We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,378: English reviews
Start your review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
 Click to rate
PhnomPenh
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed 2 nights for work. The good - excellent staff on the front desk. Fast efficient and friendly check-in, helpful with questions - comfy and clean bed with spacious hotel room layout with proper couch and desk To be improved (photos of both) - cleaning of bathroom. 5 hairs in the bath when I arrived and a dirty hand towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhnomPenhRose
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear PhnomPenhRose, Thank you for your recent patronage. I am sorry to read that we did not tick all the boxes during your stay but appreciate you mentioning our team’s friendly & helpful attitude. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you for providing a review. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel through Orbitz and while it clearly stated there were no refunds, I don't think this is a good way to get back recurring customers. Our flight to Melbourne was cancelled due to seemingly no reason at all, and the hotel wouldn't refund me for the night we weren't even there. This hotel is also located on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wicket29
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear wicket29, Thank you for sharing your feedback again on this forum. I have responded to your feedback previously and can see only 1 valet parking charged. As for the no refund for the cancellation, it's clearly stated on the terms & conditions of the booking, and if it's due to your flight being cancelled, then you should lodge it...

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at this hotel with a great view of the harbour. Staff friendly and efficient. Room neat and clean with decent sized bathroom. Guest laundry quite expensive. Had a group evening meal in the restaurant - the service was not good - sat down at 6 p.m. And the main course did not arrive until about 8 p.m. Their excuse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Len P
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Len P, Thank you very much for your time in providing a review. Sincere apologies for your dining experience and rest assured that I have addressed your valid concerns to our Executive Chef for his urgent attention. We hope that we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was a last minute trip and everything was rushed to get away. it was lovely to arrive at the hotel and have valet parking and easy check in. staff were very accomodating. centrally located easy to get around

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueH1959
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear SueH1959, Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience after your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location on Swanson St near Little Bourke St. We stayed in a room with two queen sized beds, perfect for our family of 3. The rooms were a good size. Unfortunately the beds a little uncomfortable and the pillows were hard and lumpy. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra m
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear sandra m, Thank you for your recent patronage. I am sorry to read that we did not tick all the boxes during your stay. Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you again for providing a review and your recommendation for short-stayers. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Apollo Bay, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for my husband's birthday. We stay there or Mecure Welcome quite a bit, just love the location. Blake at reception was very good with our check in and check out. The Lounden is a very cozy place for a drink or casual meal, love the atmosphere and Ian was very helpful with his service.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elska C
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Elska C, Thank you for the review. How great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to see you again and for you to enjoy another comfortable stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel room is tired and starting to look old. Bed was comfortable. The hotel is in the midst of shopping area and there lots of restaurants outside the hotel. I rated the hotel 3 stars because of the toilet's layout - take a look at the photo. There is no partition between the shower area and rest of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ayql28
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Ayql28, Thank you for being positive in what we do well and for bringing to our attention what we can improve on. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were greeted by Marcus at reception when checking in he was very friendly and professional as well we enjoyed all hotel had to offer including pool on level 15 and bar in hotel and restaurant for breakfast in the morning all staff did a great job I work in hotel myself so I know how hard they work behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Natasha W, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased your night away over Easter was enhanced by our friendly and helpful staff, in particular Marcus. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay here in the middle of the city, you are close to everything. Comedy festival, Hamer Hall and the NGV. Plus close to various types of food. The hotel was clean and inviting, you could not as for too much more. If there was a let down it was parking the car a block away, but you do have valet...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Mark W, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Very pleased to read that you enjoy the benefits of being so conveniently located in the heart of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Bega, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location of this hotel is amazing being right in the middle of shopping. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They were accomodating when we requested a certain room that we had really liked last time. Very pleasing.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 48Belly51
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear 48Belly51, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are happy to read that we were able to accommodate your request. We thank you gain for your return visits and we look forward to your next one. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
4,118 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $148 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms overlooking the main street areas as noise levels well into the night are very high.”
272chrisw, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your own pillow unless you like very firm pillows”
SuzyG529, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go for a high room to avoid the street noise”
Sonnie_dee, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can stay clear of the south side of the building as you all the buskers music and singing from the Bourke Street Mall.”
chunkyknees, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room above the 8th floor, rooms on the West side are quieter”
Adamant_About_Travel, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5