We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville

Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (5)
Overview
Grand Mercure 8 - 10 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Internet
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Suites
4.5 Star accommodation
About
Description
The Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville offers all the facilities, services and attention that you need to make your stay with us as successful as it is enjoyable, whether it's overnight in a hotel Studio More room, or extended stays in one of our self-contained apartments. Located in the heart of Townsville's popular cafe and restaurant precinct and just a short walk from the CBD, The Strand and the Marina, the Grand Hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the Barrier Reef, or as the gateway to your northern journey Join us for a taste of Townsville that you'll never forget. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Spa
,
Business
,
Romantic
,
Luxury
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Spa
,
Business
,
Romantic
,
Luxury
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
106
Price range
US$73 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Grand Mercure Apartments Townsville Hotel Townsville
Location
Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 nearby hotels
Oaks Gateway Suites
566 reviews
.06 km away
Townsville Central Hotel
519 reviews
.07 km away
Rydges Southbank Townsville
605 reviews
.15 km away
Quest Townsville
646 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 450 nearby restaurants
Seasoned
424 reviews
.05 km away
Jam
1,129 reviews
.07 km away
IMC Steak House
457 reviews
.11 km away
Ribs and Rumps
965 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 138 nearby attractions
Museum of Tropical Queensland
341 reviews
.38 km away
Reef HQ Great Barrier Reef Aquarium
1,025 reviews
.46 km away
Perc Tucker Regional Gallery
116 reviews
.29 km away
Maritime Museum of Townsville
63 reviews
.41 km away
Reviews & more
524Reviews
121Photos
6Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 244
  • 222
  • 50
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
A great place to stay, lovely staff, fantastic rooms, quiet, comfortable and clean. Right in the heart of some of Townsville’s best restaurants and entertainment. Definitely a location that deserves a second visit.
Read more
This was well located and not expensive, was clean and very suitable for our one night stay. Restaurants and couple pubs nearby, although was a bit of a walk to the Promenade. Receptionist was very helpful with suggestions.
Read more
Response from Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Responded 1 week ago
Hi GrandV5052, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community. I am glad that you were able to explore what the region has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kindest regards and safe travels Troy Scott General Manager
Read more
The hotel is definitely average which isn’t bad. We had a clean room, so that is a good thing. The location is good. There are a few restaurants within a block of the hotel. Baskin Robbins ice cream is under the hotel. Across the river is more cafes and a little bit of shopping.
Read more
Response from Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Responded Nov. 4, 2018
Hi Worldtravellers1995, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us, however I will be addressing the items raised. I am disappointing that you did not experience the level of service and friendliness which we pride ourselves on. Thank you for letting me know so we can improve in this area. Safe travels and kindest regards Troy Scott General Manager
Read more
What an absolute joke

Myself, my partner, and our friends (2 other couples) were coming to Townsville to celebrate my partners birthday, and obviously looking for a room for 6 people it would be a bit more difficult/more expensive which I was expecting. I originally found a 2 be
Read more
Response from Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Responded Nov. 4, 2018
Hi Emma C, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. I will be sure to take on board your thoughts and will address any outstanding maintenance items where appropriate here at the hotel. In regards to your online booking experience, there are many sites out there that display a variety of rates and each of them have their own little variables which can be confusing to the consumer at times, especially when there are extra requirements like this occasion with extra bedding needed. The hotel team contacted you in person to ensure that your needs were going to be met when you arrived at the hotel with 6 people for a room which was booked to have bedding for 4 people in it. On the website you made your booking they state that there is a $200 deposit required on a valid credit card upon check in. Unfortunately a credit card could not be provided by you but a debit card was presented instead. To still be able to accommodate your booking, the hotel was willing to make alternative arrangements given that you did not have a credit card, however needed a higher amount on your debit card to cover the security over the rooms. For all card deposits, the funds are not actually held by the hotel like a charge, but held by your financial institution as they see this as a possible transaction that could occur in the future and they ensure that the funds are available. Depending on the financial institution the times may vary, but we certainly can assist by making contact with them on your behalf to try to speed up the process if this is yet to be returned to you. Regarding car parking, we have complimentary outdoor off street parking as well as paid undercover allocated parking, both options are offered to all of our guests. I am glad that we could find your property that you accidentally left behind at the hotel. The item was then packed up in a manner to ensure that the item would be secure and reduce the risk of loss or damage. The item was taken over to the post office in person at your request to be sent to the address provided. We genuinely wanted to reunite you with the lost belongings. The hotel is always happy to go the extra mile for our guests, however unfortunately the post office was not so generous and charged you for their services. We do genuinely care about our guests' experiences when staying here with us and we are disappointed that you have left here not 100% satisfied. Your concerns have been taken very seriously and reviewed to see where we can improve. It sounds like there was a misunderstanding or assumptions made which were incorrect at the beginning which flowed through your stay. I hope that you can see at each stage of your stay that the hotel has tried to do the right thing by you and your friends to try to give you the best stay possible and address your needs. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us, I can be contacted in person if i can assist in any way. Kindest regards Troy Scott General Manager
Read more
Ok.. so this hotel is fine for a short stay or an overnighter.

We have scored it 4 as we wanted somewhere that was clean, well located, keenly priced, with an outdoor pool. If our expectations had been for anything over and above this we may have been disappointed..
Read more
Response from Troy S, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Responded Oct. 31, 2018
Hi SimonandHayleyD, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the TripAdvisor community. Safe travels and kindest regards, Troy
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
The view from our room by day and by night
Living Area
Previous
Do you have 24 hr room service?
Hi VerinicaR, Thank you for your note. Unfortunately we do not have 24 hour room service anymore at our hotel. Im not aware of any hotel in town that does this either. We did add several snack type options to a mini bar menu for people travelling late. We have arranged for some of the restaurants to deliver a meal for people arriving on late flights if that assists. Kind regards and safe travels Troy
0 votes
Parking - it states limited parking or free parking nearby? Where abouts is the parking facility? Is it on the grounds of the hotel?
Sorry for late reply. Yes parking is on site but it is limited so need to book in advance
0 votes
Show all answers
I'll be staying there over Xmas for 2 weeks is there a bigger fridge as a mini bar fridge is not practical for my family
Hi Charlesw1234, Thank you for your question for your upcoming stay with us. We do have apartment styled rooms with full sized fridges in them. The best thing to do is to drop us a line here at the hotel on 0747532800 so we can confirm the room type that you has been booked for you and confirm the facilities etc. Kindest regards Troy
0 votes
Show all answers
Is parking free or is there a cost?
Hi Jazzystar, We have two options for parking, offstreet gated carparking which is free and undercover secure parking which is $15. Hope this helps. Hope to see you soon, Best regards Troy
1 vote
Can you tell me if you have wifi available? Regards Marilyn
Hi Marilyn, Happy 2015. Yes we have high speed wifi available. It is complimentary when you book direct on our website and where you will find the best prices available. Alternatively there are various paid options when booking through any other methods. With best and we hope to welcome you to the hotel soon, Kind regards Troy
1 vote
Show all answers
Previous
12
"discuss with reception they were very helpful"
"End Rooms, have better out looks"
"For the best views choose 368/369 or same on level four"
"Clean, modern and great location"
"I think all of their rooms would be fine due to their one warning and you're out policy for disruptive guests."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing