We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia on William

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia on William
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia on William
See the most recent reviews
Showing 97: English reviews
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Don't expect any courtesy when it comes to "late checkout". The hostel was pretty empty, nevertheless I couldn't leave any minute late otherwise I would lose the key deposit or have to pay for another day. Shame, very greedy. Sometimes you become blind if you think only about the money. Anyway, even being a very old building, the elevator was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fernando236
Andy A, Manager at Britannia on William, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the feedback, it was explained that the reason we could not give late check out was that someone was booked into that room. Option where given to use facilities, nothing greedy about it, sometimes situation do not suit people and their first reaction is a negative one. If we can help with anything in the future please...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

This hostel is huge, but it still clean. Room are pretty spacious but can be warm(fortunately we had fans). The location is great, the wifi is only available in the courtyard. The kitchen is ok but can get really warm. I did not stay a long time but I don't have bad memories. This hostel is big but clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffreybogacz
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Good points - free wifi even though it's only in the reception area. Facilities for printing, scanning and use of computers. Toilets and showers excellent - there is a cubicle before the shower tray so you can keep your valuables and clothes with you when showering and everything very clean. Lots of places to eat nearby. Poor points - customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali921
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before going to the airport. It was the cheapest in Perth for a private room. The bed was comfy and the communal kitchen and bathroom areas were big and clean. The kitchen was long and narrow so might get crowded at dinner times. Everyone seemed to abide by the rules that the hostel had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuperT89
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 May 2016

we choose this hostel for our last night in Perth because get cheapest price compare to other hostel. friendly receptionist. bathroom and kitchen are clean. room/bed quite okay. recommended for backpacker and short stay only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billahnur
Paris, France
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed there 4 months, in a double room, because this hostel is one of the best values in town for double rooms. + good location, heart of northbridge + bathrooms and kitchen are very clean + very good equipment in the kitchen, except the oven + beds are comfy - non commercial and unfriendly chinese manager. She stole us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire N
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Considering i had been in the country for a matter of hours and this was my first interaction with Australian culture/life. The staff (Male and female) on the reception couldn't of given me a worst impression, they were AWFUL. By this i mean they were rude to not only myself, by giving me short answers to all my questions, laughing/smiling...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travelduo900
Reviewed 7 February 2016

So I live 3 hours from Perth, but seeing as I had a Perth license I couldn't stay. I asked if having a picture of an international passport would suffice, and they assured me it would. After showing my international passport the owner said she would speak to me outside then locked me out? I was terribly confused considering they...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ipalita
Andy A, Manager at Britannia on William, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, but you can not really comment of our facility as you did not make it past our reception. We credit our hostel to be a safe, clean and comfortable environment. We have rights that protect our in house guest. People can only stay here when they are guests. If people are not accepted due to not...

Reviewed 1 February 2016

Myself and my partner only stayed here for one night, before going to the airport. We booked a double private room, the room was very clean, but basic. There was a double bed, but also a small table with a chair and also a bedside table. There was only a double socket, which had a fan and a lamp, so...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank EvelynT1982
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 1 night while waiting for our flight to Bali in the morning. It is located in the more affordable area of perth and has some decent pubs and restaurants closeby. The room was reasonabley priced though basic. The furniture consisted of pretty much a double bed, table and fan. We had shared toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tam S

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
Citylights Hotel
#64 of 124 in Greater Perth
18 reviews
Perth CBD
Haus Accommodation
Haus Accommodation
#28 of 61 in Perth
35 reviews
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Perth CBD
Ozi Inn Backpackers
Ozi Inn Backpackers
#32 of 61 in Perth
79 reviews
Perth CBD
Backpack City and Surf
Backpack City and Surf
#27 of 61 in Perth
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Britannia on William is a budget backpacker style accommodation, it does have a number of private rooms and bunk rooms. These are very basic private rooms that offer a great rate for the budget traveller, we are not a hotel. Share facilities, bathrooms, kitchen and TV rooms. We have a spacious courtyard and are open 24 hours a day. Please call if you have any further questions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia on William

Address: 253 William St, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Formerly YHA)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Price Range: $21 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia on William 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Britannia on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia On William Backpackers Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Britannia on William staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in the Back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Alfyman, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“book somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles travelduo900, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Private and shared looked good!”
 of 5 bubbles Evine21, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
“try not to sleep past about 9 as the cleaners will wake you up”
 of 5 bubbles 297492, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles danlL9755OU, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5