day it was awful. The shovers and toilet were awful. I felt like I would come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciadae S
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is the best hostel if you are young and like to party! Nice pool with a spa, ping pong table and beerpong every night. It is easy to get a job and work for accomondation here. I enjoyed my stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linn R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having travelled a lot over the last few years this was by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. I wouldn't say I have particularly high standards but I do expect basic cleanliness when I pay to stay somewhere. As soon as we entered our room it absolutely stank. What was more concerning was there was a door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandra C
Adam_BIP, Manager at Backpackers In Paradise, responded to this review

Hi Alexandra, We take all reviews very seriously. If you had informed reception of any concerns you had about the room we could have immediately checked it. As you can see from our reviews we are the highest rated hostel on the Gold Coast and pride ourselves on the facilities and cleanliness we provide. If you contact me at manager@backpackersinparadise.com...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend and we had a pretty big "apartment" but it was still dirty and sticky (it looked like they hadn't cleaned yet). The towels we got were also full of stains. The employers werent very friendly and helpful. This hostel is a nice place to stay for Backpackers who are looking for a party but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marten B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend in January and it was a great time! There's a bar connected to the hostel with something to do every night and a pool. Thanks Lee for being the best receptionist ever!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel has nice bar and pool area. Definitely wouldn't recommend staying in a 15 bed as it's very cramp. The reception desk overbooked our room but were very apologetic and moved us into a much nicer room with air con! Close to bus drop off and beach!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigran144

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,340 reviews
0.7 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,527 reviews
0.5 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#24 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
359 reviews
3.5 km away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#47 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
236 reviews
1.5 km away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#31 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpackers in Paradise is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise close to the beaches, night life, shopping and only 100 metres walk from the Bus Terminal. We offer travellers a fun and inviting place to stay in the perfect location to see and do everything the Gold Coast has to offer ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpackers In Paradise

Address: 40 Peninsular Dr, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $28 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backpackers In Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers In Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers In Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Backpackers In Paradise staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Backpackers In Paradise staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't do it”
 of 5 bubbles ciadaes, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“depending on how much you want to pay you can get 20 dorms or 4 dorms”
 of 5 bubbles carlosmT9696FL, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As long as you have a locker, you have nothing to worry about, no matter how many people your sharing with.”
 of 5 bubbles 16aydenl, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the neighbourhood buildings (away from attrium) is more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ngungchias, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Whatever you can afford, just to forget a towel”
 of 5 bubbles jackwT8340ZC, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay