We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oaks on Market

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Oaks on Market
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,045 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Market
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,012: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2014

The location is brilliant. You are very close to Immigration museum, flinders st Station and Elizabeth St. There is generally always at least one person at reception. Oaks on Market is a busy and big place so it sometimes feels like the staff don't have that much time for you. Our room was great value for money and was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank limelight24
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our property, although glad that you enjoyed the location and our clean and tidy rooms; we are truly disappointed that we were not able to meet your dietary requirements. Indeed Oaks on Market is a busy and big place; however our staff are hospitality professionals trained to deal with peak periods and high occupancies,...

Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

A disappointing visit! Staff at reception were unfriendly borderline rude upon check in. My PA had called a day earlier to ask that the names on the booking be changed as one of the colleagues couldn't travel. I arrived and explained that it could be under either name. It felt as though I was being a hassle and inconveniencing the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannahmm18
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our property, we are truly disappointed that your stay was such a negative one, especially as we normally excel on both cleaning and customer service. We will not make any excuses on any of the listed shortfalls but will endeavour to rectify these issues and hopefully prevent them from reoccurring. I have personally checked...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, reasonably-priced, in the heart of Melbourne CBD. I've stayed here a few times for one or two nights while on business trips. The pool is also a bonus for decompressing after a day at the office. Lovely restaurants at Crown Casino and along the river are a short walk away. While the Oaks on Market is a little impersonal....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MicheNewms
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing out property, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; and that you were able to relax in our beautiful pool. One of our main goals is to provide our guests with excellent and personalised customer service; therefore we are truly disappointed that you felt the opposite. Thanks again; and we look...

Austin, TX
Reviewed 15 November 2014

As many have mentioned, the rooms are fine, the gym/spa/pool is all good and the onsite laundry is handy. Location is a big plus, its central and easy to get to downtown locations as well as catch a tram anywhere you want to go. That being said, as many have related it has draconian Internet pricing, 1990s based limits (hello...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank austintx
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that your stay was mostly a positive one. Saying that, we are truly disappointed that our internet service was not able to meet your requirements. We respect and appreciate your comments; and please rest assured they are not taken as a cliché. Thanks again for...

Perth, WA
Reviewed 14 November 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights recently in a Studio apartment and it was very comfortable. There was a small kitchenette, plenty of wardrobe space, and all the regular things you'd expect like a hairdryer and iron/ironing board. As other people have mentioned, it was a bit difficult to get the water temperature in the shower right, and only having...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travel_with_kids041
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our property, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the perfect location of our building, our comfortable rooms and our staff customer service. As you know upon arrival we offer discounted breakfast vouchers to our guests, the reason behind is to get an estimate amount of patrons that will use our restaurant over...

Mudgeeraba, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Came here with my daughter for her birthday. Liked the spacious rooms, bigger than a normal hotel room, it was clean, although the shower was a bit of a mission to get the temperature right. Had a kitchenette in ours, which was handy, not that we used it except to make coffee. The hotel reception staff were really nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QueenBeesWax
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. Please rest assure that we will review all your comments both positive and negative; and that we will take all the necessary steps to rectify any shortfalls with our property. Thank you Regards

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 10 November 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here for PAXaus. It's a great location in downtown Melbourne, perfect for ready access to the city. The grounds are superb, the pool and workout room, great. I only have two complaints. Wi-fi is only free for 30 minutes and it's restricted bandwidth...that's just cheap: a very poor business decision to attract international clientele. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kylaryn
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you frank but honest review, we are glad that your stay was mostly pleasant, yet we are disappointed that we were not able to meet all your expectations. Thanks again Regards

Jasper National Park, Canada
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Melbourne cup week very easy and enjoyable. Will stay again next year for Cox plate and World Speedway GP. Very close to south bank casino and all transport plenty of convenience stores close and cheap cafe's for breakfast if you don't want to cook your own in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Len C
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we sincerely hope that you enjoyed your stay and the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back next year (or sooner). Regards

Carrara, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Stayed here on business for 2 nights and arrived about 10pm to a very friendly, efficient receptionist (I think her name was Lisa but could be wrong). Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very clean and modern. Room size was good and the layout well thought out with a small couch which was a nice touch. The king...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajmac09
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our comfy beds. Guest feedback is important to us; therefore you will be happy to know that we are in the process of replacing all the existing lights in our rooms including our bathrooms with stronger LED lighting. Thanks again for your feedback...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2014

I visited Melbourne for the PAX event and stayed at the Oaks on Market for 4 nights. I love Melbourne and Oaks makes it easy by being really close to the event I was attending, as well as the city in general. The booking process was quite easy, even with multiple changes, and the staff are quite happy to help...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kneenar
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback; we are glad that you enjoyed our rooms, our staff customer service and hopefully the PAX Convention . It was a great weekend for us with a combination of beautiful dresses and hats from our ladies attending the races; and “Zeldas” and other comics/superheros outfits for...

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (252)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 157 in Melbourne
1,102 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
1,263 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 157 in Melbourne
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#63 of 157 in Melbourne
3,894 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#61 of 157 in Melbourne
800 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $126 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks on Market staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks on Market staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont get a room facing the construction site across the road”
 of 5 bubbles MDKbrisbane, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check out the evening specials at the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles 610desleyh, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms which back on to the bank of lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles petert457, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask to be away from the construction on Market Street (but it might not help).”
 of 5 bubbles MelissaInAU, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book after the construction across the road is completed.”
 of 5 bubbles 683jacquelineg, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay