We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lenna of Hobart

Show Prices
#10 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lenna of Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lenna of Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 462: English reviews
Logan City, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We have stayed here three times over the past two decades, and the Lenna still has a unique atmosphere, which makes you feel special. Location is excellent for visiting Salamanca Place and the CBD. Room size was good, staff very friendly and helpful, and we could not fault anything, except the toilet paper which has to be the cheapest, thinnest,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Mike E, Great to have you back with us and thanks for the great review. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location at the end of Salamanca Place and I am glad we were still able to make you feel special. Thanks for your comments on the toilet paper and something we will look into. Look...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We stayed here for one night on the day we arrived in Hobart. The hotel is a grand old mansion with a more modern and yet somewhat dated accommodation building next door. The mansion houses the reception and offices together with a bar and a dining room. As we arrived at about 8.30 pm we were looking for something to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Brian D, Thank you very much for you review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the "Elegant and Comfortable" Lenna of Hobart. We do offer a limited food and beverage service in the hotel. We offer breakfast from 6am - 10am and dinner in our Chandelier Lounge Bar from 5pm-9pm (room service is also available during...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Lenna last year and loved it so stayed again this year while visiting Tasmania with relatives from UK. Location perfect for Salamanca Place and square and the tourist harbour area. Staff cheerful and efficient, rooms well appointed and clean. Certainly would stay here again. Free Wi Fi and free car parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Patricia F, Thank you for your review and great to have you back again! We certainly do have a fabulous location just a stones throw from Salamanca Place and the waterfront and a short walk to the CBD. Thank you for your comments on our team. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful team looking after all...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The Lenna generally has very poor sound insulation thus the lift, banging doors, the noises of neighbours (going to the bathroom, coughing) etc can be heard quiet loudly at night. In addition when late checkin neighbours upstairs in a penthouse were making a racket at 10.30 pm and extra beds were being wheeled in, furniture moved, suitcases wheeled, kids running...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anabellerberil
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear anabellerberil, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that you found the hotel to be noisy. I believe you stayed for a number of nights and I am sorry we were not made aware of this whilst you were staying with us as we would have done everything possible to resolve this. My apologies also for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Reasons you should book this hotel: - Location was great, right near all the restaurant's, bars and harbour. - The rooms were nicely presented and in particular had modern bathroom. - They also provide a reasonable amount of free WIFI. - The room had plenty of power points. - My husband made a note on the booking that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADVBP
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear ADVP, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry for the confusion with your rate and I hope the below clarifies this more clearly for you. Hotels (like airlines) work on dynamic pricing which changes constantly with demand. When you make the booking you are agreeing to the advertised price at that time. If you are able...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2017

The mansion has a remarkable history and is home to reception, administration offices , reception room for drinks and a restaurant and has rooms for conference and larger receptions. Accommodation is attached in the purpose built attached complex that has been sympathetically constructed to compliment the grand architecture of the mansion. The rooms are modern and have everything you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Joanne, Thank you for your fabulous review and great to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are very fortunate to have such a lovely building with amazing history to share with our guests. Our accommodation building was added 100 years after the original Lenna mansion was built and I am glad you enjoyed our rooms. We look forward...

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our 15th wedding anniversary over an extended long weekend and loved the location. So close to everything, Salamanca Market, Hobart Pier, Mona Ferry, restaurants and all you could ever need. We didn't even need the car!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Tracey M, Thank you very much for your feedback and congratulations on your 15th Wedding Anniversary. Great to see you made the most of our fabulous location. You're right that you don't need a car but if you do bring one we even provide complimentary parking! Hopefully we will see you back again for another significant milestone. Kind Regards...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We were very disappointed on checking in at The Lenna. The images on the internet do not depict accurately the rooms. Our room was dusty and looked tired. For starters the carpet needs replacing. Servicing of the rooms is poor. On one occasion our bathroom was not touched by the cleaning maids. In addition we were left without clean towels....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mel S
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Mel S, Thank you very much for your review and my sincere apologies you were disappointed with your stay. I am sorry that our housekeeping did not appear up to standard. This is an area we normally receive very positive feedback on and I will certainly address your comments with our Executive Housekeeper. If you could please make contact...

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in this antique, classic, beautiful hotel in the end of Jan. You would fall in love with the first sight! The room was considered average in size . My wife loved it the most was the spacious luggage rack good to place 2 open luggages on it. The breakfast was ordinary , as the matter of fact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 659waikitc
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear 659waikitc, Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments with regards to housekeeping and breakfast and we are always looking at ways to improve. Glad you enjoyed the "Beautiful Hotel!". Kind Regards Justin

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

While the location is great and the original Lenna building is lovely there are no guest rooms there. These are in a more recent "besser block" buidling connected via a bridged corridor (and stairs). The rooms are more like those of a motel rather than hotel being cold, bland and stark not in keeping with the Lenna heritage and style....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csydney1971
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review

Dear csydney1971 Thank you very much for your review. My sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay at Lenna of Hobart The Lenna mansion was built in 1874 and our accommodation wing was added 100 years later. They certainly are very different buildings and I am sorry you didn't enjoy the style of the accommodation building. We do...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.8 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.1 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 46 in Hobart
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: $179 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lenna of Hobart staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Lenna of Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem to be good”
 of 5 bubbles 872tonym, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request harbour facing penthouse.....if you can afford it.”
 of 5 bubbles VillasdeVine, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with view of park and water.”
 of 5 bubbles shyamala84, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors are best”
 of 5 bubbles anabellerberil, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in the lower section of the hotel. It appears to be a cheap reno on an old motel.”
 of 5 bubbles 896mels, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5