We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barclay Suites Auckland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barclay Suites Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barclay Suites Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 521: English reviews
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 November 2014

First- if you're a family wanting a large multi-bedroom self-contained apartment then the room size and layout might suit you. However, as a business traveler I would not stay here again - missing key business amenities (no breakfast, no room service, no black out curtains and internet $15 for 24 hours and didn't work when in the bedroom!). It says...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RK8Coops
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review RK8Coops It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have mentioned – please contact me at franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from...

Sydney
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Great spot in the city, 2 minute walk up to Sky City after a recommendation from the Concierge we tried several cafes in the vicinity of the hotel and really happy as we like our strong coffee and they were off the beaten track. Apartment had heaps of space, two very comfortable sofas, flat screen tv with sky and views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corporate81
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review corporate81 We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience for all guests through excellent customer service. Our Suites are completely self-contained, many with commanding views over Auckland Harbour and the central city. As we are situated between...

traveltothestars
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the views from both our lounge and bedroom - was great to have a balcony and it felt like the Sky Tower had been placed perfectly just for us to view from the balcony! Great service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveltothestars
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review traveltothestars We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience for all guests through excellent customer service. Our Suites are completely self-contained, many with commanding views over Auckland Harbour and the central city. As we are situated between...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We were on the 17th floor ( I think there were 26 floors total) and had a sweeping view from the Sky Tower and the harbour. Well laid out suite with comfortable bed and quiet at night- high pressure shower was great. Being able to cook a meal in was a nice change (the little touches like the salt and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie B
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review Jamie B, We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience for all guests through excellent customer service. Our Suites are completely self-contained, many with commanding views over Auckland Harbour and the central city. As we are situated...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2014

After looking at Trip Advisor to find 4 nights in central Auckland I had no hesitation in booking a one-bedroom executive apartment. Wasn't worried re A/C as October not the warmest month in Auckland but asked for a higher floor. We were on floor 20 with a view to the harbour bridge which was very nice with the sky tower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review Annette T We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience for all guests through excellent customer service. Our Suites are completely self-contained, many with commanding views over Auckland Harbour and the central city. As we are situated...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a one bedroom and two bedroom apartment. Great location, handy to everything. Staff were great, really helpful, friendly and sorted our issues with car parking a high car quickly. The one bedroom had bigger couches than the two bedroom, which we thought rather strange. Both apartments clean. Not many opening windows, mostly sliding doors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LesleySnz
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review LesleySnz We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. Our team has reviewed your feedback and this has been discussed at our morning staff briefing – it’s great to see we are on the right track to delivering a great accommodation experience. Don’t forget to book direct...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Stayed at Barclay for x2 nights recently in a deluxe 1 bedroom suite Pros *HUGE! Big living/dining, large bedroom and bathroom, washer/dryer, small kitchen with all amenities (dishwasher, fridge, oven/stove, microwave, cutlery, plates, etc.) Also a sofa bed. *great location - it's on a service road so it's a bit quieter. Less than a 5 minute walk to the viaduct,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allyt322
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review allyt322 We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. Our team has reviewed your feedback and this has been discussed at our morning staff briefing – it’s great to see we are on the right track to delivering a great accommodation experience. Don’t forget to book direct...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Helpful staff (very accommodating for early arrivals). However, don't book your tours from them because it's almost 100% more expensive than tour companies will charge. Go to a backpacker's hotel in booking tours-- very affordable (same tours as the hotel was booking). Complimentary Gym is offsite (about 5 mins walk) with basic amenities. Grocery stores are nearby so you can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheAdventuresofET
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review TheAdventuresofET It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you have mentioned – please contact me at franzs@barclaysuites.co.nz Thank you again and I look...

Reviewed 23 October 2014 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay on the highest floor. The views of the Sky Tower and harbour were amazing. The suite was clean, cozy and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Arie & Kinjal (?) at the front desk. Probably the best deal you can find in Auckland considering the proximty to Queen St.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aurora S
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review Aurora S, We were pleased to read you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. The team at Barclay Suites take pride in providing an excellent experience for all guests through excellent customer service. Our Suites are completely self-contained, many with commanding views over Auckland Harbour and the central city. As we are situated...

Reviewed 20 October 2014

Stay here for three nights on level 16 in a two bedroom apartment, it was fab had everything we needed. Only downfall was it wasn't that clean, there was mold around the place in bathrooms and sink. The beds were clean however. Also its a bit on the noisy side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheZorbas
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback TheZorbas, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience here at Barclay Suites. Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland City and as you have mentioned a "Great Location" close to most facilities (Supermarkets, public transport, Queen St, Viaduct Harbour ) We pride ourselves on our spacious self contained Suites and...

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,199 reviews
0.3 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,408 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland
1,695 reviews
0.1 km away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 66 in Auckland
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $166 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barclay Suites Auckland staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
canada
over a year ago
5 months ago
5 months ago
Barron, Wisconsin
5 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Barclay Suites Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Due to the construction, a room in the high floors will be better.”
Peitoh, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This hotel is at a busy intersection, so a room on a higher floor would be quieter.”
Cheng-Metz, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the 19th Floor with very good views.”
Brigham69, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if air con is important, then dont stay here”
962shanes, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are 25 floors with small balconies - if worried by heights get lower floors.”
940barried, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5