We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3 Mercury Lane, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
eDreams
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (3)

About

#34 of 132 Speciality lodging in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to BK Hostel!Located in the centre of Auckland, major sights like Queen Street, the Aotea Square, the Civic Theatre, many parks and gardens and the Waterfront are only a few minutes walk away. Having cafes, bars, restaurants, post shops and banks close by daily jobs can easily be done from here.Rebuilt in 2003, our hostel offers a total of 49 rooms with most of them having large windows. Whether you are a backpacker looking for a budget dorm bed or prefer a bit more privacy in a single room we can find the right thing for you. We also offer weekly rates for those who want to experience Auckland for longer than just a few days. All our beds are freshly made providing linen, sheets, a duvet and a pillow as well as good quality mattresses for our single and queen-size beds. Every room is regularly cleaned and equipped with closets. With the exception of the dorm rooms all our rooms are also equipped with a desk and a chair making your stay as convenient as possible. The two kitchens are spacious and clean and equipped with everything to store, cook and enjoy your food. Both of them provide a separate tap for filtered water as well as an unlimited access to hot water. Our bathrooms provide separate, clean, self-contained shower cabins and toilets. If you do not feel like getting into Auckland’s nightlife make yourself comfortable in our spacious lounge. You can watch TV or a movie out of our DVD library or have a game of pool with your mates.Other features of our facility are:* Very safe (Fire safety & High tech security camera approved)* Friendly helpful staff* Coin operated laundry* Luggage storage (short & long term storage available) – bikes, bags,surfboard…* Towels, iron, hair dryer, fans, scale, adaptor etc available for hire.* Internet/Wi-Fi available* Pay phone* 24 hour access with a card key provided* Visa, Master Card, Eftpos available* Link bus route* Airport transport on arrangement or from the close by bus stop of the AirBus ExpressEnjoy your stay in Auckland! :)
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
90Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 31
  • 19
  • 8
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ELA wrote a review Jun. 2020
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
I've checked in early March, booked a single room for one week but kept extending and eventually became a long stay tenant which I'd personally recommend. The room was very clean and tidy as well as all the shared facilities like kitchen, bathrooms and laundry. A window facing Mercury Lane gave me a taste of the city view. Heater is provided in the room and also blankets and hot water bottles are available for rent if you feel particularly cold. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, happy to help anytime with everything. The common TV area is huge and very comfortable either you're up to watch a movie, read a book or play pool (a pool table is available too). People also use to hung around to do table games or jigsaw puzzle. Prime location!! You'll find yourself in the heart of K' Road where bars, pubs, restaurants, banks, convenience stores, retro fashion shops, and load of more is just outside of the door!! Queen St. just 5min walk away!! I strongly recommend this accommodation as one of the friendliest backpackers in Auckland city to make yourself at home. Thanks BK Hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Single room facing Mercury Lane is quiet large and sunny, also quieter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Euntaek Yun, General Manager at BK Hostel
Responded Aug. 17, 2020
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Tariq G wrote a review Feb. 2020
Cairo, Egypt13 contributions12 helpful votes
BK Hostel team are really friendly and welcoming, the amenities including kitchen, bathroom and wifi are exactly what I needed and the beds are comfy and rooms are quiet for a good night sleep. The best of all is the ability to meet fellow travellers and share experiences. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BKHostelTeam, Manager at BK Hostel
Responded Feb. 15, 2020
Thanks for your review Tariq! We hope you enjoyed Auckland. See you soon!
Read more
Alyson wrote a review Jan. 2020
2 contributions
Out of all the hostels Ive been to, BK Hostel was one of the best. The staff is super friendly, kitchen and bathrooms are clean and the rooms are great. You also get lockers which is great to store valuables. (Bring you own lock). Overall I had a perfect stay. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BKHostelTeam, Manager at BK Hostel
Responded Jan. 10, 2020
Thank you for you review Alyson! We hope to see you soon BK Hostel
Read more
Laaa wrote a review Dec. 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
Korean staff is really rude. The way she talks made me always felt bad. Who said..staffs are kind. I really don't understand. I would rather stay at YMCA which is just next here....아 정말 화나는거 참음 한국사람한테만 불친절한건지 잘모르겠음
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from BKHostelTeam, Manager at BK Hostel
Responded Dec. 26, 2019
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that you have had issues during your stay with us. We also are surprised to read that you thought our staff was rude to you because our front office team will do everything in their power to be helpful and friendly to guests as you can see on other reviews. In your case an early check-in (2 hours before), extend your stay without the need to change rooms. Also if you were cold was because you didn’t sleep under the blankets like you supposed to do. Hope this clarifies the issue and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Auckland. Kind regards, BK Hostel
Read more
Vulcho wrote a review Jul. 2019
1 contribution
The room when i arrived smell like a foot and have foot nails on the carpet. The reception can't give me a real solution. At least bathroom was clean and the security its fine. Im really expect more than this kind of place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about BK Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to BK Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Real Groovy Records (0.3 km), Myers Park (0.4 km), and Karangahape Road (K Road) (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BK Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, self serve laundry, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at BK Hostel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BK Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Apero Food & Wine, Le Garde-Manger, and Mela - Restaurant.
Is BK Hostel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are there any historical sites close to BK Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.4 km), Auckland Town Hall (0.7 km), and Highwic (2.1 km).