We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Adelaide Central YHA

PricelineUS$62*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$65*
US$62*
Great Deal
US$65*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Adelaide Central YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Adelaide Central YHA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 257: English reviews
Port Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had a large group stay at the Adelaide central YHA and it was fantastic. The staff were very helpful and the conference facilities for groups is perfect. We had full use of the conference room so our breakfasts and self catered meals were private from other guests. The rooms are clean and spacious and I would recommend this hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thomtraveller
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review - its greatly appreciate. We're really glad that you and your group had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you all in the future. From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA

Manchester, UK
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed in this hostel with my sister - we choose a private room which was on the ground floor. The staff were friendly and helpful - we arrived early but there is a luggage store so this was not a problem. Apart from staying in a YHA for 1 night about 3 years ago this was our 1st experience...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LancashireLass10_10
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying at Adelaide Central YHA and taking the time to write a review. We're really glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, great location and clean facilities - all areas of your stay we take great pride in. One of the great advantages of staying in a hostel is the communal element, giving guests the opportunity to...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hostel itself is pretty ok. When I stayed there it was fully occupied and then the 8 bed dorm got a little packed. Beds are very good though. Prices are a little over average in Adelaide, but the facilities are okay. Most of the staff is very friendly, I suppose the other person might just have had a bad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom P
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out of your travels to write a review of your stay. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and maybe we will see you again some time in the future. From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA

sydney
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great location, helpful staff, clean shared bathrooms, good showers and large rooms. The beds were amazing after a week in the outback AND the rooms have dark, thick curtains so you can sleep forever! One of the better hostels I've stayed at.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chillijam1980
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're so glad to hear you had a great, comfortable stay. All the best with the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again one day. From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Arrived 4dec for a stay of a week in a double room shared bathroom.First time in a YHA since 1963.Was apprehensive at time of booking because of my age with so many young people.I was far from the oldest,this is a place for everyone,familes, couples, as well as solo.Its safe ,well run,and quiet.With all the amenites you expext from a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Malcolm B
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi Thanks so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed all the fun folks that came for The Ashes and just wish that everyone could have been a winner! Hope that it wont be another 50 years until you stay in a YHA again. From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA

Porlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great central location for this large, well run hostal. Our double room was large. The showers were good and clean, the kitchen large and well equipped ... and heavily used. There are good common areas and the staff were friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for staying and taking the time to write a review - we're really glad you had a good stay and enjoyed our service, location and facilities. Hope to see you again in the near future. From all of us @ Adelaide Central YHA

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you are like me and came to youth hostel staying - later in life, then you are in for an absolute treat. This is my 3rd visit and I love it more and more! Why - the staff are unbelievable friendly and helpful. The facilities are very high standard in cleanliness, etc. The rooms are basic but you have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peta7777
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying at Adelaide Central YHA and then taking the time to write such a beautiful review. You have summed up all that we strive to achieve from friendly staff and clean facilities to an atmosphere that makes solo travellers and groups equally comfortable to make new friends or take time for theirselves. We look forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hostel felt clean, modern and friendly. Social areas were big and spacious and the kitchen had plenty of cooking facilities. Free pancakes every morning were also a bit hit, but make sure you get there early to avoid queueing! Staff were really helpful and location was fab. Would stay here again for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte K
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks for your review and more importantly, thanks for staying. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Happy Travels From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA

La Paz, Bolivia
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I just stayed two nights in an ensuite and would definitely stay here again. The location is superb. The common room is enormous. There are two tv rooms and an outdoor balcony that runs along the north side. The kitchen had 10 stoves and at least a half dozen sinks, more than enough for the size of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdventurePhiles
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property - we're so glad you had a great stay and enjoyed all that we offer. We pride ourselves on not only providing modern, clean, comfortable & affordable accommodation but a great experience as well - something you can only get when you have the opportunity to meet...

Perth
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great hostel, recommended for a comfortable stay. Staff are friendly. It was a really relaxed kind of place, the rules were very reasonable. The room was pretty clean, a good size and had all the essentials. Bathrooms were also pretty clean. The hostel is pretty easily accessible by public transport if you are coming from the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FikaS
AdelaideCentral, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Central YHA, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks very much for your kind comments. We hope you have fun with all your future travels and we look forward to seeing you here again sometime soon. From all of us at Adelaide Central YHA

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.9 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,198 reviews
0.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.3 km away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
2,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,020 reviews
0.5 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
867 reviews
1.2 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NOW FREE AT ADELAIDE'S FAVOURITE BACKPACKER HOSTEL • Wifi Hotspot - that's right, we've got free Wifi for all of our guests • Pancakes on Monday and Friday mornings • Cool activities - ping pong competitions, city walks, pub nights and more • Lovely white linen for you bed • Luggage storage Adelaide's coolest backpacker hostel is just a short walk to the city's favourite markets, hip bars, shopping areas with easy access to the nearby hills, beaches and wine districts. Save money and make new friends in a multishare room or relax in the privacy of your own (newly renovated) private twin, double or family room - all ensuite rooms now include TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Cook for yourself in the well set up kitchen or head out and see why Adelaide has an amazing reputation for food and wine. The huge, well designed lounge, dining and social area overlooks a beautiful park making it one of the best locations in the city. Adelaide Central YHA's friendly, helpful staff are very keen to help you have the best time possible in this city known as rAdelaide and can also assist you with your tour and travel bookings beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adelaide Central YHA

Address: 135 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: $34 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Central Yha Hotel Adelaide
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adelaide Central YHA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Adelaide Central YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Coffee shop across the road does a great brekfast”
alans141, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed ground floor ,southern room near the car-park. Very quiet, very nice!”
kjo09026, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Safe and convient location.”
711cherylp, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have YHA membership you get 10% discounts..”
265amitg, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“1st floor has the common room, I would probably recommend 2nd floor for more tranquility.”
Y9553WJguillaumeb, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$62* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$65
TravelocityUS$65
Orbitz.comUS$65
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates