We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (451)
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (56)


#32 of 75 hotels in Auckland Central
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Car park
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Filipino and 5 more
1467Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 327
  • 620
  • 359
  • 110
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AnneKemp wrote a review Jul. 2021
2 contributions
Recommended Beautiful clean room , well equipped with Jug ,tea coffee, hairdryer,iron,safe Comfy bed. eco friendly-TV and lights go out when leaving room. Beautiful food. Staff were lovely and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Have rooms available for lift for people like me with limited mobility
See more room tips
Response from Victor Fung, Marketing at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Abbyruth2931, Thank you for your feedback. We tried our best in these challenging times and we really appreciate your support. We value the relationship and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service. Please feel free to contact us if you need any other assistance. Many thanks Victor
Read more
malibustacey2013 wrote a review Jul. 2021
Rotorua, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
No parking, the place is dirty, the service average, the rooms simple, the bedding is cheap. I was there with my family. There is no area to park to check in and there parking is limited so you need to drive around the neighborhood looking for a park. The room was a weirdly shaped cheaply furnished and dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Victor Fung, Marketing at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Malibustacey, Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to your recent stayed. At Auckland City Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction but unfortunately, we did not meet the expectations. As we would like to address this issue urgently, are you able to supply us with your room number,date check in or registered name to victor@jrhnz.com? We apologies again for the inconvenience caused and if you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free contact me at the above address. Yours in service, Victor
Read more
Zoe wrote a review Jul. 2021
2 contributions
Was a great place to stay, can’t fault the room but the cooked breakfast they cooked us was appalling! The cook definitely didn’t know what they were doing. There were 2 little mushrooms, 1 mini sausage, and the ‘scrambled’ eggs were just clumps of white and yellow. A child could cook better than that.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Victor Fung, General Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Zoeccccc, Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies. We have spoken to the cook and have addressed the issue respectively. This is not up to our standard hence for your next visit, please contact me at victor@jrhnz.com for two complimentary breakfasts. Thank you again for your feedback. Victor
Read more
Meander540640 wrote a review Jul. 2021
1 contribution
Had a great stay here and used the venue to host a birthday party. Cool character location and the staff & food were top notch. Would recommend Auckland City Hotel for anyone looking to host an event.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
George Monroe wrote a review Jul. 2021
1 contribution
Good experience...we had a very enjoyable stay. the room was bright and cheery and well maintained. the staff was very friendly and helpful....we were very pleased to have parking and the location was excellent. very near many Auckland attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
US$60 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
auckland city hotel-hobson st hotel auckland central
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Which popular attractions are close to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
Nearby attractions include Weta Workshop Unleashed (0.4 km), SkyTower (0.4 km), and Odyssey Sensory Maze (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fondou Cafe, Remedy Coffee, and Cafe Midnight Express.
Is Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Indonesian, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.2 km), Eden Garden (2.9 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.4 km).