We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Swan Barracks

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Swan Barracks
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Swan Barracks
 Click to rate
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Wonderfull relaxed atmosphere right in the middle of town. The wooden floor boards and domed roof give the place a wonderfully historic feel. It is an easy walk to everythung in the CBD. Very helpfull frindly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manger at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay and the historic charm!! Thanks for the feedback great to hear positive reviews about our staff & yes we have a great location within the CBD.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Nice big hostel but it was way too quiet therefore making it seem empty. Very basic kitchen and bathrooms. The location however was great for walking into the city or staying around northbridge for a night out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HannahDarby85
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we do have a great location to explore Perth city. Our common area is a large area with different activities in there incl. pool & ping pong but I can understand how sometimes when its a quiet night in there it may seem empty....

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I lived here for a month Jan 16' - Feb 16'. First place I came in Australia and I loved it. Its definitely a bog standard hostel. The staff were awesome and I think the common area was great to meet new people. The kitchen downstairs could definitely be modernised a lot and fix the hobs that were broken when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hcowenhutton
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback its appreciated. We are really working on our cleanliness & it's always great to here that our staff are doing an awesome job. Our common area / bar is a great space to make new friends. I will pass on the kitchen feedback to maintenance so we can work...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

I was in between cities when I discovered the Old Swan Barracks hostel on Francis street, near the centre of Perth. The backpackers is huge with a gigantic main hall, bar, cinema sized TV screens and comfortable couches. The laundry is one of the best I've seen in a backpackers with large washing machines and cost effective dryers. The outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary G
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mary we really appreciate the positive feedback and love hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us. We too agree that we have a great common area and location within Perth. Hopefully we will see you back again :)

Divonne-les-Bains, France
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 nights there, what a great time spent. A very clean very large youth hostel with a very nice relaxing room as well as a bar. Everything is very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Location is great as well,close to bars and restaurant. So far obe of the best youth hostel we've been to!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barista01
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome feedback its lovely to hear that we are one of the best hostels you have stayed at and you had such a great time!! We have been focusing on our cleanliness so it is great to see its been noticed. If you are back in Perth again we look forward to seeing you...

Tartu, Estonia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I was travelling with my girlfriend at that time and booked a private room for 2 in advance. Had a TV, even Internet cause the Telstra free WiFi reached our room. Decent room with shared bathroom. After a week we came back to the same hostel and took a dorm room which was horrible! Oohh.. the stink from all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJyrgen
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback. We do have a great location & parking at $10 a night is a bargain. I am sorry that on your second stay though your experience with a share dorm wasn't the best. We do try our best to encourage everyone to keep their belongs tidy with daily room checks...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Good location in Northbridge. Price is what you expect to pay for in a backpackers. We had a large group staying there. The accomodation doubled the bar prices and banned external alcohol. Threatened to kick us out for bringing drinks into our rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dylanh508
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review it is appreciated though I am a little confused as to the problems you had with us. As explained upon check in & on the sign in sheet all guests are asked to read and sign external alcohol is banned due to our liquor licensing law. Guest who breach this agreement and continue to...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Did't really enjoy staying there. Too old facilities, poor sound-proofing, and there's no lockers in our room to store our bags unless store them at the reception. Windows cannot be locked or even closed tightly. You can cook there but have to deposit tablewares for 10 bucks. The staff are nice though.

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ziyuezuo
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate feedback and like to hear areas we can improve on. We do have lockers in the rooms due to space we cant have big ones but the ones we have are perfect for valuables and day to day items with hanging space and if required we can store your backpacks in our luggage...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hostel around December time on my own. The staff were friendly at the reception area and helpful. The hallways where the dorms were located were a bit smelly, could be the amount of shoes that were outside the rooms or maybe the carpet. The rooms were average and the bathrooms too. The common area is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Your feedback is greatly appreciated thank you. We do have several shoe racks in the hallways to encourage people to keep smelly/dirty shoes out of the shared rooms & I can appreciate sometimes there is a few. We regularly clean out the unclaimed ones. Happy to see though that overall you enjoyed your stay and our common area which is...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Stayed at the hostel for one night. It was clean and had air con unit and a heater with a TV as well. Bed was comfortable. Great location, central to Northbridge with a good selection of cafes around. Walking distance to the train station as well. The downstairs common area is great lots of choice of seating. The kitchen is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie N
OldSwanBarracks, Duty Manager at The Old Swan Barracks, responded to this review

Thank you Marie for your review we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Please if you do stay with us let us know if something is not working and we will try our best to have it fixed asap. Our location is great super central and we hope that we see you again.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
Citylights Hotel
#65 of 124 in Greater Perth
19 reviews
Perth CBD
Britannia on William
Britannia on William
#32 of 59 in Perth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Haus Accommodation
Haus Accommodation
#29 of 59 in Perth
35 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 59 in Perth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Perth's most unique Backpacker Hostel. Situated in the heart of Perth in the Northbridge entertainment area and only several minutes away from the rail and bus terminals. Built in 1896 and a State Listed Heritage Building, The Old Swan Barracks offers quality accommodation and fantastic facilities at very affordable prices. Completely renovated in 2008, a stay at the Barracks provides the budget backpacker with the best that Perth has to offer, with a wide variety of accommodation from twelve bed dorms to private rooms. Rates from $25 per night include a free breakfast. The Barracks Bar, located in our Great Hall has nightly entertainment and offers a wide variety of Australian beers, wines, and beverages. Various activities each night include Wed. Pizza night, Thurs BBQ night, pool competitions and DJs. Book early to avoid disappointment. WINNER Best Hostel 2012 in Western Australia WINNER Best Backpacker Night in WA 2011 FINALIST Best Hostel in WA 2008, 09, 10 & 11 ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Swan Barracks

Address: 6 Francis St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Price Range: $28 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Swan Barracks 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Old Swan Barracks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Swan Barracks Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Swan Barracks staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Old Swan Barracks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always get the private room or better”
MJyrgen, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the back of the hostel if you can but not too close to the common room”
marien556, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here, stay a little further out for a more comfortable stay.”
162kirstyf, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back are better as quieter and better isolated from noise”
matteovignoli95, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“if you don't want a busy room, book a smaller dorm room - less people less luggage!”
g92f, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5