We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alderney on Hay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Alderney on Hay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alderney on Hay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 255: English reviews
Bunbur
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Booked two rooms as always can't get into room till 2pm only to be told rooms weren't ready not acceptable had to get angry and told the poor girl to get hold management with a no show as we pay from 2pm ask for a late check out for the inconvenience still no show from management ,then told we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terry M
Management response:

Dear Terry M. It is very clear on all your paperwork, all websites we are on or even had you inquired with any of our staff members you would have seen the standard check in time is at 2pm. You arrived at the property and demanded an early check in and were advised that unfortunately due to the large group...

Singapore
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I booked 2 room for 12 people. It's near to the City Cat bus stops. There is an eatery and a supermarket nearby. The room are great. We are able to cook some meals during the week. The bathroom not so great but meet the minimum requirement. There are 1 double bed, 2 single beds and 1 sofa. As kids...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoyceTan
Management response:

Dear JoyceTan, Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again in the future.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 May 2016

the service and staff are excellence. the price is affordable. suitable for family and friends. apartment is simple but comfortable, nice and clean. huge balcony. have kitchen utensils and laundry. have pool if want to swim. near the car rental company, CAT bus (free bus), restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billahnur
Management response:

Thank you for Staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in the future.

Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Have stayed at the Alderney quite a few times over the years. It is close to the middle of Perth and walking distance to Forrest Chase and Elizabeth Quay. This is provided you don't mind walking, otherwise the free CAT bus has a stop not far from the entrance. Undercover parking is provided which is a big seller for me....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Richard A, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Julie R, Thank you for your feedback, We would like to apologise as unfortunately one lift is Out of Order due to the part damaged not being stocked in Australia and have ordered this to be produced and it should soon be arriving to be installed shortly. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays and look forward to...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Visited 2015 and 2016 - both times, I have found the staff and services offered by Alderney On Hay to be excellent. The welcome from staff is overwhelming, nothing is too much trouble. Fast, efficient check in. Exceptionally clean with lovely rooms and great showers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nirushab
Richard A, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Nirushab, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you back again the next time you visit Perth.

Mount Lavinia, null, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Excellent 1 or 2 bedroom apartments for a family. Apartments are simple but very clean and tidy and include a kitchen and separate laundry. Well, From reservation till the check out. i was provided with satisfying services.Check in was done at a glimpse. The staff at the reception was so helpful, Cheering,Professional and always with a smile.The room was cleaned(nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buddhi J
Richard A, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Buddhi J, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again in the future.

Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Front staff were very rude, didn't seem interested in helping with anything. Only one lift was working so waiting to get on to go anywhere was a 10 min wait, then once you were on would take you all over the place before getting to where you wanted. Booked for 5 people only got 4 beds, the pull out bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demiashley
Richard A, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Demiashley Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately there is 1 lift that is Out of Order as the part requiring replacement is not stocked in Australia and is being specially manufactured. Our Night Staff manager received your complaint regarding the sofa bed and immediately brought up the roll-away bed and had the sofa bed fixed up also. We are...

Albany, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The foyer was full of clients wanting to check-in and everybody had problems and the air conditioner in our room had not been cleaned or serviced as huge amounts of dirt and dust fell out on the pillow I was using, the blankets were smelly. I have previously stayed here with no problems but not so this time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ihjury
Richard A, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, The only problems we have during check-ins is customers attempting to check into a booking under another persons name. On check-in it is a requirement to produce a Photo I.D. that matches the bookings name and to pay the security deposit if these are done there should be no issues during this time. Unfortunately at around 2pm a...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 April 2016

After arriving to check-in (after previously stated we will be checking in at 2pm) We were made to wait 40 mins as the room was not ready. The room was clean, but the outside balcony area was stained and disgusting. We asked for a fresh towel after swimming in the pool (not sure that was a good idea in hindsight!)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikki888522
Richard A, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, Thank you for your feedback after doing some investigation i have found the following, You have arrived and attempted to check into the property at 1:25pm as the room was not ready the receptionist had organized you access into the car park and advised you that the room was being cleaned and would be ready by 2pm (which...

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Two lifts of which one works, Sauna that looks as though it last worked over a year ago, more stains on the carpet floors in the hall ways! Any person that rates/Reviews a place where they stay please take into account more than the fact the building has a pool so give it four stars! it has three and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean T
Richard A, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Dean T, We would firstly like to thank you for your feedback, Unfortunately 1 of the lifts is currently out of order due to a mechanical fault and due to this we have been given no other option but to deactivate this until the replacement part has been shipped over. Unfortunately no companies in Perth had this part...

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (85)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#65 of 79 in Perth
145 reviews
Mantra on Hay
#24 of 79 in Perth
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Price Range: $88 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alderney on Hay staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Alderney on Hay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take towels for the pool; request Northern side of the hotel as it is quieter.”
  • View from our 4th floor balcony.
 of 5 bubbles 152rhondas, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from lift if you can”
 of 5 bubbles Saltwater-living, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here geta room as far away from the lifts as possible”
 of 5 bubbles 80warrent, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Platinum or Deluxe.”
 of 5 bubbles 49buddhij, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles nikki888522, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay