We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Art Series - The Blackman

Save
Traveller (600)
Room & Suite (527)
Storyboard
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“st kilda”(201 reviews)
“french cafe”(61 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Fitness centre
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Art Series - The Blackman
Hotel deals
Offers from Art Series - The Blackman
Hotel deals
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,424)
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Blackman
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,383 results
Traveller rating
1,538
613
157
45
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,538
613
157
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst kildafrench cafedeluxe studio suitealbert parkdepot de painrestaurants downstairssmart cartram stopsmall kitchenettebotanical gardensloved this hotelthe ground floorchapel streetmini barspa bathcomfortable bedmodern hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
871 - 875 of 2,383 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

This place is great value for money, and the rooms are very impressive and the service is first class. The only drawback is the location. It's slightly out of the way. Loved the art though! Rather close to Saint Kilda are not too far from...More

Thank Rickgleave
Reviewed November 4, 2015 via mobile

We had an enjoyable time in Melbourne. I would highly recommend The Blackman to my friends. The great staff make this hotel special, they seem to recognise what guests need and create a sense that each guest is being treated as an individual, nothing was...More

Thank joyce0521
Reviewed November 2, 2015

Converted apartments, or long stays with built-in kitchen with all necessary facilities in the apartment. "Art" - yes lots of it everywhere, but for business traveler I am not sure this is what makes the experience any better and nicer. Limited serviced breakfast options.More

Thank MNK666
Response from NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The BlackmanResponded November 19, 2015

Thank you for offering us your feedback. We are disappointed that The Blackman did not appeal to your tastes, but understand that people can be indifferent towards art. Our hotel was built from the ground up and are not converted apartments. We believe that the...More

Reviewed October 31, 2015

I travelled to Melbourne from NZ for the first time in Oct 15 for two nights. My company had booked me into The Blackman Hotel, which was within walking distance to our office. Being located on St Kilda Rd is brilliant, close to the CBD...More

Thank tashaching
Response from NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The BlackmanResponded November 22, 2015

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay for business. We are sure that when you return with the family that they will also enjoy The Blackman. Comments such as yours will be appreciated by other travellers. We look...More

Reviewed October 30, 2015

My husbai and I stayed there, he was going to be working while I would take advantage of the city. At first I have to say I was bummed about the location, however after getting to know the city a little better, the location is...More

Thank I-H-FM
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$119 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$119 - US$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (600)
Room & Suite (527)
Dining (31)
Pool & Beach (2)
Amenities (9)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lisa g
December 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Matt H | Reviewed this property |
Hey Lisa, I stayed at the Blackman at the end of October of this year. I was originally placed at the rear of the hotel from the main entrance. As mentioned in one of the earlier replies, the new building being erected is... More
1
Vote
mai_w_www
October 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Marycalvert10 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it starts about 6:30 AN. I happened to be on the 5th floor and woke up to guys in my window. If I had only been warned and was able to shut the blinds. Just ask for a room that does not face it.
1
Vote
CharlotteT1411
October 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from E H | Reviewed this property |
Always like a hotel room/apartment with a balcony and Blackman was great having views of the bay. Hopefully the construction of the building next door is now completed but when we were there in May this year, it wasn't a... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Choose a room facing the river front & top floor,"
Read review
"We enjoyed the views overlooking the water"
Read review
"Rooms facing St Kilda Road will be closest to traffic noise"
Read review
"Room 1017 nice view to lake on the right--beware office block right in front of windows"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing