We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Billabong Backpackers Resort

1.6 km from Perth centre
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Billabong Backpackers 381 Beaufort St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of Billabong Backpackers Resort
 Click to rate
Joure, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice backpackers in downtown perth, within walking distance of the CBD, bus stop right in front of their door. Supermarket IGA and enough nice cafes and restaurants close by. Staff is friendly, rooms and kitchen are clean and it's great to have a swimming pool with this weather. It's a bit more expensive than other hostels, but it's clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amarije
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here over several days. Throughout the day the music is overbearingly pumping. And even though there is a noise restriction at night, people were still carrying on into the wee hours. Our window couldnt close which we only realised upon leaving. We stayed in the private room and were not given towels. If you have a family or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivana-banana
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ivana, Many thanks for your feedback. We are an international backpacker hostel and our main demographic is always going to be young holiday makers. I'd agree - it's important for guests to consider this, and the noise they may create, when choosing to stay with us. With that said, we have successfully hosted families, school groups, sports teams and...

Darton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Arrived in Perth from Thailand, and wasn't impressed with the prices of anything in Australia. This hostel had a volleyball court which was good fun, and an outdoor pool. Rooms were average, No complaints. Id stop here again if i ever went back to Australia, which i wont.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi Rick, Many thanks for your honest and frank review. I agree- Australia can be quiet expensive, especially in the context of arriving from South East Asia. A lot of our guests will arrive with Working Holiday Visas and work a casual job to fund their time here. When you consider a waitress or bartender can make +$20 p/hour, this...

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Not very clean. I woke up in the middle of the night and there was a gigantic cockroach on my backpack beside my bed. The wifi connection is poor. Most of the staff didn't seem nice and would roll their eyes when asked about a slow wifi connection or the best place to buy souvenirs in Perth. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanja B
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sanja, Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm really disappointed to hear you didn't find our staff friendly. I work alongside them daily and see them have so many positive interactions with our guests, this is really surprising to me. The Wi-Fi connection can be poor during peak periods. As you travel more around...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at a lot of youth hostels & the Billabong is by far the best. The staff are incredibly friendly & fun, and want everyone to have a great time. The layout of the hostel is really nice so it's easy to make friends around the pool & amazing to have a pool in the hot city. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HebeReilly
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi HebeReilly, Many thanks for you're awesome review. This is the kind of feedback we work hard for and I'm glad you squeezed the maximum enjoyment out of your time here during your extended stay. We're hosts first and foremost and it is great to hear you felt so comfortable here. Pop back in and see us soon! Adam

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Recently stayed at Billabong for a short stop over (2 days). I stayed in the Deluxe private room, so my review is based purely on that. I have no idea what the shared rooms are like. Booking was easy. I was on the road with bad internet at the time so couldn't book online. I sent an email through and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi Brett, Many thanks for your review. I'm glad I was able to assist you directly. The online booking agents have become ubiquitous however sometimes it can pay to speak to a real person and get exactly what you need with a couple of short emails. I'm always available at adam@billabongresort.com.au for anyone that would like to take a leaf...

Dresden, Germany
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The hostel is alright. I think its quit expensive for the things they have to offer. A really nice thing, is that there is a little bathroom for every dorm as i know. But the rooms are not special and there are a lot rules. You feel a bit like your parents are still around... and signs everywhere.. I´ve been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin R
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi Benjamin, We're definitely not the cheapest however I believe we offer good value for money when you consider the free parking ($10 - $20 p/day at other hostels and even more in a private car park), free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, A/C in the rooms and a pool. Regarding the rules, our main rule is there is no alcohol allowed...

Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed 3nights in Billabong Backpackers last week for a quick visit in Perth. We're family of 3 with a 13year old son. The rate is reasonably priced if you are on a budget. We are offered to be on a 3Bed dorm. Bed confi is one single bed and one single bunk bed. I wish they could offer a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aivee C
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi Aivee, Many thanks for your kind words. I'll be passing on your compliments to our staff who will really appreciate them. During your stay we were a little tight for space due to very high occupancy however if you return, go for the 'Standard Double' room. This one has a single top bunk and a queen size bottom bunk...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This was our first experience of a backpackers' hostel (we wanted something cheap and convenient to the airport for a one-night stopover). Booked a standard double room through booking.com and arranged late check-in with the hostel, as we wouldn't be there till 1a.m. Looked okay in the photos, but we were given a dorm room instead of the promised double...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steph G
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi Steph, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Regarding the change of room, I don't have specifics on this however it sounds like the staff were able to reach a mutually acceptable resolution with you. Rest assured this would have been the last resort! If you continue to use backpacker accommodation you'll notice most don't...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Me and my friend stayed here for about 3 weeks. We stayed in a all girls dorm which was great and very clean! The people and the staffs were great butthe guy with the shaved head was the best, he arranged everything for us including our trip to Rottnest to see the quakka and recommend to see perth from Kings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tindra4me
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Hi! Many thanks for your great review. We really appreciate the feedback and I'll be passing on your compliments to the staff member who assisted you with your tour bookings. It sounds like you had a great time in Perth. We'd love to host you again when you return. Many thanks, Adam B- General Manager

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 59 in Perth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 59 in Perth
241 reviews
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#17 of 59 in Perth
67 reviews
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Billabong Resort is the best in budget traveller accommodation in Perth. It's perfect for backpackers, families or anyone visiting Perth on holidays or business and looking for a budget option. The Billabong has just completed a major renovations and has two floors of brand new rooms that are the best in Perth. We have dorms, private rooms and even deluxe double rooms that are like a hotel room but at a fraction of the price! ***Just voted Best Backpackers in Western Australia 2015*** Some of the facilities available are private bathrooms in all rooms including dorms, Air-conditioning, swimming pool, female only dorms, free parking, free breakfast, laundry, tour desk, WIFI, internet cafe and many more. Located on the funky Beaufort St it's a short walk to cafes, restaurants, bars and the centre on the city. Billabong is the ultimate in traveler accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Billabong Backpackers Resort

Address: Billabong Backpackers 381 Beaufort St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Price Range: $24 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Billabong Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Billabong Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Billabong Backpackers Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private Deluxe rooms have recently renovated private ensuites, good showers”
 of 5 bubbles brettd437, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a room with view of the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 307aiveec, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if u want peace and quiet request a room away from the pool area as it is the social hangout spot most night.”
 of 5 bubbles mackdaddy2016, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Its cheaper to stay here during Winter”
 of 5 bubbles L3241SJjamesr, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“There's no elevator, so might wanna get lower level rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Fadzrina, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5