We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Welcome Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,903: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Position, Presentation, and Price, were all perfect. Situated right in the heart of Melbourne with Myers, David Jones, cafes, Chinatown as your neighbours. East stroll to Flinders Street ststion, Federation Square, Casino, trams. Room was excellent, quiet and comfy in my king bed, beaut bathroom, clean and well furnished. Price was top value for money I staed 3 nights and...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eatnsleep2016
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear eatnsleep2016, Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide a review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Sincere apologies that we were unable to assist you with your room extension due to the hotel being fully booked. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here a lot over recent years, and was delighted to receive a complimentary bottle of red wine & a lovely note thanking me for my custom. As a Accor member, also received a free drink & I appreciate the $100 discount for opting to not have a room clean each day saving the environment just a little. Used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 188petere
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear 188petere, Thank you for writing such a detailed review and for highlighting the achievement of my team to provide service that is consistently met your expectations. We are very lucky to count you amongst our loyal regular's and we look forward to welcome you back for your next visit away from home. Thank you. Kind regards, Alex Mihardja Operational...

Malmö, Sverige
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mercure Welcome hotel is right in the middle of Melbourne which means that buses, trams, restaurants, shopping centres are right next door. However, this also means that it is not easy to get to it by car and the garage is a couple of blocks away. The room we got was small and the breakfast buffet had a limited selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BjornVienna
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear BjornVienna, Thank you for being positive in what we do well and for bringing to our attention what we can change. I appreciate you highlighting our team’s friendly & helpful attitude to customer service and will pass your encouragement on to them. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't beat the location of this hotel. Centrally located. Walking distance to everything. We loved the location.The hotel rooms itself I feel is in need of a reno. Our room was leaking from the ceiling in the bathroom, so they relocated and upgraded us to a another room. The buffet breakfast was good and cheap. They had a special on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrancisMimiLay
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear FrancisMimiLay, Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for the inconveniences experienced with your first room. Delighted that we were able to relocate you to an upgraded room with the extra amenities. Appreciate you highlighting the areas that we do well & we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, near Chinatown, shopping and cafes and transport. The hotel offered a management courtesy later checkout without having to ask for one. Bathroom roomy and modern. Variety of dishes for breakfast. Also has a dining room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine B
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Josephine B, We are very appreciative of your time in sharing your positive experience after your recent stay with us. We look forwrad to your next visit. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well this was a disappointment the rooms are outdated small and had no where to put your luggage. The breakfast was not what i expected and again this needs a revamp and a good clean not sure I will be going back their again. The only good thing is that it is located in the center of the CBD. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil8361
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Phil8361, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your recent experience staying with us was below your expectations. Sincere apologies, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good economical hotel in a very central location in the Melbourne CBD, ideal for shopping or entertainment. The rooms are compact, but beds are comfortable, with clean bathroom facilities. There is sometimes an issue with a delay at the lifts in busy periods.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank deirdrew676
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear deirdrew676, We thank you for your time in providing a review. Glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us & sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused by the delay waiting for the lifts during busy periods. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mercure Welcome for 3 nights and will not go back. The included buffet breakfast was basic at best.Our room was ok but the rest of the Hotel was very dated and in desperate need of a revamp. One day our room was never made up at all, after advising the person at reception at 6pm we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alby343
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear alby343, Thank you for your constructive review. It is with regret to read that we were unable to provide you with a pleasant and trouble free stay. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is fantastic but hotel is in need of renovating. Someone else's hair was in the shower drain & remained after 'cleaning' Restaurant meal was disappointing, the garlic bread was butter on toast!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anth889
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Anth889, I am sorry that we didn't tick all the boxes on your recent stay. I have personally addressed all your concerns to our relevant Department Heads for their urgent attention. Sincerely, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

Wollongong
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Difficult to find the hotel parking. Hotel parking was advertised at $15 per 24 hours, we had to pay $35 per 24 hours. Room extremely small. Meals not discounted to Accor members as advertised. A beer in the Cocoon bar $12.30, at any local pub $6.00

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Brian H, Thank you for your feedback. The self-parking is indeed $15 per 24 hours, however if you opted for a valet-parking it is $35 per 24 hours. There are terms & conditions of the members' entitlements. Apologies for your experiences. Regards, Alex Mihardja Operational Project Manager

436 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 158 in Melbourne
593 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $116 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Welcome Melbourne staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Welcome Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a room away from the lifts and not a connecting room as walls are very thin.”
Skyecougar, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“City view higher floor rooms are excellent”
  • Room 1233
  • Room 1233
Abeer71, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best tip for a good room is choose a different hotel.”
chrishQ5369VU, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room faced the street and no street noise evident”
BLIZZ-WHIZZ, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Swanston has nicer rooms with the Welcome more basic & older”
188petere, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5