We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stamford Plaza Auckland

Show Prices
#15 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Stamford Plaza Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,582 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Stamford Plaza Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,431: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Have now stayed her 3 times and it really is a great place. Rooms are spotless. Very quite and air con works very well. Bath and shower sparkling.Staff very professional. Can`t fault it. Location is perfect too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldfinch42
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear goldfinch42, Thank you very much for the extremely positive review on TripAdvisor! We're lucky to have a top location here in the CBD and to get feedback that we are matching that with great service and a high end product is what we are looking for. It looks like you're becoming some what of a regular guest with us...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

From the moment you get here until you leave this place is faultless. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and very well presented. Beds and pillows just right. Food is delicious, the breakfast kept me going all day. Even the coffee is good! Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Urlich_NZ
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Urlich_NZ, Many thanks for the recent review on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled to hear that you found the entire experience while with us to be faultless! The team spend a lot time to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and well looked after and it's great to see that they succeeded - even down to the beds and pillows. We'll...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Wow first impressions count! Friendly courteous attentive staff! After spending 3 weeks in America these guys are way above any of the service I encounted in the States. You know it's good service when you think they've mistaken you for a celebrity! I am staying on the 5th floor, unlike another review I stayed Saturday night and there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abloorable
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Abloorable, Thank you very much for your top review on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you enjoyed the service a lot more with us rather than further abroad. I'm glad to hear we could make your stay that little bit relaxing - hopefully you found that café for breakfast and am sorry to hear it wasn't with us though. Safe...

Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Enjoyed my last stay here, we were in a suite - Room service was quick (and delicious), I had the chicken pate and mushroom soup, which I found very tasty. Found the staff always very willing to help - Which was great! Also loved that it was in the city and therefore a walking distance to everything, from the downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taone T
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Taone T, Many thanks for a great review on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you had a great time while here in Auckland and that we were able to make your visit a comfortable one. I'll pass on your glowing feedback to the team who thrive on getting positive reviews. Safe travels in the future and hopefully you'll be back...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2015

I use the Stamford for large groups who come from around the world. They are always very impressed. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The concierge are charming and delightful and always smiling. Never a problem for late check out. Comfy rooms... I LOVE their bathtubs... I'd stay there just for a long bath!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magichands11
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear magichands11, Thanks very much for the glowing review on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear that again we've ensured you've had a great time with us and relaxing bath too by the sounds of it! I'll certainly pass on the kind words about the service levels to the staff - they appreciate knowing their hard work doesn't go unnoticed. We'll...

Auckland
Reviewed 11 April 2015

I have been to the Stamford previously and stayed in a "deluxe" room. Husband booked this room so we could have a night in town and I think it was a "superior" room. He assured me it was a special deal but unfortunately it did not come with late checkout or free parking - and I know there would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Linda S, Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us and found certain aspects of the hotel and service to be very comfortable. We are finalising the refurbishment of all Rooms, Lobby and Restaurants before the end of August which will ensure the issues you mentioned...

Main Beach, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

The room was fantastic, the bed so comfy you don't want to get out of it. They spoilt our stay with disappointing service, based on three strikes your out. They didn't bring our car up when we asked & no one stopped to asked why we were standing out the front for over 20 minutes, they serviced the room when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Lisa C, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm certainly glad to hear you found our rooms to be comfortable and enjoyed a good rest! I'm sad to hear that our usually attentive service was lacking on this occasion. My apologies that you experienced some issues with this and that we also encountered issues with our web-based movie...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We stayed one night at the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and beds good. Early checkin and late checkout were happily accommodated. Quite disappointing that there was no free wifi at a 5 star hotel in this day and age. This will be a deal breaker for me in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Lisa G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of us on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and later departure and that you were comfortable while with us. You'll be pleased to know that all room refurbishment will be completed by August as well as the Lobby...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We arrived very late (2:00am) from Brisbane, and found that our room did not have the requested roll away bed for our daughter. This was very annoying, although the staff bought one up quickly enough. The shame was that we then had to re-arrange the room, and then no extra blankets could be found. The staff member helped as much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snoozer1968
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dar Snoozer1968, Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm certainly happy to hear that you found the location of the hotel, its facilities and cleanliness to be of a high standard. I am disappointed to discover that the additional bedding you requested wasn't in the room prior to your late arrival. I'll investigate further into your booking if you'd...

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We got a package that included valet parking and breakfast and feel that it represented very good value. The cost of parking in Auckland is expensive so not having to be concerned about that is good. The Stamford's breakfast I'm sure would suit most people with a ton of variety to suit careful dieters, full on bacon and egg type...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
Ollie O, Manager at Stamford Plaza Auckland, responded to this review

Dear OldDeuteronomy2014, Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that you found value in the deal you received and this was matched with high level service - always important in hotel reservations... We do have an array of dining options which you noted and hopefully you managed to sample a couple of them. We...

280 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.3 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,632 reviews
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,228 reviews
0.6 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#11 of 68 in Auckland
1,991 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Auckland High Tea
Auckland High Tea
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
World-class luxury in the heart of the city, just minutes away from the harbour and viaduct. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Auckland

Address: 22 - 26 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $217 - $769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Stamford Plaza Hotel Auckland
Auckland Stamford Plaza Hotel
Stamford Plaza Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Auckland
#13 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stamford Plaza Auckland staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Stamford Plaza Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher up for better views”
 of 5 bubbles dippy_sal, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Excutive suite are large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles salmonh, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floor not facing directly into a building. Thought the sound proofing was great”
 of 5 bubbles Josp651, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles juliagK7885NY, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay on the higher floors away from lifts”
 of 5 bubbles Carolinethetraveller, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay