We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Hotel Hobart

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Hotel Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 649: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at Rydges. Staff were friendly and made us aware early on that the place was being refurbished, so could overlook the decor. We found it clean regardless. The kids enjoyed the pool. and the buffet breakfast was really nice. Only criticism was that we had booked online and reception staff weren't aware of the online...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneyCritic00
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is located within 5 minutes of the major highway into Hobart so it is to easy access when driving from Launceston. The staff at the reception and bar are welcoming and helpful and finding the room was easy. The room is spacious and well equipped and very comfortable, and WiFi is included with our stay. We haven't checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ol55Gezza
L'aldosa, Andorra
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I don't like to write bad reviews, but after stay in Rydges Kalgoorlie (that was excellent), I booked in Rydges Hobart waiting to find the same quality.....but it wasn't. The hotel and specially the rooms need a refurbishment. The room smelt musty and old (could have put an air freshener), the decor was outdated and the kitchen was quite dirty,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krafla
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear guest, as the former general manager who has moved from kalgoorlie to Hobart it nice to hear kalgoorlie met your expectations we worked very had to make it great and Hobart will be too. I arrived a few months ago to run the hotel through its refurbishment and transform this old Hotel into a great property. The hotel is...

Canberra
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Check in was smooth, despite the chap at reception making sure everyone knew how rubbish his day had been. Room was nice, apart from the fact there was a common walkway outside the window, and no blinds / curtains to close... Here is my big gripe...rydges Hobart has no, yep ZERO food available on Sunday. No room service, no bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 399dawnycat
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review, a couple of rooms are waiting for new blinds and curtains to arrive, we do apologize, its not far away. Sunday no food, yes your correct we do advertise it, each room has a mini bar with food in it but our restaurant is closed from 2pm. It is just Sunday we are...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

They were nice enough to call me at the airport and ask if we are on the way, and reception stayed back till we checked in. There were complementary Magazines as well which i loved! So i was initially disappointed to walk in and find that the cups in the kitchen were not clean and the conditioner in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farnaz A
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Farnaz, Thanks you for letting everyone know about your stay. I'm glad the plane was not delayed getting in. Taxi can be hard to come by towards the end of the night from the airport just for anyone else to take note!. I will have the cups looks at and sorry that they had marks. Your feed back is...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the perfect hotel for our trip. After all day trips and tours, it was wonderful to come back and relax in our comfortable room. The staff was amazing and took care of us beyond the call of duty. It may not be the most contemporary hotel, but it was clean, comfortable and a wonderful place to spend our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris T
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Kris, Always nice to come back to a room clean and comfortable , Hobart / Tasmania can be very full on!, their is just so much to do! We are glad you enjoyed the exploring. Our hotel is well position to do so. Thanks again for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Nicholas General...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We looked at reviews before booking and they were mixed but in saying that yes it is a older style place but for the money it was clean tidy and staff were pleasant. It was quite a quirky style room with old furniture and fittings and if that is what you like this is for you. Plenty of parking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linman001
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Linman, Thank you for your review of the hotel, we do have a old property and we are good value and we really appreciate your honestly our other guest reading this will appreciate that the value is their. Our 42 square meter rooms are large have views and in 5 month be totally renovated, how exciting is this! great...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful but the rooms weren't as clean as they could be and extremely out dated. Kids loved the pool, sparkling clean everyday and gardens well maintained. Definitely won't be returning. Even great staff can't compensate for poor guestrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Deb, R, I am sorry to hear that you had a nice time but our rooms which are soon to be renovated had deterred you to comeback. I hope we can change this as the new rooms are coming on well and we hope that you would reconsider. As the only hotel to have a outside pool and gardens...

Noosaville, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As we were visiting family in Tasmania, my wife and I had the Christmas Day buffet at the hotel (although we were not staying). There was a staggered arrival time (avoiding bunching of arrivals) and that seemed to work well. Our table had a view out across the Oval and towards the city and the dining room had a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobinLeChaudLapin
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear RobinLeChaudLapin Firstly thank you for coming and enjoying the Christmas Day lunch. It was a wonderful family fun day and glad that the day went smoothly and as expected. The Tasmanian food in all its glory was on display and was great to see everyone enjoying it. Hope to see you again next year. Regards Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have booked 3 nights in the Rydges north Hobart over NYE. On the website it shows photos of newly renovated rooms, we arrived to find we are staying in a room with very dated decor, a smell of damp and a bathroom with cracked tiles, dirt and mould in the grout. A bar fridge that leaks and an overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
nicholas p, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Tim, I am unfortunately going to have to correct your here. No images of new hotel rooms or the like are on the website, this is 100% accurate. Room description have not yet been confirmed and added to the website either. The rooms are older and yes they are being refurbished. We have 9 completed and just about to...

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.1 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
4.3 km away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 45 in Hobart
840 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 45 in Hobart
1,154 reviews
2.0 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#31 of 45 in Hobart
120 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart
#18 of 45 in Hobart
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $112 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Hotel Hobart staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rydges Hotel Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check before booking if the rooms have been refurbish”
 of 5 bubbles Krafla, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The configuration of the rooms vary greatly. A call to the hotel will help you find just the right one.”
 of 5 bubbles joanw431, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Kids will love the pull down bed in the superior rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Leesey_32, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be the same.”
 of 5 bubbles GSKTB, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The suite was so big took a while for the room to get warmed up”
 of 5 bubbles skulasin, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay