We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 285: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
 Click to rate
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

People are OK nice. Location kind of hidden and taxi driver (with 20 years experience - supposedly) not able to find it. The carpet is in quite poor disgusting condition both inside and outside in the hallway. The safe does not work - we were told that they do not work anymore - why advertise still has a safe then....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed352
Boyland, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had to walk down a lane way to find reception, but once there staff were friendly and welcoming. Some of the hallways etc were a bit dated and shabby. The family room we stayed in was very spacious, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, large living and dining area, and a kitchen. Plus an extra bed. Fabulous views!!! Comfortable beds for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwlnjcav
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Poor customer service We were happy to pay for late checkout but were told just to be out of the apartment by 12:00pm. At 11:08am my friend came into the room scared and was yelling that a man was in our apartment. I walked out to see and a manager was yelling at us saying "evacuate the premises right now"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
Steven B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. Unfortunately it was a very unpleasant circumstance for us all. We have a very strict no party policy and this was not followed by your large group that you invited back to our hotel. We received numerous complaints from nearby guests throughout the night...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't be fooled by the main photo. We were in an annexe which is just round the corner from here.Having been dropped off by a taxi at this main entrance we then had to drag 4 cases from Reception round to a pokey little entrance, that looked vaguely dodgy; through a key coded lift to our apartment. The entrance had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Steven B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you Julie for your feedback, we really do appreciate it. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will be taking your comments into consideration and endeavor to resolve these issues. We do have much quieter rooms available to guests that request. May I suggest for your next stay if you wish to...

Park Ridge, IL
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an unusual hotel. You had to take two elevators to get to the hotel floor. You'd enter the building at the hotel lobby, then walk over to the lobby of the office building to the elevator. The apartment layouts were perfect. Small bedrooms, but roomy common rooms with a dining table and living area where the TV is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Susan, thank you for taking the time to provide us with much valued feedback. We are currently looking into making upgrades to our rooms and property to ensure a more pleasant stay in the future. Unfortunately, due to safety regulations we are unable to turn down the fire alarm sensitivity. However, it should not be a problem at all...

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, economical for family stay, nice size rooms for the city, check in was very slow, parking is slightly awkward in lane way, while checking in, blocking others. We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and facilities were adequate.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y5522ZHsharons
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Sharon. We are sorry to hear that your check in process was not as quick as it should have been. Unfortunately due to our location, the parking entrance can be a little tricky to maneuver. However we do also offer parking at the same rate in a parking lot next door off Flinder Street which...

Reviewed 18 February 2017

Went to the city for White Night and so was looking forward to staying in a comfortable hotel room. My opinion of it was: - tatty - carpets stained, torn, looked really awful - dirty - even if there was a view - you wouldn't be able to see it due to the filthy windows, inside and out. Bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gigs07
Steven B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We will take your comments under consideration and through management and endeavor to have these issues resolved in the near future. Thank you for your feedback, we really do appreciate it. Kind regards, Vanessa

Melton, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I booked this about 3 weeks ago and then decided to read reviews the day before our stay. So glad I didn't cancel. Check in and check out was excellent. No delays there at all. The shared lifts....when you work out how to send the ones away that can't get you to your room, then you're fine. Yes, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kylie G
Steven B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you Kylie for such a great review, we really do appreciate it! We will take your comments under consideration to update our facilities for the near future and we will endeavor to fix these issues. As for the elevator problem, we are sorry you thought you had to go through that to call the designated elevator! We should have...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Living a little outside of Melbourne we look forward to the occasional night out in the city. So as this hotel was very close to the venue we were attending for a friends 40th birthday party we booked an apartment there. A bit confusing on arrival as although the address is in Flinders street the actual entrance is down a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank delver313
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed at the Riverside Apartments in Melbourne Recently. Old and tired. The room was very clean but somehow details like the mound of fluff in the back of the hairdryer and the mould on the grout in the shower had been overlooked. The reception area had a lot of steps, appeared dirty and mat needed replacing. Staff were nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie T
Steven B, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you Annie for your honest and kind feedback, we really do appreciate it. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy some of your stay with us, we will endeavor to fix these issues you have brought to our attention. We hope to see you for your next stay in Melbourne! Kind regards, Vanessa

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
1,037 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
321 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $130 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Croydon, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no tips; you can ask all you like, but you won't get it”
 of 5 bubbles Gigs07, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go, try Clarion Gates.”
 of 5 bubbles delver313, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask to be in same block as reception - not annex.”
 of 5 bubbles anniet786, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try another venue”
 of 5 bubbles PamAndGrant, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere its awful.”
 of 5 bubbles Jodiem336, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5