We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quality Hotel Parnell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
Panoramas (38)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

577 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Parnell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 547: English reviews
Hamilton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only stayed one night and the room I was in had a great view of the harbour. The beds were very comfortable and I enjoyed a great night's sleep. The air conditioning kept the room at a comfortable temperature. The room was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. The fridge contained bottled water that you had to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jewlzcee
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear Jewlzcee, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and made use of the Air Conditioning newly installed in guest rooms. The bottled water in rooms is to raise money for the Yellow Eyed Penguin Trust which...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only stayed one night but were very pleased with all facilities. Reception staff friendly and very helpful. Although our room was smallish, it was clean and well appointed. Only disadvantage: that it was on the third floor and had to carry suitcase up three flights of outdoor concrete stairs. Parking area directly below with ample spaces provided for guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb-nz
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear Barb-nz, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad to hear you were happy with the facilities and that staff were friendly, it is always encouraging hearing positive feedback. Our North Wing is fully accessible via elevator however our other wing does need stairs to access higher...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Let me name some of the ways: Dust Green stained bath Missing cupboard doors Noisy pipes Curtains that don't meet Very slow WIFI water bottle with open seal Poor Manchester TV in poor location Location Plastic curtain door into bathroom Dirty shower curtain Poor breakfast menu Flat pillows

 Report
Helpful?
Thank classicchch
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear classicchch, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We always encourage direct contract with us so we are able to resolve any concerns there may be. Without an ideal of the particular room of concern we are not able to quickly investigate and provide the appropriate remedy, if staff are not doing the job that is to be...

Sydney
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This is a solid 4 star hotel. It is not in downtown Auckland, but in a pleasant residential suburb adjacent to the city. Parnell has a number of excellent restaurants. I chose the Quality Hotel as it enabled me to walk to a business dinner held in Parnell. I wasn't expecting a great deal from the hotel. I was booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear Geddes_7, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and you found is accessible for your business in Parnell. We appreciate your other feedback and will take it under advisement, we have recently finished installing Air Conditioning with thanks to...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2016

King balcony air conditioned room has a nice view over Parnell to the harbour. Comfortable bed with all basic facilities. Shower over bath may not be suitable for older less able people.Reception staff very cheery and welcoming. very handy to CBD and Vector Arena.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davemarg2016
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear davemarg2016, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you found your room comfortable and accessible to Vector Arena. We appreciate your feedback in regards to bathrooms and will be something to be looked at for future capital expenditure projects. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Yours sincerely, Wayne Darbyshire...

Melaka, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The staff were very polite, cordial & helpful. The facilities provided at our room were beyond our expectations, for the price we were charged. The place was very safe & secure and the room was very clean, and the staff who came daily to clean the rooms were polite, pleasant, and efficient

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cliffordsen
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear cliffordsen, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear your stay exceeded your expectations and that your room was well maintained. We are always encouraged to hear positive feedback of our staff, so we know that they are delivering the service that is expected. We...

Dallas
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I give this hotel high marks. It is solid without being spectacular. In a wonderful residential area, it's within easy walking distance to the vast array of restaurants and shops on Parnell Road, and just a 10 minute drive to central Auckland. Free parking is a huge bonus. My room on the top floor had a great view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank txtravDallas
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear txtravDallas, Thank you for your ongoing support of our Hotel, it is with your support that we can give back to the community being owned by a registered Charity. We are glad to hear you had a great view from your room and and you enjoyed a meal at Gladstones Restaurant. We have taken guest feedback in regards to...

San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Clean, comfortable, professional staff, quiet, the fact that a portion of their room inventory is stairway accessible only should be noted, somewhat remote from anything else. Excellent restaurant service, staff and food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear Rick C, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear your room was comfortable and found our staff professional. We are committed to investing in the Hotel, the recent addition of Air Conditioning is an example of that and there will be other future...

Placentia, California
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The hotel is in a good residential neighborhood. It's about 10-15 min drive to downtown. Free parking. 5 min walk to Parnell restaurants and shops. The room was average but had a balcony with a great view. It has a mini fridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janelle M
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear Janelle M, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view from your room. We are committed to the ongoing investment in our Hotel, Air conditioning is a recent example of this along with room refurbishments which are ongoing. We hope...

Aurora, Illinois
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at QHP for 3 nights in the beginning of this month. We loved their hospitality and location. 10 min drive to downtown Auckland. You can go to downtown Parnell which is about a 10min walk. The hotel is a bit on the older side so do not be surprised by that. However to us it did not matter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aquinotts64
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review

Dear Aquinotts64, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. We have recently completed the installation of Air conditioning for all guest rooms with thanks to guest feedback which has meant other work had to looked at...

339 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (224)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Balcony Full Facilities (36)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Queen with Balcony (36)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
One Bedroom Standard King (30)
Viewed
One King Bed, Balcony (26)
Viewed
One King Bed, Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Premium Balcony (35)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
2.3 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#28 of 68 in Auckland
595 reviews
4.1 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#7 of 68 in Auckland
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,632 reviews
2.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
1,056 reviews
2.3 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $125 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Hotel Parnell staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel Parnell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a restaurant across the road from the hotel which offers excellent food.”
 of 5 bubbles 558jenniferh, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view. On this stay I was on the ground floor. previously on the 4th floor. Both gave an awesome view of the city and harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles rowenam350, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It's worth it to pay extra for room with view.”
 of 5 bubbles txtravDallas, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good sized, clean, well serviced. Only issue was third floor up and no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 94RickC, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the upper levels”
 of 5 bubbles 939janellem, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay