We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The New Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Was extremely un clean. Smelt disgusting and had holes in the walls. Chair was broken and stains every where. Had to pay 30 dollars a night for parking. Biggest rip off. Bath rooms were revolting. Do your self a favour and DO NOT STAY HERE. Absolutely disappointed in this hotel! Would never recommend to anyone I know.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank zoezoe96
Reviewed 28 September 2014

After driving for quite a few hours, we got a rude awakening when arriving at the hotel, there was no parking to park our car to check in so had to pull over on the side where we were not allowed to stop then having to find out we in fact had to pay $30 a night to park our...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank rh4n
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2014

This hotel has a charge for wifi of 20 dollars per day. If you have a car you'll have to pay 30 dollars per day for parking. Rip off to the max. Third floor carpet and room stinks of dirty feet. There in no restaurant so no room service. Terrible experience, if I add all the hidden charges I could...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank marco c
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2014

I was very disappointed with the accomodation it was nothing like it shows online,although the staff were pleasant as for the rooms and the hotel itself I'd never stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharyn W
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2014

I would not recommended this hotel to anyone we thought we were getting a great deal $119 a night they said they had parking we get there and it was a run down dingy place staff not friendly they told us we had to add $30 on top to park our car in the hotel car park scam then they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Levikeen123
Reviewed 15 September 2014 via mobile

Checked in to find they had arranged the wrong room. The car park featuring an elevator does not have direct access to the rooms you must go down to the reception and up. What they don't tell you is it costs you $30 per day to park in the car park. Stains on sheets, windows only cleaned to a point...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hayden T
Eaton, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Last week I stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location, close to the Convention Centre where I attended a three day conference and it is right on the edge of the CBD. While the hotel is a little worn, its facilities were very clean. Julian, on the front desk was very helpful whenever I had enquiries. Parking,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your positive review for our property. I am delighted to see that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. its our pleasure to read that our staff could help to out with all your inquiries. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you. Kind Regards, The Esplanade Team

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2014

It's only redeeming quality was that it was close to the city centre but that's about it. Unclean (finding a lump of hair with a bobby pin still attached by the bed was special) and renovations being required is an understatement! Tired, old, daggy and dirty is the only way to describe this place. I'm just glad I didn't use...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hummab
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post the review. It's good to know that the location of the hotel was helpful for you. You had mention few issues with your stay as well. For the cleanness of the room we will discuss that with the housekeeping manager and address the issues. A/C is centrally controlled we can...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Do you remember the movie with Rik Mayall and Adrian Edmondson titled "Hotel Paradisio"? I'm thinking the New (joke) Esplanade in Perth was where the filming took place. It was filthy, smelly and had a mouldy bathroom that smelled of urine. The AirCon had buttons (just to look like an air conditioner) but in fact blew only very hot air....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Up-dancing
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at The New Esplanade Hotel. I apologies you seem not to have enjoyed your stay with us and compare it with very old building. there is no doubt that our hotel is due for renovation. it is undertaken already but longer and harder than expected....

Reviewed 17 August 2014

worst hotel I ve ever stayed in , interior is like the bates motel nothing "new" about it. No air-conditioning and they take money from your card unauthorised that you wont get back for 10 days incase you decide to use mini bar etc. handy location that's about it! would not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley M
EsplanadeTeam, Front Office Manager at The New Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lesley, Thank you so much for your time to post the review. We understand that we did not meet your expectations and we are disappointed by this. We have central system for the air conditioning, which we can not control. Our hotel is due for renovation after the renovation done that will be change as well. As per the...

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#70 of 81 in Perth
454 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#57 of 81 in Perth
339 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Kings Perth Hotel
#71 of 81 in Perth
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about The New Esplanade Hotel

Address: 18 The Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $99 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your The New Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Esplanade Hotel
New Esplanade Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The New Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose any room.”
 of 5 bubbles jenm709, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay at this hotel.”
  • Hair dryer filthy, the cable had to be cleaned before using.
  • Filthy light switches.
  • Soap holder
  • Filth around bath
  • Windows with paint peeling and mould.
 of 5 bubbles TCSChandlery, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Facing the river was good.”
 of 5 bubbles simonmA1472MA, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles A1857ZBdavidc, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“City views were of a mulitstory car park”
  • The bag is a carryon bag. The radio in the bedside table did not work
  • If you look closely you can see the leaking sewerage from the toilet gasket
 of 5 bubbles Bevo1976, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5