We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 642: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2014

the building and room looked absolutely tired. half of the lights were broken. aircon made squeaky noises all night. has no microwave or toaster (ok they must have stated so but for a room that charges you 230 per night i think that doesn't justify). parking costs extra. view from balcony was poor.charged my credit card twice (agreed to refund...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yi L
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Yi L, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we will be investigating the issues you have raised. Unfortunately our hands are tied with regards to the provision of toasters and microwaves as the local council does not allow any form of cooking in our rooms. However, we do have a very popular restaurant open...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2014

My wife and I travelled to Hobart for the weekend for a family wedding and had a terrific experience at the Best Western Hobart. All the staff at reception were fantastic, especially Karen M. I had an issue with my booking and almost ended up with out accommodation for the weekend thanks to booking through Otel.com, who were were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Simon P, Thank you for that lovely review. Our team will always go out of their way to sort out any problems that our guests encounter and I am pleased that you were able to see this for yourself. We look forward to getting that (direct) booking next time you need to be in Hobart. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Adelaide
Reviewed 15 November 2014

I stayed here recently for two nights while working in Hobart, and had stayed on one other occasion a few years ago while still being managed by Accor. The negatives with this hotel are that it is a little out of the way (by comparison with other hotels closer to the dock area) and it is feeling a little old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozvpm_andy
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear ozvpm_andy, Thank you for giving us your views and I'm very happy that you will be able to recommend us to others visiting beautiful Hobart, Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2014

The stay at Best Western was enjoyable the room was nice and big and the shower worked well.The location was good the only down side is the external appearance and the room decor . They both looked tired and outdated.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Jessica R, Thank you for the review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

Pleasant staff, fairly well kitted out gym (for a motel!), and a nicely appointed conference room. The accommodation itself is lovely. Soft comfy beds with great quality linen and clean bathrooms, what more do you need :) Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missfoxtrot88
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear missfoxtrot88, I am very pleased that you were so happy with your stay; many thanks for the kind words. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with two young boys in tow. King size bed was amazing! So soft and lovely linen! Separate tv for kids and grown ups. Buffet breakfast was really nice, refurbished room with the exception of the bath/shower but so much nicer than you may expect from the exterior alone. Absolutely enjoyed our stay. Friendly accommodating staff made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan-VicAustralia
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Megan-VicAustralia, My team very much welcomes those compliments and I hope we may be seeing you and your children again sometime soon. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Ruse, Bulgaria
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Spent one night and 2 days later 3 nights. Having special needs the hotel was very accommodating and satisfied all our needs. Great 2 bedroom apartment, well appointed and presented. Staff were great with a 5 star dining. Great food great services. Close to everything and not far from anything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Auzziem
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Auzziem, We do our very best to accommodate all special requirements that our guests need and It’s great to know we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Come back again sometime. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014

The Best Western hotel is what you expect, a good clean room with a decent place to grab something to eat ( pizza) , bar, car parking( $10 a day) and room service. However the staff were very friendly and helpful so hats off to all of you. The beds were good although we had two single beds and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zitaaussiemum
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear zitaaussiemum, Thank you for the review. I am glad you found us to be good value even though we are so close to the waterfront and that the staff, your room and our restaurant all helped contribute to a nice stay. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2014 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel as part of a large group. First impression was outside was old. Proceed to check in and as with all hotels money is spent on reception and foyer to look impressive. Check in and get to room and it's only just. Balcony door would not lock but since we were on the 4th floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Sandy H, We appreciate your frank comments. We have completed the total refurbishment of our large lobby and restaurant/bar area and our renovations to the rooms are still in progress. I hope you might try us again so you can see the ongoing improvement. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

hobart, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2014

great room service and location, not being able to make own breakfast e.g toast was a bummer but if you can afford it the breakfast in the restraunt was fantastic. would stay again with out the kids lol

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christie B
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Christie B, I am glad you enjoyed your weekend of peace. Come back again sometime (with or without the kids). Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
0.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#11 of 46 in Hobart
1,066 reviews
0.4 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $142 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Du Quoin, Illinois
GRANDE CACHE
over a year ago
6 months ago
Hastings, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles eleonordonnelly, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
  • Carpet repair
  • Rotting door
 of 5 bubbles kenmN9734YI, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the south west end (Barrack St) for quieter rooms, as Harrington St (north east) has much more traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles kepsimax, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for something that has had an upgrade done”
 of 5 bubbles 81darryla, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cracked basin should be fixed”
 of 5 bubbles barbarahO9501IY, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5