We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,255: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great hotel and the location is a great bonus-shopping,restaurants,waterfront ,sightseeing,tours,it was a short taxi ride down to the port where we got onto our cruise ship taking us to some beautiful Pacific islands.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abey A
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abey A Thank you for commenting on your stay at The Grand Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you had a wonderful cruise! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice hotel in convenient location. We had some problems (not associated with this hotel) were some paperwork destined for us had gone missing. The staff bent over backwards to help us and they resolved the problem. The room was very comfortable and clean and the restaurant was comfortable and the food well prepared and not to expensive. can thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deaneej
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear deaneej Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our wonderful team were able to help you. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Gave us an upgrade with champagne (birthday). Free money for the casino to have a bit of fun. Gave us recommendations for the bagel place/Depot next door, tried both and both superb. Also The Blues rugby team (apparently a big deal) were staying here, so was their response when I asked them why they were all wearing the same white...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jisagod2u
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jisagod2u Many thanks for commenting on your recent visit to The Grand Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked in to the Skycity Grand for our first night in NZ and got a premium luxury King suite. Room was very comfortable, particularly loved the bathroom with bath and shower. Fantastic views over Auckland and very quiet. Good bars and restaurants around so didnt have to go too far for good food if you didnt want to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizskel
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lizskel Thank for reviewing your stay at The Grand Hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable time - you are quite right, with so many great restaurants and bars here at Skycity, you do not need to venture far! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reviews are always based on personal experience and share mine. For my business I am traveling for last 20 years for about 100 days/year and have the privilege to stay in 5 stars accommodations, this is to say that have some background to compare structures. This time it did not work here. Upon arrival after 16 hours flight at 11:30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evvivalavita66
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Evvivalavita66 Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Grand Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. With many large city events, we have recently been fully booked on many nights. Our housekeeping team have been working hard to have our rooms ready as soon as possible for our incoming guests and these...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in a Premium Luxury King Suite and it was amazing! I was so impressed with how quiet the room was, I only wished that we had stayed longer! I really loved this place. I just wanted to also point out, that I called reservations to pre-pay for the room before we arrived and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacee80
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Hello jacee80 Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Grand Hotel and I look forward to passing your compliments onto all of the teams. Our spa and swimming pool have been a little busier than normal with our schools being on holiday and with Auckland hosting the World Masters...

Essendon North, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was my first place of stay in Auckland, we got in around 8pm. Unfortunately we did get stuck behind a group check in, but what can you do. We were seen to and given our room key quite quickly. The room was very nicely presented, which was to be expected. Clean and wasted for our first night, I wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frangipani44
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frangipani44 Thank you for reviewing your stay, I am pleased that we were a pleasant welcome to Auckland and only sorry you couldn't stay any longer. We hope you had a great time in New Zealand! Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed to nights on the 20th floor. Quiet room with beautiful rain shower and full bathtub. Comfortable bed and pillows, clean but a little dusty which was weird. Friendly staff willing to do anything they could to improve our stay. Nice surrounding restaurants. Just started shuttle service to airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald J
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donald J Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Grand Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to passing your compliments onto the team. I am sorry about the dust particles that had settled in your room and our Housekeeping Team will be advised of your comments. We do hope...

Reviewed 18 April 2017

Great location, wide variety of dining and bar options, large room size and well appointed. We generally stay at the Stamford however SkyCity Grand is much better. Staff are very helpful and friendly. We will be staying here on future trips to Auckland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul D Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. It's wonderful to hear that we are your hotel of choice when staying in Auckland and we look forward to your next stay! Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest Relations Executive alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Room was great comfortable, all facilities wanted, great to have a bath. Restaurants great with such a wonderful variety. Staff were great, friendly, efficient, helpful. Using the valet parking helps well worth it. Gusto great place for breakfast and Jade Dragon first time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaylene01557
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gaylene01557 Thank you for commenting on your stay at The Grand Hotel. Our guests are spoiled for choice when visiting SKYCITY Auckland and I am pleased your enjoyed your time with us and your visits to Gusto and Jade Dragon. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Alison Borland Guest...

1,202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (742)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (178)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (258)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (423)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
City View King Room (61)
Viewed
Grand Presidential Suite (115)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View King Room (116)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View Twin Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,135 reviews
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,203 reviews
0.7 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,240 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $203 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 month ago
malaysia
7 days ago
Allen, Texas
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else, plenty of Airbnbs around the area.”
IamPrincessSparkles, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose upper floors if you prefer quiet”
KGiggles431, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on upper floors have better views”
aucklandsam1, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“noisy from vehicle traffic below”
C9478SMchristinem, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ppreferable room at the front with a decent view”
deaneej, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$114* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$311
CancelonUS$150
Hotwire.comUS$114
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates