We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Orbitz.comUS$103*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Melbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,096: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

We were tired from the flight from Cairns and a clean, fresh smelling room is all we need in Melbourne and Rydges Hotel didn't disappoint. Our room was on 12th floor if I am not mistaken. It has wide glass windows and offered us a great view of the CBD area. The bed has the right firmness which gave me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise T, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us! So great to hear you had a great night's rest and took full advantage of the high speed Wi-Fi in the rooms. Hope to welcome you back again soon, Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing. Stayed in the Queen Spa Suite with intensions of spending most most of the night in the room. Upon arrival discovered the "spa" was in fact a smaller than average bath with 2 jets. Room was cold - One of the heaters in the room blew out only cold air when set to heat, and the other had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharrii
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharrii, Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us. I am very dissapointed to hear you were dissatisfied with your Rydges Melbourne stay. If you could be so kind to take the time to email me of the details of your reservation so we can rectify the maintenence issues you have described I would be...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Bed was too soft. The wall is not very soundproof. I was able to hear the noises from the room next door. No in-room slippers provided. Breakfast was average as well. Coffee could be better, tasted a little too bitter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissyEvilyn
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening MissyEvilyn, Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you felt your experience with Rydges Melbourne was only average. We appreciate your feedback regarding these aspects of your experience and have taken them on board for review. Please note for future reference we do have slippers available in our suites...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Went to breakfast at 7:30 to confronted by chaos. Zero cutlery, zero seats. Waitstaff at once stage dumped dirty plates on my table as I went to the Buffett to try and get some food. Was not helped by the fact some other guests were quite rude and this escalated my displeasure with the whole experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant M
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grant, Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at breakfast during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to advise us of this poor experience impacted by what sounds like a very busy morning. I have passed this directly to our Food and Beverage Manager so we can be sure to review staffing levels at...

Caves Beach, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2015

This hotel is centrally located, close to shops and theatres. Reception staff were friendly and the whole checkin went very smoothly and fast. We stayed in a twin room and there was plenty of room. There is tea and coffee facilities, fridge and a large bathroom. The room is airconditioned. The restaurant for breakfast had everything that you could want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaniceThomas
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice, Thank you kindly for your positive review of your recent stay with us, we are so pleased you enjoyed your Rydges Melbourne experience! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm Regards, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

City of Greater Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

It's just a room that is a bad need of a renovation. Crappy kettle, crappy hairdryer! Please clean the walls with a magic eraser. Don't call a fruit salad a fruit salad if it is a melon salad and when I say I am gluten free don't sprinkle cooked oats on my melon salad! Lost in translation I think!! Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole411
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole411, I am very embarrassed to receive your feedback of the poor experiences throughout your recent stay. If you have a spare moment and could kindly send the details of your reservation trhough I would greatly appreciate it, in order to follow up with the multiple incidents of your stay. I'm so sorry you were not able to enjoy...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing. Hotel needs refurbishing, especially carpeting. No storage in room or bathroom. Housekeeping awful and front desk non responsive to problems. Hallways not vacuumed however vacuums and food trays stayed in hallways for hours. Location is excellent however there must be better hotels in good locations. Definitely would not recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chmichaels14
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is extremely dissapointing to hear of your poor experience with our hotel. I would like to be able to follow up on your feedback, if you have a moment and could kindly email the details of your reservation to amy_trengove@rydges.com, that would be most helpful. I sincerely apologise you were not satisfied during your stay with us...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2015

A work trip down to Melbourne, and staying at Rydges because it was close to the place I need to visit. The day before my arrival, I taken the offer to upgrade from deluxe queen room to executive king room and overlooking the city CBD. The room is massive for just myself, so if you are with someone and planning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HunterJerry
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hunter Jerry, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your work trip with us! If you have a moment and could kindly email me the details of your name, reservation I would gladly follow up a new membership card for you - amy_trengove@rydges.com. Great advice on restaurant staff, we do have many...

Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Normally I stay here all the time for business trip in Melbourne, my stay has been okay nothing to complain but not this time. I arrived on 13th with a moody face lady staff. I wouldn't mind that, she might had a bad day. This continue with nothing different until our check out date. No minibar or any other service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tarnnie T
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tarnnie T, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I do apoogise your stay was not satisfactory and would like to obtain the details of your reservation to rectify these issues if possible could you kindly email me directly your name and reservation details to amy_trengove@rydges.com. Service is definitely something we should succeed at and...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2015

My partner spent two nights here during a conference visit and enjoyed the location, close to convention, shops, restaurants and Chinatown. I joined her on a Friday evening and we enjoyed the happy hour drinks and nibbles in the bar before venturing out to shop a bit and have dinner. The hotel is very well kept, neat and tidy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob-ol55
Amy T, Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you kindly for your review of your partners stay during a conference recently. Glad you both got to enjoy the Melbourne atmosphere and shopping ventures! We hope to welcome you both back again soon- hopefully for a lesiure trip instead this time. Much appreciated, Amy Trengove Rooms Division Manager

552 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (308)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (128)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (45)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (37)
Viewed
Premier Spa Suite (39)
Viewed
Queen Spa Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
1,589 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#95 of 159 in Melbourne
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
1,988 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#78 of 159 in Melbourne
858 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Locals know that Chinatown is the tried and true place to eat before hitting the nightclub scene. The place simply buzzes, and the well-preserved buildings exude a sense of Imperial China stemming from immigration over a century ago. In restaurant after restaurant on Little Bourke Street, you'll find delicious dishes such as sizzling honeyed prawns, and value for your money. Stately matrons oversee family kitchens serving up age-old recipes. The lighting may be unromantic, the patrons loud, and the service no-nonsense, but the food is sensational.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Price Range: $72 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Melbourne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The King Suites”
megancG3003TZ, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“all room are evry acceptable”
granmpa, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Spa suite was lovely”
Tanya77721, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room without a noisy in-room air conditioner (if possible)”
799nevilleb, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“great accessibility and only one street away from the free city tram route”
883traceyn, 7 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$103* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$275
Hotels.comUS$103
Expedia.comUS$103
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates