We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

One&Only Hayman Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
One&Only Hayman Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for One&Only Hayman Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 823: English reviews
Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We visited this property in December of 2014 and were completely disappointed in our stay. Let me start with our arrival. We were greeted by a young gentleman who introduced himself as our butler. He quickly informed us that our room was not yet ready due to short staffing in housekeeping for check in (the time was 3:30pm). He proceeded...

 Report
Helpful?
23Thank Lisa F
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. It is disappointing to hear that your recent stay with us was less than perfect. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly, if you could please email me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Wellington, Canada
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We decided to splurge and spend a couple of nights at One&Only Haymond Resort, to cap off our holidays in the WhitSundays and Australia... Yes, it is expensive, but it was an amazing experience. Everything was taken care of and the service was excellent. The property is gorgeous and all the staff are very attentive, helpful and friendly. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PKyi
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. How wonderful that you had the opportunity to take part in the Chef’s Atelier – I’m sure that will be something you will always remember as it is truly a special experience. I look forward to your next arrival. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing...

Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate our first anniversary in an Ocean View room. This hotel is the complete package. It is total luxury. Breakfast at Pacific was good, there is a really large selection. I think that the only let down was the bacon. Being Aussie's and getting an American style bacon on home soil wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meagan C
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

It is so great to hear that you thought of our resort as ‘the perfect resort’. I really appreciate all your in-depth feedback and am happy to hear you returned from your stay very well rested. I look forward to your next stay with us. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed at the Hayman One&Only for the third time in February and it will unfortunately probably be our last time. On this trip we were in a room in the fairly recently refurbished Pool Wing. On previous occasions we had stayed in the Hayman Wing. Despite the rooms in the Pool Wing being bigger, we much prefer the Hayman...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Joanne P
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. It is disappointing to hear that your recent stay with us was not quite perfect. I would very much value the opportunity to speak with you directly, if you could kindly contact me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Reviewed 22 February 2015

My wife, 2 teenage daughters and I travelled to Australia from New Jersey for a 2-week family vacation over Christmas and New Years. One and Only Hayman Island was our 2nd of 3 stops while in Australia. We were met at Great Barrier Reef airport and brought to the One and Only Reception room while the O&O staff gathered our...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank FLNJTraveler
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for comprehensive review. While I am happy to hear you would visit us again, I do appreciate you pointing out some of the areas you felt were not as perfect in your recent experience. It is great to know that you were impressed by our poolside cabanas and your accommodation in one of our beautiful Beach Villas. I...

Reviewed 21 February 2015

Spent four nights there on vacation. I wanted to stay in a really nice place, mostly lay around the pool, explore the GBR, and relax with my wife. Check, check, check, check. Perhaps my expectations weren't as high as those of some other reviewers, but I found this to be a delightful place. And I've spent plenty of time at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James B
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review. I am very glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing time. I hope to welcome you both again in the near future. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

granite bay, ca
Reviewed 21 February 2015

The rooms were gorgeous, the towels to die for, but…the service was all over the place. In Pacific for the breakfast buffet(which is one of the best I have encountered), the service directed by Kim was perfect, while at the same time we were able to have conversation with those serving us--beautifully done. Bamboo was okay until the manager involved...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank oldsurdude
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear that you were not impressed with the service you experienced during your recent stay. I would value the opportunity to speak with you directly, if you could please contact me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights after one month between AUS and Nz. Landscape is absolutely outstanding however it's the only WOW factor. Food is absolutely nothing different from what you can eat in a good quality food court. Services is a disaster, employees always smile and always forget something. Every time we were eating you couldn't avoid asking the...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Tomás M
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would very much like to directly discuss your recent stay with you, if you would please contact me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 20 February 2015

This is a beautiful place to stay. The staff are excellent, friendly and efficient. Rooms are very well designed and large with balconies. Ours had a great ocean view. Lovely beach and pools. Restaurants good also. Hard to find fault as scenery is so good. Only downside was we were advised not to swim in sea as it was stinger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendywalsh
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay. Looking forward to your next visit. If you’d like to contact me directly, please feel free to do so by emailing general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

Being a frequent traveller (all classes and holiday types) and truly capable of differentiating, this place is a rip-off. Why are we writing the review: Warning other people, hoping to have the biggest leverage on Mngt. to change the way the place is run. We spent our money, don't waste yours. And, yes, one of the only places we havn't...

 Report
Helpful?
19Thank Fabio B
Guenter G, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review. It is disappointing to hear that your recent stay with us was less than perfect. I would very much value the opportunity to speak to you directly, if you would kindly contact me at general.manager@oneandonlyhaymanisland.com.

793 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (784)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (116)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (428)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayman Island
32.1 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
234 reviews
33.1 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,237 reviews
33.0 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.3 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
27.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
30.2 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One&Only Hayman Island, in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef presents astonishing natural beauty, restorative peace, indulgence and adventure. Australia's iconic private island resort is located off the coast of Queensland, nestled at the northernmost point of the Whitsunday archipelago, beyond verdant cliffs reaching into endless sky. Within this private island resort, stylish elegance reflects the harmony of nature with beautifully appointed accommodation set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea. Discover endless opportunities to delight the senses in a place where the beauty of nature inspires each day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about One&Only Hayman Island

Address: | Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hayman Island
Price Range: $711 - $2,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Hayman Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your One&Only Hayman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayman Great Barrier Reef Hotel Hayman Island
Hayman Island Hotel
One&Only Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and other travellers.
44 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sadly I am not sure if you can stay anymore”
 of 5 bubbles TraceyLea2013, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beach Villa was amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles ellynr709, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“our room was on the 3rd floor, great views”
 of 5 bubbles KesFrequentTraveller, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We loved our room on the second floor of the Hayman Wing.”
  • View from second floor Hayman Wing
 of 5 bubbles InTheory, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For an unforgettable experience book a room opening up onto the pool”
 of 5 bubbles DaveFaktor, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5