We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Altamont House

109 Patrick St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000 Australia See on map
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Refrigerator in room
Number of rooms
Price range
US$2 - US$4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Altamont House Hobart, Tasmania
Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 11 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018

While this B&B lies on a steep road & a little hard to get in & out of the atmosphere inside is quite unique. Located under the main house the stone walls are a feature. Large open living space with all that is needed supplied...More

Thank John N
Response from Nicky F, Owner at Altamont HouseResponded March 28, 2018

Thanks John for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again sometime soon.

Reviewed March 23, 2016

Upon arrival we were greeted by a strong chemical smell and despite the spacious rooms & lovely furnishings we did not stay more than an hour. You can't open windows at night while sleeping without compromising security. I couldn't stay closed up in my room...More

Thank Ros W
Response from Nicky F, Owner at Altamont HouseResponded March 25, 2016

This was an unfortunate circumstance for us all as the smell has not been reported by any previous guests. I did refund 50% of the reservation. To read other reviews from guests that stayed before and after this guest please go to www.airbnb.com.au/rooms/5353814

Reviewed January 26, 2016

Altamont House is a beautiful historical property in a good location, just out of central Hobart. From the outside the house is gracious with her old world charm and lace work around the veranda, however upon entering the premises you meet modern contemporary living, mixed...More

Thank Opal1269
Response from Nicky F, Owner at Altamont HouseResponded January 27, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize for not dropping in during your stay. As our guests are on holidays we do not like to intrude. We like to let the guest determine the amount of interaction with us. It...More

Reviewed October 25, 2015

Well what can we say, this place was truly amazing, if we could give it ten out of ten we would, everything you need has been thought of, beautiful comfy beds, beautiful linens, pillows, extra pillows, extra everything, great continental breakfast, and the owners do...More

3  Thank Dianne L
Reviewed September 5, 2015

We spent two nights here at the end of our trip to Tasmania. Although it's called a B&B you in effect have the bottom floor of a huge old house, with oversized living / dining area, huge bedroom and a bathroom with freestanding bath and...More

Thank so3003
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Altamont House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing