We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Arrow On Swanston

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arrow On Swanston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
Start your review of Arrow On Swanston
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Don't even bother booking.. The registration staff were rude and very unhelpful The room had a broken air conditioning so froze The shower was either hot or cold The shower head sprayed upwards The bedroom door lock was broken As I said stay away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for your value feedback and we are sorry to hear that you had a negative impression with our service and facilities. For any unexpected maintenance issues, we always try our best to offer the alternative option for guest convenience. However, as this case has not been brought up to the management. Please do not hesitate to...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent central location , with large tram station out front , with trams servicing most areas . Also close to Queen Victoria markets , Melbourne museum , zoo and also the restaurants on Lygon street Hotel has handy 24 hour reception , rooms are clean , modern and also have a kitchenette , which is extremely useful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ric1608
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Ric1608, Thank you very much for your value feedback. It is great to hear that you had a great experience with Melbourne while staying with us. We hope to have a chance to accommodate you again in the future. Regards, Arrow on Swanston

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The location of the hotel is convenient but the service is overall horrible. When i ask about airport transportation information for help the receptionist promise to call your your room in 10 minutes but no call at all. They require internet payment and as i paid the internet was broken. Promise to fix and inform my room but from morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raina K
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Raina, Thank you for your time providing a value feedback. It is disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while staying with us. Please accept our apologize about the staffs which did not attend to the requests properly. Please provide your booking information and this case will be investigated. Regarding to the washing machine, self-serviced laundry machine...

Yinnar, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great small clean room at the top of the city, tram out-front and close to Melbourne city shopping, sports and restaurants as well as being around the corner from the eating area of Lygon St. Good friendly staff at check in and very helpful. Room also had kitchenette.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnP3840
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear JohnP3840, Thank you for your great feedback. It is appreciate to hear that you have a good experience with our service and location. We hope to have a chance to accommodate you again in the soon future. Regards, Arrow on Swanston

Brisbane
Reviewed 1 week ago

Quiet, clean, reasonably priced room that comfortably fit 2 people. Tram stop is right out the front. Staff were very nice, and helped with bookings/tickets for a couple of attractions we were interested in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaCorka
Arrow M, Marketing E at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear LaCorka, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience while staying with us and hope you had the best time for the attractionss as well. Wish to have have a chance to accommodate you again in the soon future. Regards, Than

Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A 1-bedroom apartment during the Australian Open for only $135 per night - this is exceptional value for a comfortable, clean, quiet, no-frills stay. This is the second time I've stayed in a 1-brm apartment at Arrow - the first time our unit was better laid out. This one had an L-shaped living space that was impractical - but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank girlsinging
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Girlsinging, Thank you very much for your value feedback. It is our pleasure to hear that you had a great experience in Melbourne while was staying with us. We always try our best to deliver our standard of service for guest convenience. For your next visit, we would like to recommend you to request the specific room number which...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just outside the free tram zone but with a tram stop right outside ,this hotel puts you right near the action. A block or so from Queen Victoria markets, lygon st eateries, China town etc. The staff were very helpful and rooms very small but spotless. Although our initial room was just too small with only a double bed they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shasmo55
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Shasmo55, Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you had a memorable experience while staying with us. Being outside the free tram zone does not make any difficult our for guests to reach many tourists attractions which are already located surrounding us by walking distance. As a budget hotel, our smaller room types are...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

The location is good and convenient. Walking distance to Queen Victoria Market. We stayed in a studio apartment with small kitchen and living room. However, the Front Office staff need to improve their services to guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siew Peng L
Arrow M, marketing executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Siew Peng L, Thank you for your review. It is our pleasure to hear that our facilities and location have met your expectation. However, we are very sorry to hear that you have negative impression with our reception. This will be brought up to management to ensure that our customer service standard must be maintained and improved. We hope...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Very good place to stay as close to [free ] trams to city,food outlets.Rooms have all things needed to stay and comfortable.Only drawback they are small but you are only sleeping there not buying it .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank queenslanderlarry
Arrow M, marketing executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Queenslanderlarry, Thank you very much for your value feedback. We are happy to hear that our location and facilities have met your expectation. As a budget hotel, our room size is consider small, however, we try our best to provide the service and facilities to ensure guests will have everything they need for their trips. We hope to have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with this budget hotel. Great location, very clean and staff were helpful. My friend and I stayed in a room with twin beds. Each bed was in its own little room which meant we could maintain our privacy. My friend wanted to sleep and I wanted to read - no problem. We stayed on New Years...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelzie2016
Arrow M, marketing executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Shelzie2016, Thank you very much for your feedback and it is our pleasure to hear that you had a great experience staying with us. We hope to have a chance to accommodate you again in the soon future. Regards, Than

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#110 of 156 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 156 in Melbourne
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adara East Melbourne
#108 of 156 in Melbourne
95 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#96 of 156 in Melbourne
291 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 156 in Melbourne
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: $90 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arrow On Swanston staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Arrow On Swanston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check website of hotel as they may have rooms to suit your needs [ families].”
 of 5 bubbles queenslanderlarry, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not sure we was facing front, its was quite.”
 of 5 bubbles JackyG393, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles celestfriendz, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the noise of bins being cleared at about 5a.m., , traffic noise etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 295clarea, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Walk to the city in 10 minutes, or walk 300 meters to the free tram zone stop”
 of 5 bubbles thumper123456, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5