We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-09 2017-10-10
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hotel Sophia

    277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-10-09 2017-10-10
    SAVE US$20
    Traveller (123)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (10)
    • Excellent16%
    • Very good32%
    • Average19%
    • Poor12%
    • Terrible21%
    Travellers talk about
    Breakfast Buffet
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Room Service
    Wheelchair Access
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Oct 9Oct 10
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    View all 14 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (604)
    There are newer reviews for Hotel Sophia
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    • More languages

    291 - 295 of 567 reviews

    Reviewed 30 June 2013

    DO NOT STAY HERE. They kicked me out in the dark and the rain, and refused to honour my pre-paid accomodation because I don't have a credit card. I've stayed in many hotels in my time and I have always offered cash in place of...More

    8  Thank Belyando
    Reviewed 27 June 2013

    I stayed for one night. Room pleasant enough and the hot breakfast was a bonus. However 6 days later the so-called bond of $150 is still on my credit card. Whilst checking in, numerous people were complaining about this ludicrous charge. From internet searches this...More

    3  Thank Paul K
    Reviewed 24 June 2013

    great find close to train, bus to & from airport, etihad stadium. Very clean & comfortable. Friendly staff, we had no trouble with noise issues even for Saturday night. Our room was towards the back. Approx 5 minute walk to train station & etihad stadium...More

    Thank bucketlist60
    Reviewed 21 June 2013

    My partner and I stayed for a long weekend to combine a work trip with a bit of Melbourne shopping. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Sophia. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We loved the breakfast in the morning and the coffee-pod...More

    Thank KatMac72
    Reviewed 6 June 2013

    The room we were given had possibly the worst soundproof walls and a big, paper-thin window looking out onto King Street. The whole night there was noise coming from the traffic and because it was raining, we could also hear every splash the cars made...More

    4  Thank phluffles
    Pegasus Apart'Hotel
    3,211 reviews
    #38 of 160 hotels in Melbourne
    Atlantis Hotel
    1,865 reviews
    #98 of 160 hotels in Melbourne
    Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
    2,992 reviews
    #9 of 160 hotels in Melbourne
    Alto Hotel on Bourke
    1,546 reviews
    #10 of 160 hotels in Melbourne
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • US$63 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #115 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 49
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Victoria >
    • Melbourne >
    • Central Business District
    • Also Known As
    • Sophia Hotel Melbourne
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (123)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (10)
    Hotel & Grounds (69)
    Bathroom (7)
    Central Business District
    Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
    tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
    feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
    city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
    throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
    never quite know what you’ll find around the next
    corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
    even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
    Alto Hotel on Bourke
    1,546 reviews
    .30 km away
    Atlantis Hotel
    1,865 reviews
    .22 km away
    Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
    2,992 reviews
    .39 km away
    Pegasus Apart'Hotel
    3,211 reviews
    .44 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Sud Food and Wine
    130 reviews
    .16 km away
    Delhi Rocks
    65 reviews
    .15 km away
    City Grill Room
    113 reviews
    .15 km away
    20 reviews
    .11 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Flagstaff Gardens
    159 reviews
    .46 km away
    Hellenic Museum
    40 reviews
    .27 km away
    St. Augustine Church
    24 reviews
    .34 km away
    Koori Heritage Trust
    20 reviews
    .05 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    20 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from TonygMildura | Reviewed this property |
    They took $150 from my credit card account, i only found out after i did a routine check of my account. I wasn't told about this upon checking in.We stayed 2 nights, & on checking out was told, that refund will take up to 5... More
    29 May 2015|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Capehorn2 | Reviewed this property |
    They are just arrogant Contact your credit card provider - tell them you have been incorrectly charged
    4 September 2014|
    AnswerShow all 10 answers
    Response from Carl G | Reviewed this property |
    Gday. I think they have a policy of a deposit taken from the credit card for everyone which is held. I checked my bank online and it was taken as "pending", but never went through as a charge. But ask them if youre unsure. I... More
    Room Tips
    "If there's no one at the reception, you could ring the bell and if that doesn't help call the..."
    Read review
    "There is no radio in the room just in case you need an alarm."
    Read review
    "Get the suite room, it is bigger and better"
    Read review
    "Do not choose this hotel"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing