We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Opal Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Opal Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Opal Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We were greeted with a lovely warm and friendly smile. We have stayed here before and it is just as good today as a few years ago. Food is very tasty and staff are great. Room is very spacious and Air con worked very well. For an older style hotel, this is a diamond in the rough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amgood2015
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Hi amgood2015 Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. As with the last review I recently responded to, we adopt a "Team Spirit" environment and so the glory will be shared with the other departments who helped to ensure you had a great stay. Hopefully it's not too long before we see you this way...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, all amenities working ok, A/C is functional and quiet. Best part is a huge room with a double bed, single bed and a sofa for the two of us. Wifi is working fine and the ground floor is cool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasa G
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Hi Natasa G Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review. I'm glad that your stay with us was comfortable. Hopefully it's not too long before we see you this way again. Warm regards Ashley - Front Office Manager

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the caravan park here on our way to Uluru & found it more than adequate for our needs. Lovely staff, clean amenities & very reasonably priced. 20 cents for a 4 minute shower is very reasonable. Take the advice of the locals & make sure you secure all of your belongings safely. (Although we always do). On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MyOwnOpinion21
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Hi MyOwnOpinion21 Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's good to see that you stayed with us not once, but twice. It means we're doing something right. I hope the rest of your travels are wonderful, and I look forward to seeing you the next time you find yourself out this way. Warm regards Ashley...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Arrived late in afternoon and was given the last room available. Thanks for that. The room was clean, the bed comfortable shower was OK but the air conditioner seemed to take most of the night to cool the room down but it was hot 44 degrees with the sun shining directly on the back wall of the room when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Hi Geoff Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would've only gladly come to have a look at the Air Conditioner for you to double check the settings etc. so you could've had a more pleasant/comfortable experience. I'm sorry to see that your dining experience wasn't the best either. We usually get great reviews on our...

Emu Park, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We had a powered site and our family had a motel unit. Everything was excellent. The room was clean and well maintained. The amenities block again were of a high standard. The staff were amazing. It didn't matter who you spoke to you received a friendly helpful reply. Receptionist super efficient and always had a smile for you. The resturant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Hi Pamela Firstly, my apologies for the delay in responding (unfortunately, it makes us look less efficient now). But I appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review. I will be sure to pass this on to the rest of the team as I'm sure they'd love this feedback as much as I do. Hopefully it's not...

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We have eaten here over the last 2 months and cant get enough. The food is Fantastic, there is definitely love in that kitchen. We have tried almost the whole menu. 5 star and Great work Anthony and staff. Tony & Linda Desertview Motel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tony & Linda Thank you so much for your kind review. The passion and love that the Kitchen team inject into their work is certainly something I noticed when I first arrived, and I'm glad it's noticed by our valued customers. You mentioned that you've tried nearly everything on the menu: what's your favourite dish? Thanks again for taking...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

It was late and we were tired. It was the only place open that had the cheapest room available but still pricey for what it was. We had a ground floor unit. Bed was uncomfortably, shower just dribbled out. Couldn't wait to leave the next morning. Didn't have a good feel about it Rooms were clean and plenty of parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank microlights
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I'm sorry to see that it wasn't a pleasant one for you. I'll investigate the issue with the shower. It may have been a problem we resolved while you were here so that you could've enjoyed your stay more. Coober Pedy does have...

Warragul, VIC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after coming out of the desert after 6 days of travel. Reception was friendly and helpful. Received discounts for hotel meals and drinks card. Rooms clean and a quite night sleep. Very comfortable with a large room for reasonable price. Washed clothes at caravan park which is part of same complex.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whistle007
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon whistle007 Thank you for your nice review. Our team works hard to not only provide clean facilities, but also great service to all our valued guests. I'm glad to see that we have done that for you. Hopefully it's not too long before we see you again here at Opal Inn. Kind regards Ashley - Front Office Manager

Adelaide
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Checked in after a very long drive from Adelaide. Staff pleasant and helpful and room basic but clean. Food was absolutely delicious and fresh in the Bistro, would highly recommend dining there. We were just passing through on our way to Darwin but struggled to find anything to do in Coober Pedy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne A
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jayne A Thank you for taking the time to leave a pleasant review. We often get positive feedback regarding our food and I've noticed that our Kitchen team certainly put passion in their work. Coober Pedy has a number of gems to explore (no pun intended). I'm not sure what time or date you arrived, but perhaps it...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Thank you for making such an effort to be organised and efficient on such a hectic afternoon of the storm. Ashley was so polite and helpfull. Such an asset to this company. Keep up the great work...made my day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
Ashley M, Front Office Manager at Opal Inn, responded to this review

Hi Vicki M Well... This has made MY day. Thank you so much for your brilliant feedback. I'm glad that I could help you. I might just pass this on to my bosses... Maybe I might get a little Christmas bonus? :-) Hopefully it's not too long before you're out this way again. It'll be great to be able to...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.5 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
176 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.5 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
239 reviews
1.4 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.4 km away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is located in the middle of the town of Coober Pedy in the heart of outback South Australia. It is a unique town with underground homes, restaurants, shops, churches and walk-in underground mines. Alice Springs is around 680 km away, and Adelaide is some 850 km away. This 80-room hotel is a popular destination in Coober Pedy, tourists come here, as much to holiday as to explore why this town is so famous amongst gemstone lovers. The air-conditioned hotel includes a lobby, bar, restaurant and conference facilities. Free car parking and free wifi is available to guests. The hotel offers a host of rooms and facilities for its various guests. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and feature with reverse cycle air conditioning systems and modern amenities, including a hairdryer, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Guests can have pre-dinner drinks at the bar and later dine at the in-house restaurant, the in-house kitchen can provide you with a sumptuous breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Opal Inn

Address: Lot 1 Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Price Range: $136 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Opal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Opal Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Opal Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We asked for a ground floor unit, makes it easier to lug the luggage, esky, etc.”
amgood2015, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try a language other than english on the lad at reception if you want something”
Deajavoo, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Away from the car park and bar!”
katie10590, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms more convenient if you have luggage as there are quite a few stairs to the upper level.”
rozf758, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“away from the access road to the caravan park is a good choice”
GraemeE129, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5