We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,335: English reviews
sydney
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed just couple night. The greatest thing about the Mercure is its location- Swanson st. Unfortunately rooms are small. I can say anything about food. We prefer to eat outside. Reception- nice service. Friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank voss v
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Voss V, Thank you for your feedback. Glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. Generally our guests commented on the spaciousness of the room, I am sorry to hear that you did not find this to be the case. Delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly & helpful. Hoping to see you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Pros: Train station right across the hotel with 7-11 close-by. Chinatown within 1min. Cons: Room was big but dated. Could hear noise from the street. Poor spread for breakfast. Lack of clear signs directing to which hotel as the building composes of two hotels under the same group.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Hi Jay, Thank you for your review. Very much appreciated. Hopefully we will have the opportunity of accommodating you again in the future. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure.

Barooga, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam O
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Got a up graded to room with separate bedroom,lounge and a large bathroom plus got a late check out at no extra cost.Buffet breakfast was good value at $16 (there was a special on).staff all very helpful and friendly.Cocoon bar/resturant very nice.there is also a TAB/Bar/large pokie room thru glass doors opposite check in.this hotel is on the main tram...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank didee62
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Didee62, Thank you very much for your great review & I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspects of your stay with us. WE look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Melbourne
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for my husband's birthday. It is in a good location but we were a bit disappointed in the rooms. Our room was big however it was quite dated and needed a renovation, the bathroom was old and the carpet was stained. The general overall feel of the hotel was that it was old and needed alot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinkstarz77
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Pinkstarz77, Always great to hear reviews from one of the top Contributors. I am sorry tho hear that your room did not live up to your expectations for the special occasion. Should you have advised the Manager on Duty at that time, we would've been able to assist with you with an alternative rooms (upon availability). Whilst I understand...

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great place .... because of our flights early arrival (8am) we were hoping that they would be able to look after our bags until the 2pm checkin . But as soon as we turned up they checked us in and our room was all ready . The buffet breakfast was really nice and also the in house restaurant was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steaminkiwi
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, It is wonderful to receive such a positive feedback such as yours. Thank you. And I couldn't have been happier to know that you enjoyed your stay with us & obviously a great time at Cirque du soleil. See you on your next getaway. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It was the best ever location so close to everything. We had a twin double bed room and it was very spacious. Plates and bowls and cutlery were bought to our room to use and that was sufficient. There is also a microwave in your room and a toaster. Handy when you want to eat in.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg W
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Meg, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am glad that you found the hotel & its services & facilities to be of satisfactory. WE look forward to have you back with us in the near future. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We continue to stay at this hotel even though it is becoming a bit tired. The location and the staff make up for the rooms. Excellent service - great concierge service. Watch the shower pressure never right.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Always great to receive reviews from Senior Reviewer & a return guests. Much appreciated. We are certainly going to have some renovations to be done in stages, and will advise our Maintenance Manager of the flactuates water pressure in the shower. Thank you again for your feedback & looking forward to have you back staying with us soon....

Kuching
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A very centrally located hotel in the heart of Melbourne nearby to shopping and Chinatown. Easy access to public transport and with plenty of restaurants nearby. A great hotel to stay when visiting Melbourne, either on business or holiday.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyKho
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review

Dear Ricky, We appreciate your feedback and I am thrilled to hear that you found our location to be a very convenient base for your visit (both business or leisure). Thank you again & hopefully we'll see you again on your next trip to Melbourne. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure.

333 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (258)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 156 in Melbourne
4,032 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#86 of 156 in Melbourne
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $161 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Marysems, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a higher level where the view may be better.”
 of 5 bubbles mikejones365, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the lifts are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles AlwaysBeKiwi, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner room on a Higher Floor is always quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TassyTherese, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not facing Swanston St are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 862TraceyB, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5