We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cathedrals on Fraser

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Cathedrals on Fraser
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Cathedrals on Fraser
 Click to rate
New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

BE WARNED THAT CATHEDRALS ON FRASER CHARGE A HEFTY $50.00 CANCELLATION FEE DESPITE CANCELLING MORE THAN 6 MONTHS BEFORE THE BOOKED ARRIVAL DATE, AND THAT THIS IMPORTANT INFORMATION IS NOT PUBLISHED AT THEIR WEBSITE. We felt compelled to cancel our booking for 2 nights accommodation at Cathedrals on Fraser after Eurong Beach Resort refused to honour an advertised deal for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeMylie
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a tent with linen provided, I thought this was fantastic and would recommend this to anyone wanting an easy getaway on Fraser. The camp kitchen was well provided also and well placed. We met many lovely people / fellow travellers here. Electric dingo fence was very reassuring. Toilet / shower block was putrid, very unimpressed with this....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NaomieandChris
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Naomi and Chris. When we took over the business 7 months ago we realised the amenity blocks were not a priority for the previous owners. We began planning for a rebuild after the September 2016 school holidays and we are finally at a stage where we can say that a complete renovation of Base Camp amenities...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Great spot for camping, spacious and shady allocation for our tent. Kiosk is well stocked and offers reasonably priced wifi with good customer service. Facilities are great offering a well equipped camp kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui R
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jacqui! Hope to see you next time. Jack and Michelle

Casino, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Quiet, large site. Plenty of shade. Loved the shop, it had everything you would need if you forgot to bring it. A bit too far to the amenities block. Will get a closer site next time. Loved the entire stay! Only one draw back was the showers were not draining and the toilets were blocked on the last day, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazbee2016
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Cathedrals on Fraser! We are sorry about the amenities being below your standard, but thank you for understanding how tricky it can be to operate on a remote island. The amenity blocks were not a priority for the previous owners, but after 6 months of planning we are finally at a...

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a built-in tent for 3 nights. This place is absolutely amazing. Had a bit of issue with neighbor's tent being excess noisy but the management quickly reacted. We just came back from our Christmas holiday in Fraiser island and we can't stop talking about how amazing the trip was. I definitely recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jinny J
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

Thanks Jinny! Glad you had a great Christmas holiday with us. Jack and Michelle

Narangba
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We had a three night stay here. Great place with kids as the dingo fence was peace of mind. Lucky we called a few days prior as they had double book us after we had requested to be close to the amenties. We were then put in overflow which was a fair walk to the amenties with young children. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebekah R
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

Glad to hear the dingo fence put your mind at ease with young kids - i'm sure our 5 month old will appreciate it when she finds her legs! We apologise for your experience with the amenities block. Rest assured it is a priority of ours and we are pleased to let you know that a complete renovation of Base...

Cairns
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Cathedrals between 11 - 15 Dec 2016 before the main holidays started. The level of knowledge and enthusiasm of the backpacker staff was poor. They showed little incentive. Despite not being the main holidsy period the ablutions were unable to cope with the traffic from a local backpacker camp. One evening a backpacker smashed a window at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WDB66
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I'm aware the amenities have been neglected by previous owners, however with new owners comes a fresh perspective. It has taken the full 7 months since we took over to plan a full rebuild of the amenities, but I am glad to let you know we will commence construction soon after the Easter...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed at Cathedrals for 7 nights in October 2016 on a powered site. our site was a good size however the dirt gets to you after a while. Walking back from the shower blocks is all dirt roads, so we never felt clean. The camping ground would benefit from ensuite sites. The shop on site is fantastic, everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eccie80
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We're coming to the realisation that although Fraser Island can support lush rainforest with huge Satinay trees, it struggles to support grass. Rest assured that with the entire site re-plumbed, i can now keep the water up to it and despite the current drought, it is looking green at the moment....

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed at Cathedrals for 3 nights (20/10/16 - 23/10/16) in one of the family tents. It was fantastic! We have our own set up but for such a short trip we opted to stay here and test it out to save packing/unpacking. Honestly could not fault anything! Tents were roomy, beds were comfy - nice little awnings to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank akummerfeld
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We love to hear from people who enjoy this place as much as we do. Hope to see you next time! Jack and Michelle

Caboolture, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Felt very welcome here accomodation was great we had permanent tents great camp kitchen pretty much all to ourselves, clean showers and toilets. Lots of room to move really enjoyed our stay, would recommend 100%.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank M
JackandMichelle1, Manager at Cathedrals on Fraser, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Frank!

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fraser Island hotels
45.0 km away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
640 reviews
51.1 km away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,136 reviews
45.5 km away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 7 in Fraser Island
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
41 reviews
24.9 km away
Sailfish on Fraser
Sailfish on Fraser
#1 of 7 in Fraser Island
83 reviews
19.4 km away
Fraser Island Beach Houses
Fraser Island Beach Houses
#2 of 4 in Fraser Island
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After 40 years in business, Cathedrals on Fraser remains true to its traditional camping roots, providing a lush and relaxing environment where you can enjoy all the natural beauty, wildlife and magic of Fraser Island without sacrificing convenience. Cathedrals offers a wide variety of on-site services and facilities including a fully stocked shop with hot food and coffees, as well as a fuel station, laundry facilities, hot showers and much more! The campground also hosts a variety of accommodation options to suit any budget, from permanently erected canvas tents, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom cabins and powered or unpowered camping sites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cathedrals on Fraser

Address: Lot 53 Fraser Island Road, Fraser Island, Queensland 4581, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedrals on Fraser 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cathedrals on Fraser staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cathedrals on Fraser staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just check how close you are to amenities if this is a concern.”
 of 5 bubbles kazbee2016, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles sue973, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This is a camp site with some cabins. Amenities are few considering number of people staying. Very rundown shower and toilet blocks.”
 of 5 bubbles kend595, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We camped on a powered sites but the hire tents and the cabins looked great”
 of 5 bubbles Fiona425, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for fire ring on your camp site”
 of 5 bubbles Chatz113, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5