We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 641: English reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were given the wrong room cards three times!!! After repeated returns from our room to reception, finally staff came and opened the room with the main key card. We were then told to wait in the room with no cards so we couldn't leave. However upon entering the room it was discovered to be the wrong room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fluceb
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear wooza, I am so sorry you encountered some problems. We were having major problems with our keycards on the weekend you stayed. The issue is now fixed but we are so sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We have also taken your other comments on board and we have discussed them with our team in an effort to...

zoe17
Reviewed 3 November 2014

The location was near the Sunday market and very convenient. The rooms were average size and OK. Their minibar snacks were displayed as though they were complimentary - beware! I appreciated the complimentary computer for guest use. What I disliked about the hotel is that friends left messages once or twice and the hotel did not give me the initial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoe17
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Zoe17, I am glad our location suited you but I would like to apologise most sincerely if we did not deliver phone messages to you. I will be speaking to our lobby team to make sure this type of thing does not reoccur. Thank you for alerting us to this. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2014

The staff and facilities were fantastic for our Hobart short stay. Great central location, safe, secure and facilities. The room on the 5th floor needs a facelift, just to freshen it up and make sure everything was working (bedside clock) and locked and unlocked (balcony door). Hot chocolate sachets with the coffee would have been a nice touch as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MB3146
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear MB3146, I am pleased you had a good stay and thank you for those suggestions which we have taken on board. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 1 November 2014 via mobile

We took a punt on a 4 star secret hotel deal through wotif. Wow is this NOT a four star hotel. It is noisy (street noise), extremely outdated, not sound proof, and has not a touch of luxury about it. The bathroom looks awful. Water went everywhere while using the shower. The toilet is so old it doesn't even have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrea S
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Andrea S, I am so sorry you did not like your room. If you had reported this to us we would have been more than happy to let you try another suite. We are 4 Star Rated as determined by the independent Star Ratings organisation (formerly AAA Tourism). Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2014

location matters - best western hobart was a good hotel central to everything. the room was all you needed - clean, tidy, simple. great service from most not all of the staff. i don't believe in using this channel to provide feedback about an individual's particular performance though. there's always two sides to the story, overall - had a great...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha K
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Samantha K, It's good to hear we were able to give you what you needed. Come back when you are next in Hobart. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2014

October 14-19th 2014..Stayed in an Executive King Room which looked like it had been recently refurbished...very clean and comfortable overlooked Mt.Wellington...The Front Desk Staff were very friendly on arrival and were only too happy to help with any information asked of them...The Hotel is situated in a great spot and only walking distance to CBD and Wharf....Breakfast was great and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosebond
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Rosebond, We have been doing plenty of renovations in recent months and I am glad you enjoyed the improvements and all the other aspects of your stay that you enjoyed so much. Thank you for the kind words. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Best Western Hobart. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Quiet area, a short walk to the Salamanca Markets and great eateries. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was delicious. Will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damien R
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Damien R, I am very pleased that we now have another enthusiastic regular guest. Be seeing you soon I hope. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 25 October 2014

Right in the centre of Hobart CBD, close to many restaurants and the Hobart waterfront. Hotel was extremely clean, and the checkin process efficient and friendly. The cost of the room was quite economical compared to others in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sulzber
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear sulzber, Thank you for those kind words. It's great that you have joined our long list of happy guests. Come back soon. Kind regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

We were recently down in Tasmania for a wedding and myself, my husband and his parents booked a suite to stay. The outside of this hotel caused a moments hesitation but inside was very well decorated. Our room was spacious and the beds comfy. Everything was clean and in working order. Breakfast was included in our room rate and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mjen6724
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Mjen6724, I hope you enjoyed the wedding and it’s great to read that we provided a great base for you in Hobart. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

Located close to CBD and near to Salamanca/Waterfront too. Spotless room, modern furnishings and the MOST comfortable beds. Bar & restaurant on site and great room service menu- did not try but other patrons seemed to be enjoying themselves. Staff were professional and pretty nice to deal with at check in/out. Great deal on wotif secret sale! Only (small) downside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bambi_travels
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear bambi_travels, Our fab new beds are really popular with everyone who stays here; I’m glad you got a great night’s sleep. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.0 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.9 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
2.4 km away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#14 of 46 in Hobart
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $141 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Du Quoin, Illinois
GRANDE CACHE
over a year ago
6 months ago
Hastings, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles eleonordonnelly, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
  • Carpet repair
  • Rotting door
 of 5 bubbles kenmN9734YI, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the south west end (Barrack St) for quieter rooms, as Harrington St (north east) has much more traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles kepsimax, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for something that has had an upgrade done”
 of 5 bubbles 81darryla, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cracked basin should be fixed”
 of 5 bubbles barbarahO9501IY, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5