We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BreakFree on Collins

Hotwire.comUS$81*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BreakFree on Collins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,515: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to everything in the City. Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that had patio. Beds are comfortable. The only issue to with glass when one person is trying to sleep you can see the flicker of the TV.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank poolequip
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the feedback, and fantastic to hear you enjoyed your time here. The frosted window design in some of the deluxe rooms is indeed an acquired taste but we do hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us, wishing you all the best, Raphael General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately our hire car was vandalised at the Wilsons car park. Although this is not managed by the hotel, it is the car park recommended by the hotel and a validation ticket is provided for a discounted parking rate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 228ernests
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and rest assured this is something we will take up with Wilsons Parking. We hope the rest of your stay was otherwise amicable, wishing you many safe travels, Raphael General Manager

Warragul, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and friendly staff.they were very helpful. The apartment could do with an update but overall a great place to stay in Melbourne. Close to trams and trains easy to get to theatres. The apartment was very comfortable and affordable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamsI6872QI
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback, As an FYI any of our superior or deluxe rooms have been newly updated or built! wishing you all the best & many safe travels, Raphael General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

The apartments while located on fabulous Collins Street leave much to be desired. The reception area on level 6 is more like a 1 or 2 star hotel reception. The corridors to rooms need upgrading as do all rooms. Rooms are noisy, dailr servicing poor and i would not recommend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 723helen
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, and we agree we really do have the best possible location in all of Melbourne being right at the junction of Swanston & Collins Street. As an FYI our reception, as well as all of our corridors, are being refurbished in the coming six months, while among our rooms about...

Stawell, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well located but poorly maintained. Remotes were both Flat ,Bedside lamp faulty and could not raise reception at 9.30 for a replacement ,Shower cubicle floor really slippery when wet.Our stay was the result of a previous stay in which we were given a voucher because the linen was filthy .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamiee268
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for sharing your feedback, and apologies in this instance we were unable to meet your expectations, all the best, Raphael General Manager

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great location and the room was surprisingly quiet, considering. The light updates that have been done look nice, however more needs to be done with bathroom repairs etc. But pretty good value for money overall.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location, and the steps we have made so far in regards to updating the hotel. In the near future we have corridor & reception refurbishments to be undertaken, and following that the bathrooms will be the next part of our investment! wishing you all the best & safe travels, Raphael...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location, just in the middle of everything. Spacious room with clean bathroom, the best manager I ever met, friendly, always looking after their guests. Excellent customer service from Raphael.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K1636KVkyleh
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share the wonderful feedback regarding your experience here, and thank you on a personal note regarding your kind words in regards to our management. Wishing you all the best, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, warmest regards, Raphael General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's in a great location because its close to shops, museum, trams and trains. Cheap restaurants are also nearby. I walked to the National Gallery to see the Van Gogh exhibition - easy. The secure lift access is a positive feature.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with us regarding your stay here! we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, warmest regards, Raphael General Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would never stay here and would never recommend it ! We had a horrible experience. Was actually scared for our safety, after 2 hours of checking in we checked out and found another hotel ! Reception was hard to found and photos looked nothing like it !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 611bect
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your stay here, and we do apologise if you had difficulty finding our reception which is located on the 6th level. As an FYI our corridors & reception are being refurbished in the next six months which should help the overall aesthetic of the building, while over...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is dated but brilliant location. Very spacious. Would definitely stay again when in Melbourne as also great value for money. Tram right outside front door. One block from Flinders St station and one block from Bourke St mall. Not luxury but basic accommodation. Spacious unit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marydO4305XU
raphaelkozminsky, General Manager at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to share you honest & wonderful feedback regarding your stay here with us! fantastic to see you enjoyed it so much! wishing you all the best and looking forward to accommodating you again, warmest regards, Raphael General Manager

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 159 in Melbourne
1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 159 in Melbourne
4,144 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#101 of 159 in Melbourne
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $120 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree on Collins staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree on Collins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher and more up to date but you will have to pay more”
JA1964, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Any room not close to the lifts...”
sharonc269, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I expect the high floors might have quite a nice view.”
Caroltau, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I was lucky to get a room not facing Collins Street so it was quiet and couldnt hear any traffic”
  • Cockroaches in the kitchen
cherub79, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If u have no other choice and have to stay at this hotel get a back room”
Bsrbs, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$81
Hotels.comUS$81
Booking.comUS$81
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates