We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Witch\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed there 10 days and it felt like home the entire time. It's small but cosy, the TV room is a nice place to chill with a lot of comfy sofas. Easy to meet people as it's not too big ! Staff is lovely and helpful. Would stay there again when I'm back in Perth !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargotIvanova
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is not so big and therefore it's easy to get in touch with others. The happy hours in the pub close to the hostel are a great opportunity too to get in touch with the staff or the fellow travellers because you go there together. Breakfast and a good wifi (for oz) is included in the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy Z
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for an extended period of time and it was like a home away from home. In a quiet neighborhood but plenty of restaurants around the corner and a short walk away from Northbridge. The staff there were excellent and very friendly. The cleaners, who were really nice and good looking, kept it one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcarr06
WitchsHat, Manager at Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Heeey Johnny, thank you so much for this review!! And you're right! We have very efficient and handsome cleaners!!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Seen quite a few hostels in Australia and this has been one of the best. Great rooms, friendly staff, clean bathrooms and toilets. I stayed here together with my brother before the start of our trip up the coast. Came here after our flight from Europe and were very friendly welcomed by the staff. Immediately we were told there would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki9898
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An eerie incident happened last night. I requested to leave this hostel early but was rejected by the manager. Paid 4 nights, only stayed 2 nights, i'm just asking 2 check out n get my refunds for the other 2 nights that i've already paid. I sent an email to human's right dept on this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmy-tham-c-w
WitchsHat, Manager at Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have a none refund policy so I offered you to check out early and use the 2 nights you paid for at another occasion. However, I did give you a total refund in the end so this review is not even accurate. I simply changed my mind and...

Marseille, France
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The staff is kind and very helpful and the other residents too. The rooms are clean. The common parts are cool. the Witch's Hat is well situated. The close neighborhood is calm but not far from Northbridge. Very good ambiance too!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sebastien840
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 18 December 2016

A friend and me did a trip through australia. We stayed in many hostels and hotels in different cities. But the Witch`s Hat was the best of all! Great people ( many germans, british, french and italian people). We all had a great time, because every evening you stay together in the court of the hostel and have fun. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DennisvanBerlin
WitchsHat, Manager at Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, Dennis! I'm so please you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you guys again!! Julia - Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2016

If you need some advise for your first stay in Australia there is a lot of backpackers to help you. The hostel is 20 min from the city centre. And, if you need a quiet place because you work, this is the place to be.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank l_schalck
WitchsHat, Manager at Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

THANK YOU!!! It means a great deal to us that our guests are happy with their stay and we hope you came back to stay with us in the future! /Julia - Manager

Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in a twin room. What a fantastically run and managed hotel. The manager Julia is so funny and could do anything for you. The atmosphere at the hotel is amazing had such a fun time just chilling out and talk to the over guests in the courtyard. The hotel offers a free breakfast daily which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbieh359
WitchsHat, Manager at Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Rob, mate!! What a wonderful review!! Thank you, you legend! We sure hope to see you again! Lots of love Julia

bishop stortford
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Stayed twice in oct/nov2016 once in 4bed dorm and in twin room,the hostel is kept very clean in all areas.Plenty of storage in the dorms and for food in the kitchen which has all kitchen iteams you need.Julia and her staff are the best,its quite quiet but with a good vib.Close to all that goes with Northbridge 15mins to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ian h
WitchsHat, Manager at Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

THANK YOU, IAN!!! What an amazing review! We miss you here! xx From us all! /Julia

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 79 in Perth
1,111 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 79 in Perth
360 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#4 of 59 in Perth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
East Perth
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel is a beautifully restored 4-star, backpacker accommodation and travellers hostel located close to Perth's shopping, dining and entertainment areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel

Address: 148 Palmerston St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Price Range: $26 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witch`s Hat Backpackers Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Witch's Hat Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good from dorms to twin-”
 of 5 bubbles 646ianh, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Relax, enjoy and be self assured that your possessions are safe. ”
 of 5 bubbles R2342UZjoed, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request for room close to restrooms”
 of 5 bubbles rozerozeroze, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They supply everything you need, deposit required for dishes and your key. We had the double room, plenty of space for two people.”
 of 5 bubbles shanageo, 6 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Do not take the Room 1. too Noisi”
 of 5 bubbles 396clemg, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5